We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dornoch Castle Hotel

Castle Street, Dornoch IV25 3SD Scotland
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/09/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (402)
Room & Suite (97)
Dining (48)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.


#3 of 6 hotels in Dornoch
The Castle is located in the historic town of Dornoch across from the stunning 13th century Cathedral, boasting stunning views of the town. The central position of the hotel makes it ideal for exploring Dornoch, home to the world famous Royal Dornoch Golf Course, which overlooks the breath taking golden sand beach. Dornoch is also well situated for those looking to explore more of what the Highlands have to offer. The historic Castle is built on the site of the original Bishop’s Palace of St Gilbert, who founded the Cathedral in the early 13th century. The building eventually sold on and in 1947 became a hotel after some extensive work, which maintain much of the character of the Castle as a stately, historic and comfortable home. The Castle boasts a total of 22 en-suite bedrooms situated both within the original castle and the modern garden extension. There is a variety of room types available including; standard, superior, deluxe and our award winning Old Courtroom. Due to the castle’s layout each bedroom has its own special ambiance, great care has been taking in creating a distinctive character in each bedroom. The Castle's restaurant has retained an AA rosette standard, through the exceptional work from the chefs. The malt whisky selection is second to none and can be enjoyed in the cosy stone-lined whisky bar with the roaring fire to protect you from the Scottish winds, in the summer the walled garden is the perfect setting to relax during the long summer nights. Coming Summer 2016: The Dornoch Distillery will be opening soon on the grounds of the Dornoch Castle Hotel producing 'Old Style' Whisky and Hand Crafted Organic Gin from scratch.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Baggage storage
Laundry service
Ironing service
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
1018Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 477
  • 316
  • 129
  • 66
  • 30
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Paul C wrote a review Dec 2020
Fochabers, United Kingdom109 contributions78 helpful votes
Had just the one night in this wonderful hotel. Everything was perfect from check in to check out. The bar - although a bit small - is very well stocked and you can happily indulge your malt whisky passion from the numerous bottles available. The food in the restaurant was fresh, perfectly cooked and well presented. Our room overlooking the garden was large, spotless and comfortable. All of the staff are friendly, chatty and only too willing to help. Would happily recommend this hotel
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Jillym59 wrote a review Nov 2020
Glasgow, United Kingdom155 contributions109 helpful votes
Have just spent the weekend in this lovely hotel with my husband and had a marvelous stay. Its very atmospheric, roaring fire and excellent staff. Our room was wonderful with a view of the cathedral and has the most amazing comfortable bed, yes there were little issues but with a building this old you expect that, but added to the charm of this place. Can highly recommend the restaurant, food was fantastic as was the service and breakfast was just as good
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
2 Helpful votes
Arlene D wrote a review Nov 2020
11 contributions
My parter and I booked a night in the hotel to break up our week in a campervan. The room was £120 for the night which to us was a bit of a splurge but after looking at pictures and reading some reviews, we figured it would be worth the treat. Upon arrival everything was very well done with regards to covid regulations. Our room was sadly dissapointing on so many levels. The furniture was wobbly, the mirror cracked, the television not visible from the bed, the socket had a light that flashed all night long, the tap in our bathroom broke off, the metal fixings in the bathroom were rusted and frankly just looked tattered. The room itself was definitely not worth £120 and we regretted paying for it. We were left feeling like we should have just stayed in our campervan, it would have been more enjoyable and saved us wasting money. We did raise our concerns with a member of staff on checkout who didn't even seem shocked or concerned about what we had to say. She explained that the hotel don't actually charge that much for the room we stayed in and the rate was higher as we booked through another site. We were told she would raise our issue with a manager and get someone to call us to discuss some sort of refund. It has now been over a week and no phone call, another let down. I would like to add that the staff were all lovely and we thoroughly enjoyed both our food and service when in the restaurant. It's a shame we were left with a bitter taste from our stay here as it had the potential to be great.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Dornoch Castle, General Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel
Responded 9 Nov 2020
Dear Guest Thank you for your review and sorry that you feel so dissatisfied. The price you paid for your room was £29 more than it would of been had you booked direct. For this price, you could have booked direct a superior castle room in the old part of the hotel. Unfortunately, 3rd party sites charge a large commission so we have to price them higher. I have noted all of your comments regarding the room and we are currently rectifying the issues mentioned. The room is due for a refurbishment this winter all being well. I do apologise that we did not get back to you sooner, I would be more than happy to discuss this further - please email me on matt@dornochcastlehotel.com. Thanks, Matt
Read more
John C wrote a review Oct 2020
Harrogate, United Kingdom15 contributions25 helpful votes
Stayed here as a stop over on the NC500. The Covid protocols were excellent and made us feel safe in a lovely environment. We elected to eat dinner outside so we could have alcohol and it was fabulous. The langoustines were to die for and to celebrate them I had a whisky flight! In the morning breakfast was excellent! Would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Response from Dornoch Castle, General Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel
Responded 9 Nov 2020
Dear Guest Thank you for your great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, Matt
Read more
Steve wrote a review Oct 2020
London77 contributions40 helpful votes
I have mixed feelings about the Dornoch Castle. Firstly our room, the old court room, was fabulous. Well worth the little extra to have a real fire in the room. A bit smokey but we didn’t mind. A great great room. But, the service was very hands off. Almost invisible. The restaurant was very poor (separate review) and some details were missing for example, for some reason the corridors of the hotel are decorated in a completely inappropriate paper for the heritage of the hotel. Not really that important but a sign that some detail is missing. But, i would certainly stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Sleep Quality
US$116 - US$207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
United KingdomScotlandScottish HighlandsCaithness and SutherlandDornoch
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Dornoch Castle Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Dornoch Castle Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Historylinks Museum (0.07 km), Dornoch Cathedral (0.10 km), and The Carnegie Whisky Cellars (0.03 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Dornoch Castle Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Dornoch Castle Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Dornoch Castle Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Dornoch Castle Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include SandStone Cafe, Luigi's Restaurant, and The Courtroom.
Is Dornoch Castle Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Dornoch.
Are there any historical sites close to Dornoch Castle Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Janet Horne Memorial Stone (0.4 km).