We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ben Wyvis Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ben Wyvis Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

531 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 461: English reviews
Start your review of Ben Wyvis Hotel
 Click to rate
ireland
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Such a beautiful old majestic building in lovely grounds. However the tired interior let's it down. Yes everything works but Avacodo coloured bathrooms are from the 70s and that was the last refurb. I'm pretty sure the bed hasn't been changed since the 70s either it was awful. We decided not to eat in the hotel but found a little...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank teemoretraveler
Scotland
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Beautiful building, location and views. A little tired! We had a great view, pity the window needed cleaning so we could enjoy it more. We were staying on a DBB deal, cooked breakfast was lovely, apart from the cold eggs. Evening meal was ok but my biggest criticism was the speed at which we were served......I reckon the chef had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank binnzy
Oban, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A very majestic hotel looming over you when you drive up their entrance. We got an exceptional deal through EastBreaks for 3 nights DBB for £69. The hotel is very big and grand. Bits may have been a bit tired but overall presentation of all rooms, foyer, bar and dining room were clean, tidy and fairly attractive although old style...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gs287
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed or stay it's exactly what we expect. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. The decor is a little tired as was the bathroom. Everything worked as it should and did not detract from our enjoyment one bit. Meal choices were limited but were ok and service was brisk. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bill M
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017

A last minute phone call to Easy-Breaks gave me a very good deal at Ben Wyvis Hotel in Strathpeffer. Three nights DBB for £89.oo. Came home this morning feeling much more relaxed. I read many reviews of this Hotel which were less than complimentary so I feared the worst. I'd used Easy-Breaks for many years until about 2 years ago,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charles D
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

Firstly, I called the hotel to advise I was on route but may late, to be told we stop serving food at 20:00 hrs. A hotel stops serving at 20:00 ????? Very strange! Upon arrival, yet again I was told food had stopped being served, it was now 20:20. In the room it did say room service available see menu...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bennybhoyek
StuartSharonNabbs, General Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay here at the Ben. I am sorry that the hotel did not live up to your expectations. Timings in the restaurant were changed because we were so quiet and I apologise for any inconvenience caused. I wish you had let us know you were cold as...

Tain, Highlands, Scotland
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Sadly, we only stayed one night in this fabulous hotel - next time will be for longer. The staff we met were all very friendly and helpful and our room 121 was the biggest that we had ever stayed in, with a huge comfy bed and fantastic views! We had booked a Dinner, Bed & Breakfast package of which the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dunbius
StuartSharonNabbs, General Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay here at the Ben. I am very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your time at the hotel and we look forward to you returning in the near future.

Alness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

We joined some friends on a weekend break at the last minute , and it was the best Hotel break we've been on. The hallway was decorated for Xmas and the lounges were lovely and warm. The old building is really well cared for and clean. The food we had was first class. Three course dinner and wine were excellent....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dawnchornby
The Management a, General Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay here at the Ben. We really appreciate the kind words regarding your stay and we look forward to your return.

Reviewed 21 December 2016

Stayed at the Ben Wyvis with my partner after being at a football match in Dingwall, which is only a short drive from the very beautiful Spa town of Strathpeffer. The building had a very nice feel to it and although large did not feel cold in the mid of winter. The man who was staffing the front desk and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristofer C
The Management a, General Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay here at the Ben. Thank you for your nice comments regarding your recent stay for the (if my memory serves me well) Ross County v's Aberdeen match. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully you will return in the near future.

United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 December 2016

Stayed for one night after going to a football game in nearby Dingwall. Was really impressed by the stunning Victorian buildings and beautiful scenery in Strathpeffer itself. We were met at hotel reception by a friendly and incredibly helpful member of staff. My partner and I hadn't appreciated the fact it is low season and there were only a few...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marina M
The Management a, General Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay here at the Ben. Thank you for your nice comments regarding your recent stay for the (if my memory serves me well) Ross County v's Aberdeen match. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully you will return in the near future.

212 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (171)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
38.1 km away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.4 km away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
724 reviews
0.3 km away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#4 of 7 in Strathpeffer
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
733 reviews
6.4 km away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
675 reviews
9.2 km away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Ben Wyvis Hotel

Address: On the A834 Dingwall To Contin/Garve Road, Strathpeffer IV14 9DN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Price Range: €70 - €110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Wyvis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ben Wyvis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben Wyvis Strathpeffer
Hotel Ben Wyvis
Ben Wyvis Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ben Wyvis Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Ben Wyvis Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room facing the mountains. Views are fantastic”
 of 5 bubbles charlesdF1995BY, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 121 for views, bed and spaciousness.”
 of 5 bubbles dunbius, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 121, great view and huge bed!”
 of 5 bubbles kristoferc2014, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 121 was grand!”
 of 5 bubbles H8423EPmarinam, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“A front facing room will give you a fantastic view.”
  • Fantastic view from the room.
  • Tape used by previous occupant to block out light due to ill fitting curtains
  • Door frame where door previously pushed in. Wood stuck back on but not made good. Not a good loo
 of 5 bubbles kawkawkaw, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5