We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Marine Hotel

Show Prices
#3 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Marine Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,936 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Marine Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,920: English reviews
Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I have visited this lounge/ restaurant inside the hotel on several occasions. Every single time I have had abysmal , very slow service. If you visit in the afternoon its very empty- no wonder as little attempt to serve you, and usually2-3 pathetic shop cakes. No scones, biscuits, or anything for children.You have to BOOK afternoon tea for goodness sake.No...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Barb S
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, I am sorry that you have been so disappointed in the service in the Arran Lounge. We offer a selection of cakes, scones and pastries all made in house by our Pastry Chef and we certainly encourage bookings for Afternoon Tea but have never to my knowledge, refused service if you have not booked. I'm...

edinburgh
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Having enjoyed breaks at the Marine in the past I've got to say I was very disappointed.Our room overlooked a brick wall.The evening meal was the worst part.We had to wait ages for anyone to attend to us and another long wait before anything arrived on the table.This was the case for most of us and as there was no...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 70yvonne70
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay, all of the feedback we receive is used to maintain our high standard and whilst I am sorry for any lapse in standard I appreciate you passing the comments on. I do hope that we will see you again.

Essex
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This magnificent hotel has the best location overlooking the golf course and sea. It was clean, well maintained, quiet and interesting. The hotel staff were exceptional, particularly Kimberley on reception who could not have been more bubbly and welcoming if she tried! The food was fantastic, top quality and delicious. The waiters were more than helpful, and quite honestly can't...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 2dallies
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. We work hard to maintain a high standard and it is massively encouraging to read such good comments. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope that we will see you again soon.

Alexandria, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Our room was at the back of the hotel and had no view as such although it was comfortable and clean. As this was a Groupon deal, which included a £40 voucher, we couldn't really expect the best room. The spa facilities and pool were very good. The meal in The Two Fat Ladies resturant was good with a lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesleyjoh
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. I hope that we will see you again soon.

Glasgow
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The service excelled our expectations Our room was stunning overlooking the golf course and beach Evening meal in the "Two Fat Ladies" restaurant was first class and reasonably priced I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank foxy32Glasgow
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the review. It is very encouraging to read such great feedback, thanks for choosing to stay and I hope that we will see you again soon.

Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Booked a one night stay away for my wife's birthday to be told they had no trace of my booking.1.got given a room with a view of a brick wall after paying for a deluxe room.2 when back to reception to be told no deluxe room left we will give you a refund of 20 quid.3 asked if my wife...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank thommacks
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the second review of your stay. As I said in my earlier reply I am sorry for the mix up with your reservation. Your situation was most regrettable and I am sorry that you left before we had the chance to make amends.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We had a one night stay and if you expect 4 star that is not what this hotel is . We had to ask for room change as first one had marked first carpet , one small window that would not stay open - very warm day and no air conditioning . The staff did kindly give us another room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AS2012
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. It is disappointing that you were not happier with your stay but I thank you for your comments. I hope that we will have another chance to impress in the not too distant future.

Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2014

From our arrival, when we were greeted by Kimberley, until we left, we never encountered any staff who were anything but cheery and helpful. Whether from housekeeping, bar, or restaurant! Getting buckets of ice and glasses was no problem, at all. Our room was nice, with a view out to sea, and over Royal Troon Golf course. It was fine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Snowgoose20
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I very much hope that we will see you again soon.

East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just spent a tremendous overnight stay with our daughter who was on hols from Australia ,the rooms were perfect and the food courtesy of "Two Fat Ladies "was first class. We also used the Spa facilities ,Thanks again to Kimberley and Lynsey for there attention and how nice and cheery they were, and we will definitely be back .Linda seymour

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 70ian70
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the great review, I am very pleased that your stay was so good and that you enjoyed Two Fat Ladies so much. Thanks for choosing to stay with us and I hope that we will see you again soon.

Reviewed 19 July 2014

I spent a two night break here on the 16 th July and it was fantastic! I booked through classic britain for the second time in a month. Every about this hotel is great but in particular the staff! I cannot praise them high enough! They are warm, friendly and have a sense of humour which is delightful. Only negative...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anne M
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and I am delighted that we will see you again! Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us.

342 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (291)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Other (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.3 km away
Piersland House Hotel
1.1 km away
Lochgreen House Hotel
8.2 km away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#4 of 6 in Troon
449 reviews
21.7 km away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 1 in West Kilbride
1,380 reviews
7.5 km away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Marine Hotel Troon is a four-star luxury hotel overlooking the 18th hole of the Royal Troon golf course on the stunning Ayrshire coast, just 30 miles from Glasgow. With 89 bedrooms, including four suites and 12 deluxe rooms, it has magnificent views over the Firth of Clyde to the Isle of Arran and is the ideal location to explore Dundonald Castle, Dean Castle Country Park and Burns Cottage. With the new Truin restaurant, beautiful seaside location, and a brand new gym, swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, it's the perfect place to unwind and get away from it all. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Address: 8 Crosbie Road, Troon KA10 6HE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Price Range: €75 - €176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Troon
Marine Hotel Troon
Marine Troon
Hotel Marine Troon
The Marine Hotel Troon, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Troon
#4 Business Hotel in Troon
#4 Family Hotel in Troon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Marine Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Isle of Arran, United Kingdom
6 months ago
2 months ago
edinburgh
11 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from The Marine Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best rooms are with a view of the coast and golf course.”
 of 5 bubbles E5103PEalexb, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“get one overlooking Arran”
 of 5 bubbles 754jaquesc, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“A sea view or side facing. Remember and ask for a walk in shower if unable to climb in a bath as some rooms have shower over bath.”
 of 5 bubbles Con42, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Do not stay in room 29 unless you like looking out over black roof tops.”
 of 5 bubbles advoc, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had Room 308 which had a small window overlooking the beach. It was very quiet and peaceful.”
 of 5 bubbles Sandieholm059, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5