We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dornoch Castle Hotel

Expedia.comUS$166*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$166*
US$166*
US$166*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Dornoch Castle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

732 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Dornoch Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 691: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

We were staying in Dornoch with friends and although we always come here for drinks we never eat as had heard not great reviews. Well we had to change this as we ate here on Saturday night and our food was superb. From succulent venison to beautiful fried fish, not forgetting our huge plate of mussels to start, everything was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Corrieri16
dornochcastle, Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal and look forward to having you dine with us again in the near future! Dornoch Castle Hotel Team

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

Myself and my life partner Dave stayed here for 2 nights to celebrate our 5 year anniversary and couldn't of been happier with our choice. The lovely girl on the reception was very professional yet friendly and made us feel very welcome and accepted. After the long drive a stiff drink was exactly what we both needed, the bar was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John181290
dornochcastle, Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. We are delighted to hear that you and your partner enjoyed your stay, we look forward to welcoming you both back to the Dornoch Castle Hotel in the near future! Dornoch Castle Hotel Team

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

I do not often write reviews, but I felt compelled to tell the world about my fantastic stay at the castle hotel in Dornoch. I stayed with friends for a weekend whilst passing through the highlands. Great history, great authentic "Scottish" feel. Drams on tap and staff on reception- particularly Rebecca (I think she was called)- professional, polite and extremely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chloealanis
dornochcastle, Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed time at the Dornoch Castle Hotel and we hope to see you again in the near future. Dornoch Castle Hotel Team

Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

On appearance this hotel looks amazing from the outside. We caught this hotel on an itison deal which appeared great value. We checked in at a wee table in the bar - quite uncomfortable considering we had all of our walking hear in and there were couples in having a dram. The receptionist showed us to our room, which was...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank GIW22
dornochcastle, Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to take on board all constructive criticism, our hotel is currently undergoing some renovations and unfortunately this is not something that can be achieved over night on a building as large as the Dornoch Castle. We hope that you will consider coming to stay with us in...

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2017

we stayed here 2 nights which our daughter gave us as a Christmas present, A fabulous hotel ,they are doing some renovations at the moment so the reception was near the bar which was very useful, we had a choice of a whisky or gin cocktail with gin truffles on arrival very nice touch, we had meals there both nights...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank josephgN974OD
dornochcastle, Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write to such a kind review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope that you will consider staying with us again in the near future. Dornoch Castle Hotel Team

United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

My husband and I had a lovely one night stay here. Our room was spotless and the bed very comfortable. I felt let down by my breakfast as my egg and bacon weren't cooked properly, but my husband throughly enjoyed his. I feel the wonderful coffee machine would be better situated in the middle of the room as people were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 27Scotland
dornochcastle, Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank for taking the time to write such a kind review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately due to the requirements of such a coffee machine we would be unable to move the machine but we appreciate all constructive criticism. We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future!...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Great place to stay. The bar is cosy and the staff are really friendly. The food in the restaurant is very good and the Scottish breakfast is quality. Hotel is in a great location in the Scottish highlands. Only problem I had was the pressure with the shower, after a hard days works a decent shower would be helpful. Apart...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bennybhoyek
dornochcastle, Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to hear that that pressure in your shower was of a poor quality, we will be sure to have this looked at and hopefully you will consider staying with us again in the near future. Dornoch Castle Hotel Team

Los Angeles
Reviewed 15 February 2017

First time in The Highlands. Very different from where we are from (Los Angeles). The drive to Dornoch is very scenic (after you get over the driving on the other side of the road). Dornoch Castle Hotel is a great "base camp" for your Highlands adventure and experiencing the local scene. When we went there, there was a "rubber ducky"...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2busy2travel
dornochcastle, Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review, we are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time here in Dornoch and your stay at the Dornoch Castle Hotel. We hope that you consider staying with us in the near future and get to explore more of what the highlands has to offer. Dornoch Castle...

Reviewed 29 January 2017

My partner and I had a lovely night at the Dornoch castle hotel. The staff at the evening meal were very attentive and the food was amazing. A little disappointed in cleanliness of the room when we arrived but a cheeky shot of brandy made up for it..

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kim w
dornochcastle, Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very sorry to hear that you were not happy with the cleanliness of the room, we always take on constructive criticism and try to improve upon this, we hope you will consider staying with...

Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

First visit this year. Try to go regularly. Not always possible! Very busy with mostly visitors , some locals , always a good sign when local clientele are present! Interesting menu using local produce, well presented and served. Nice relaxed evening showcasing what is available in the lovely historic town of Dornoch. Looking forward to sampling the gin being distilled...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandy m
dornochcastle, Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you stay again in the near future! Dornoch Castle Hotel Team

253 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (237)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (95)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
0.4 km away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dornoch
351 reviews
8.2 km away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
0.2 km away
The Eagle Hotel
The Eagle Hotel
#4 of 6 in Dornoch
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
209 reviews
38.5 km away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
692 reviews
21.4 km away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Castle is located in the historic town of Dornoch across from the stunning 13th century Cathedral, boasting stunning views of the town. The central position of the hotel makes it ideal for exploring Dornoch, home to the world famous Royal Dornoch Golf Course, which overlooks the breath taking golden sand beach. Dornoch is also well situated for those looking to explore more of what the Highlands have to offer. The historic Castle is built on the site of the original Bishop’s Palace of St Gilbert, who founded the Cathedral in the early 13th century. The building eventually sold on and in 1947 became a hotel after some extensive work, which maintain much of the character of the Castle as a stately, historic and comfortable home. The Castle boasts a total of 22 en-suite bedrooms situated both within the original castle and the modern garden extension. There is a variety of room types available including; standard, superior, deluxe and our award winning Old Courtroom. Due to the castle’s layout each bedroom has its own special ambiance, great care has been taking in creating a distinctive character in each bedroom. The Castle's restaurant has retained an AA rosette standard, through the exceptional work from the chefs. The malt whisky selection is second to none and can be enjoyed in the cosy stone-lined whisky bar with the roaring fire to protect you from the Scottish winds, in the summer the walled garden is the perfect setting to relax during the long summer nights. Coming Summer 2016: The Dornoch Distillery will be opening soon on the grounds of the Dornoch Castle Hotel producing 'Old Style' Whisky and Hand Crafted Organic Gin from scratch. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dornoch Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Dornoch IV25 3SD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Price Range: €145 - €216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dornoch Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dornoch Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dornoch Castle Hotel Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dornoch Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Dornoch Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No elevator - you need to carry your luggage up the stairs so pack light!”
Karen5455, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“we had a garden room which was nice and sunny”
josephgN974OD, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for The Old Courtroom or a turret room.”
ArtisanLuc, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“rooms at the rear overlooking the garden are by far the better”
davidtuffley, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had a room at the back - view non-existent but very quiet so suited us.”
Tuppenny42, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$166* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$166
TravelocityUS$166
TripAdvisorUS$166
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates