We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Marmalade Hotel

Home Farm Road Portree, Isle of Skye, Portree IV51 9LX Scotland
3 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (108)
Room & Suite (41)
Dining (34)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.


#3 of 7 hotels in Portree
Travellers' Choice
Set majestically in mature gardens, commanding views over the village of Portree, the loch and the Cuillin Mountains you will find Marmalade. With fully refurbished contemporary accommodation, exceptionally friendly service and good traditional home cooking, you will find Marmalade is an excellent base whilst you holiday on the beautiful Island of Skye.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Non-smoking hotel
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Show more
Room features
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch, Finnish, German and 2 more
206Reviews6Q+A24Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 138
  • 41
  • 18
  • 5
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Stuart L wrote a review 25 Jul
1 contribution
Where to start? I had booked this hotel as a special getaway for my partner's 50th birthday celebration holiday in Skye. It was a huge disappointment on every level. The room itself was tiny with barely any space for hanging clothes; we had to repurpose a chair to store our suitcases in the already cramped space. There was no iron and no safe...at a £279 per night hotel! When I raised my concerns with the reception manager there were no apologies or efforts to improve the situation, he simply claimed it was a 4 star hotel and even argued there was a safe until proved wrong. Staff were in need of some basic hospitality training. They didn't even look up from their computer to say good morning as we headed out in the morning or to welcome us back upon our return to the hotel. It was perhaps too much to hope for a birthday greeting for my partner's birthday. We received an email from the hotel days before our stay informing us that the bistro was closed. This meant we had to eat out every night, which caused significant challenges due to other restaurants in Portree being closed and a general lack of hospitality staff in Skye. It would have been more manageable had there been a mini bar fridge in the room, however we only learned there wasn't one upon arriving back at the room with provisions from the local coop. We decided to have a drink in the bar one evening. Upon seeing the prices there was no return visit. They were charging £5 for a 330ml bottle of Peroni which you can buy 12 of for £12 in any supermarket. House-keeping was terrible. One day they left two used tea spoons where clean ones should have been. On several occasions the room wasn't vacuumed. Water and biscuits were not replenished and sheets only changed every 3 days on request. On our second to last day somebody from the hotel told us to not use the parking space we had been using as it didn't belong to the hotel. Hotel spaces were not clearly signed.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Sleep Quality
Response from Bosville Hotel, Other at Marmalade Hotel
Responded yesterday
Hello Stuart, Unfortunately, based on my dealings with you I was expecting to see some sort of embellished negative feedback from you. When you first came down to ask about the about the room size and availability of an ironing board in the room we apologised at the time and you were informed certain things such as the ironing boards have been taken out of our rooms due to covid safety measures, however as per the guest information pack these are available upon request. To say there were no apologies is a blatant lie. You mentioned that the pillows were too hard and again as per our guest information pack we offered to replace these with softer ones and offered to take an ironing board to the room. We had to explain this to you several times as you refused to listen to any of our team instead preferring to be continually obtuse and rude. You demanded to speak with the General Manager several times. He was there for you the morning after and during most of your stay, and as he personally gave you the champagne, glasses and ice bucket and gave you ample opportunity to voice your concern, but you opted not to discuss your concerns despite many given opportunities. To say our team is in need of basic training is a little bit much, especially considering other guests felt the need to apologise for your appalling attitude and behaviour towards several of our team members. There are no fridges in our rooms, We do not advertise as having fridges in the rooms on any platform and this is not a requirement for a 4 star hotel, however we regularly offer to store chilled goods for our cordial guests. We also note that we do not advertise as having a gym or spa which was another regular complaint from yourself during your visit. I assure you that there is not a single hotel around the world who would be able to operate by selling their drinks at retail prices and we manage our prices on a very reasonable sales margin, however as your general behaviour was so unreasonable during your stay I don’t see the point in trying to reason with you now. The linen in our rooms is changed every 3 days or upon request which is also stated on every platform and the norm in most hotels (also, most hotels are currently not even servicing rooms at all!). I apologise again for any issues that you had with housekeeping as we did during your stay and I can assure you the team have been briefed to make sure that where possible they clean the rooms around guests personal belongings. If you were indeed parked in the private residents parking as opposed to the clearly marked hotel bays in the car park, I am glad to hear that this was brought to your attention. Regards, Daan & the Guest Relations Team
Read more
CarS27 wrote a review 13 Jul
Cheltenham, United Kingdom122 contributions69 helpful votes
We enjoyed our stay here. Our room was clean and well equipped, tea and Nespresso machine, lots of electric sockets and nice bathroom but only shower no bath). The staff were all young and enthusiastic and breakfast was good. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed for dinner (COVID?) but the hotel did arrange a table at another restaurant in Portree for us, which was lucky, as everywhere seemed pretty fully booked.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Bosville Hotel, Other at Marmalade Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear CarS27, Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are happy to see you enjoyed your room and it's amenities. We are lucky to have a engaged and motivated team at the Marmalade that always go above and beyond. We did unfortunately have to close Chargrill temporarily due to unforeseen circumstances and apologise for the inconvenience caused. We hope you had a great time on Skye and would love to welcome you back the next time you find yourself on this beautiful island. Kind regards, Daan & the Guest Relations Team
Read more
NeiloWhitstable wrote a review 5 Jul
Sandwich, United Kingdom77 contributions23 helpful votes
This is a really good small hotel. The new rooms are really comfortable, all are really good size and they are furnished superbly. Some have a small patio area overlooking the garden. The team at the hotel are really friendly and the restaurant is very good with an innovative menu that will get your tastebuds going. Would definitely recommend it if you are visiting that area of Skye.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Bosville Hotel, Other at Marmalade Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello Neil, Thank you for this amazing review! We are happy to see you had a great time with us at the Marmalade. Our chefs in Chargrill take pride in what they do and source their ingredients from local suppliers where possible. I will pass your compliments on to the team! Thank you again! Please get in touch when you are planning your next trip to Skye. We would love to welcome you back to the Marmalade. Kind regards, Daan & the Guest Relations Team
Read more
TRFRider wrote a review 5 Jul
107 contributions38 helpful votes
Exactly as I’d hoped, luxuriously comfortable huge beds, with fabulous bed linen and excellent pillows. Great bathroom with excellent shower, fluffy large towels and bathrobes. We had a garden view room with a distant view of the hills beyond. Rooms are still serviced daily which has become rare in these COVID times, but is hugely appreciated. This place gets my vote for the best shower and bed of my two week holiday. Lovely toiletries too.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Bosville Hotel, Other at Marmalade Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear TRFRider, Thank you so much for this lovely review! Best shower and bed of the holiday - We'll take that! We are really happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Our housekeeping team has been put under extra pressure due to the additional cleaning required due to COVID. They all work hard to ensure safety on top of our usual high standard. Please get in touch when you're planning your next trip to Skye. We would love to welcome you back! Kind regards, Daan & the Guest Relations Team
Read more
Dougie C wrote a review 5 Jul
Fife.15 contributions4 helpful votes
Excellent hotel. Staff are friendly, efficient and helpful. The rooms are very comfortable and nicely finished. The restaurant is excellent with top quality food. Also beautiful gardens and terrace to sit out and enjoy a drink and the views before dinner. We will definitely be back to stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Bosville Hotel, Other at Marmalade Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello Dougie, Thank you for this fantastic review! We are really happy to see you enjoyed your room, the facilities and our Chargrill restaurant. Our newly built outdoor terrace is a great place to unwind, relax, and process the day's exciting events. Please do get in touch the next time you find yourself on Skye. We would love to welcome you back to the Marmalade. Kind regards, Daan & the Guest Relations Team
Read more
US$115 - US$350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
marmalade hotel portree
United KingdomScotlandThe HebridesIsle of SkyePortree
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Marmalade Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Marmalade Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Portree Harbour (0.2 km), The Isle of Skye Soap Company (0.4 km), and Somerled Square War Memorial (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Marmalade Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Marmalade Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Marmalade Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Marmalade Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cuchullin Restaurant, Antlers Bar & Grill, and The Granary.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Marmalade Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Italian, Polish, Dutch, and Finnish.
Are there any historical sites close to Marmalade Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St. Columba's Isle (7.4 km) and Clach Ard Symbol Stone (7.6 km).
Is Marmalade Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.