We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Glenforsa Hotel Mull

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Glenforsa Hotel Mull
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Glenforsa Hotel Mull
See the most recent reviews
Showing 174: English reviews
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2016

So I really want to be fair. The Glenforsa looked good. "Good Food and Good hospitality". So we booked it for one night. £98.00 + :Aviation wise: Runway good condition, well maintained. X-wind from the south, curl over, windsheer, several Aircraft landing downwind to avoid the windsheer. Hotel and Accom: Overpriced. No where near a reasonable standard. No not clean,...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Bob_S_York
Glenforsa, Owner at The Glenforsa Hotel Mull, responded to this review

Hi Bob, Firstly we would like to apologise for the wind at Glenforsa, we assume that it was the trauma of wrestling with the controls to overcome the curl over and windsheer that led you to abandon your large plastic aircraft in the middle of the parking area and go for a stroll across the runway causing the aircraft on...

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2016

We appreciate this hotel is on an island and that comes with extra expense, however £98 for B&B was overpriced. The room which is log cabin style was basic with few homely touches and needs updating with more powerful lighting. We have never stayed in a hotel or B&B that does not have a TV in the room, maybe the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank mfb4138
Glenforsa, Owner at The Glenforsa Hotel Mull, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Glenforsa Hotel. The reason we do not have TV's in the room is because feedback from our guests indicates that the majority prefer it that way, we do however have free wi-fi throughout the hotel and TV's in our lounge and family rooms. We apologise if you did...

Glasgow
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

Food was piping hot, fish not as good as other places on the island, texture was of frozen quality. Steak pie was decent and massive portion. The Pinot Grigio was over priced at £20 a bottle, the wine does not live up to that price it's tasteless and bitter

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jenmor11
Glenforsa, Owner at The Glenforsa Hotel Mull, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor, we do not use frozen produce in our restaurant as all of our produce is sourced locally. I do recall our conversation regarding the wine which was chosen compliment our menu by our wine merchant, who has been voted Scottish Wine Merchant of the year for the 5th...

Kiltarlity, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Had a beautiful meal with some family members. The food was simply delicious. Most had seafood but one had duck and all were so enjoyable. We also tried the mini Creme Brulee to finish and that just finished it off beautifully along with some very nice coffees. The view from our table looked down the wonderful Sound of Mull and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ospreychick2013
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 22 July 2016

We were staying in Salen and wanted an evening meal. Alison and Brendon, the owners, were very helpful and fitted us in. We enjoyed our meal so much we returned further three times and always found the staff friendly and the food excellent. We did not stay in the hotel but it appeared clean and welcoming.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela F
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

We had a meal booked at another hotel but there was a mix up and they recommended we try the glenforsa hotel instead, which I am glad they did as the food was great and the staff were very helpful and accommodating.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Catherine M
London
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

We've been here quite a lot over the years. This was a particularly fun two night stay, this time in one of the cabins. Really quiet room, got a couple of great nights rest. Restaurant up to its now come to be expected great standard. Enjoyed the locally caught fish special, then had a few too many single malts! Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cappey
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2016

From the bar you can see the owners' biplane and watch the sun set on the Sound of Mull. Pop upstairs to the lounge and you can look down on the grass airstrip in front of the hotel. The log-cabin feel adds to its distinctive character, as did the informal welcome. And full marks to them for having the conviction...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank duisdeil
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 July 2016

We stayed at the Glenforsa Hotel whilst flying around Scotland in our light aircraft. The food was great....Venison Burger a must.... and the staff very hospitable. We had a great time and thoroughly enjoyed the trip. The airfield adjacent is probably one of my favourite airfields in the UK and should be on every pilots' list of places to go.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steveivell
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2016

We ate in the bar at the Glenforsa two consecutive nights of our stay Mull, as we were staying at a B&B close by. The Glenforsa owners gave us a warm welcome both nights and we enjoyed the well priced and tasty pub grub we were served. To be honest, the food is not going to win any awards but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lauraleeds666

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salen
13.0 km away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
15.1 km away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
369 reviews
15.1 km away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.0 km away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
18.5 km away
Bellachroy Hotel
Bellachroy Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dervaig
258 reviews
18.5 km away
Pennyghael Hotel
Pennyghael Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pennyghael
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)

Additional Information about The Glenforsa Hotel Mull

Address: Salen | Aros, Salen PA72 6JF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Salen
Price Range: €140 - €185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Glenforsa Hotel Mull 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your The Glenforsa Hotel Mull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Glenforsa Hotel Mull staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Camberley
10 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Glenforsa Hotel Mull staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Absolutely worth trying to get a room with a view of the water - amazing scene to wake up to in the morning!”
BettyLou3008, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The room we used was excellent. Worth having a room overlooking the sea?”
Frank6449, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Our cabin was superb”
JulianC34, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a clean & Light room.”
Bob_S_York, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Try to overlook the airfield as the view is stunning.”
Steveivell, 5 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5