We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Links House at Royal Dornoch

Save
Share
Links House Golf Road, Dornoch IV25 3LW Scotland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
US$525
US$406
View deal
SAVE US$119
Free cancellation until 04/10/21
Booking.comUS$525
FindHotel
TravelocityUS$406
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (116)
Room & Suite (38)
Dining (17)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
Read more
Updated 30/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Links House at Royal Dornoch
Updated 30/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 6 hotels in Dornoch
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Links House is an exquisite luxury boutique hotel, that is situated just 50 yards from the first tee of Royal Dornoch Golf Club (RDGC). The property consists of three buildings, with fifteen bedrooms, two of which are apartments. Facilities include beautiful public rooms, a putting green, gardens, free car parking, a sporting bothy to store golf clubs and outdoor gear and free wi-fi and Sky TV throughout. Links House has won 16 leading industry awards, most recently Scottish Golf Hotel and Luxury Town Hotel for 2019. The hotel has two restaurants – ‘MARA’ in the main house, specialising in the best of Highland produce and the ‘Courtroom Restaurant’ located on the first floor of the Carnegie Courthouse in Dornoch town square, just three minutes walk from Links House. The Courtroom Restaurant also features a wine bar with live music. Golf – Links House is a popular choice for golfers, due to its proximity to Royal Dornoch Golf Club, rated by Golf Digest as one of the top golf courses in the world. Dornoch is a superb golf destination with many other top-rated golf courses including Castle Stuart, The Nairn, Brora, Tain, Golspie and the private Carnegie Club links at Skibo Castle. Activities and Attractions – The Dornoch area and North Highland region has a huge amount to offer, with local attractions including the Dornoch Cathedral, Dunrobin Castle and Gardens and local distilleries which include Clynelish and Glenmorangie. The incredible coastal and mountain scenery provides the setting for some spectacular hiking and biking excursions and an increasing number of guests are engaging in various country sports activities, from salmon fishing to deer stalking. Links House is also a great base from which to explore the North Coast 500 and the hotel provides its own map to guests, with colour-coded driving routes exploring all parts of the North Highlands and the top-rated attractions.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Golf course
Hiking
24-hour security
Concierge
24-hour check-in
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Horseback riding
Bicycle tours
Fishing
Patio
Walking tours
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Bathrobes
Desk
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Cable / satellite TV
Hair dryer
Tile / marble floor
Flatscreen TV
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Historic Hotel
274Reviews2Q+A57Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 256
  • 15
  • 2
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Julia S wrote a review 5 May
London, United Kingdom22 contributions50 helpful votes
I’d give the hotel 4.5 if I could. It has old world charm with the modernity I like in a 5 star hotel. My room in the Glenshie Building is v large, very attractive, very quiet and very light and very comfortable with a great 4 piece bathroom. The breakfast is really really good (no buffet element, phew) and the staff are kind and polite. They can organise great activities, walking, cycling, deer stalking, whisky tours etc if you like. The lounges are lovely. Of course right next to the Beach and the mountains ( and a rather famous golf course) it is a wonderful location.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Kerry Morrison, Guest Services / Front Office at Links House at Royal Dornoch
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for your kind words - it was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Linkster165 wrote a review Nov 2020
Georgia19 contributions3 helpful votes
We thought we knew most of the best places to stay and dine in the Highlands, but this was our first visit to the Links House. Absolutely stunning! Enormous room very comfortably furnished. Excellent meal, mostly locally sourced and beautifully prepared and presented. Impressive wine list (although might consider adding a few bottles at lower price points). Especially want to acknowledge extraordinary staff, mostly young. Energetic, helpful and welcoming, and apparently coping well with changing restrictions and rules. We appreciated the table side visit by the chef as we finished our dinner. Mind you, this is quite a fancy place. I was glad I had brought a blazer to wear to dinner, and sort of wished I had put on a tie. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Rocket Man wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
My wife and I returned to Links House to mark the occasion of our 27th Wedding Anniversary. From the moment we arrived, we were treated with so much warmth by the Links House staff, who are all so attentive to your every need. During this visit we were in the Fleet room within the Glenshiel building. Our room was both spacious and beautifully furnished. After a relaxing end to the afternoon enjoying coffee and shortbread in the lounge, we prepared for our evening meal in the wonderfully appointed Mara restaurant. The locally sourced monkfish and venison were delicious highlights from a memorable meal. We can easily see why Links House has recently been voted the 6th best hotel in the UK by Conde Naste magazine. Dornoch has a special atmosphere all of its own and provides a spectacular backdrop for the sophistication of Links House, but what really sets this establishment apart are the fantastic people who work here. We are looking forward already to coming back for our next visit.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
burncleuch14 wrote a review Oct 2020
Glasgow, United Kingdom9 contributions15 helpful votes
Stayed 10th and 11th October 202O and on arrival were told we had been upgraded to the Evelix suite which was in the Glenshiel building. Room was immaculate and we were shown the communal area we could also use. Furnishings in communal area and rooms were classical in the best sense. Though this is a new building it has been built and decorated in Victorian / Edwardian styles with beautiful woodwork alongside a modern tiled and stunning bathroom. I read an earlier review about lack of facilities in the room and have to say that the reviewer is living in cloud cuckoo land if they think that during COVID the hotel would not have to compromise. The breakfast hampers we found fun and tasty and the evening meals were excellent. The chef provided a little amuse bouche on both evenings and even gave us a sample experimental sweet to taste. We had expected to eat in the Courthouse but due to the change in regulations this had been returned to the hotel at short notice. Given this was done just a couple of days before we arrived the staff did an excellent job. There was no alcohol allowed to be served inside due to Government restrictions but the staff made it clear they would happily provide room service or table service outside. The Hotel is in a fantastic site with some lovely walks nearby. We walked the old railway line to Embro then back via the golf course path and it was idyllic. In all we had a very enjoyable weekend and were treated like royalty. We will definitely be back. Alan R Smith.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Can recommend the Evelix suite.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Kerry Morrison, Guest Services / Front Office at Links House at Royal Dornoch
Responded 16 Oct 2020
Thank you so much for your wonderful review - we really do appreciate it and we loved looking after you both. I hope Angus didn't miss you too much! We can't wait to welcome you back.
Read more
Lucie wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
We took advantage of the ‘48 Hours in the Highlands’ sold as ‘the ultimate staycation’ deal that was offered on the hotel website. This offer was £690 for two nights in the hotel, daily in room luxury hamper breakfast, 3 course dinner at the courtroom both nights, pre dinner cocktail at Links house one evening and pre-dinner glass of champagne another evening. There were no drinks menus in the room of the hotel, I called reception to ask for one, we were told, due to Covid-19 they were unable to put menus in the rooms. There was no contingency for this from the hotel and I asked if it was possible for them to email this to us to which they agreed but the Wi-Fi in the hotel was so bad we had difficulty downloading. There was no tea or coffee facilities in the hotel room, only one bottle of still water and another of sparkling. Not in a fridge, on the side table. After a seven-and-a-half-hour drive, we were disappointed to see that there were no tea/coffee facilities in the room. The hotel provided a complimentary shot of whiskey on arrival in a small glass bottle, with glasses to drink them out of. They were topped up the second day but there were no glasses provided so we were unable to drink them. Our first evening at the restaurant, we had been waiting 20 minutes for our starters, to be fair to the staff, someone came over to apologise for the delay with another two starters and we were told our ordered starters would be over shortly. We didn’t receive a pre-dinner cocktail or glass of champagne on the first night, but we did receive the glass of champagne on the second after reminding the staff at the restaurant that we hadn’t received this previously. Our meal the first night totalled £80 and the second £60. The first night’s total was higher as we had two drinks each and not one. The drinks were included in the totals mentioned but were not included in the meal package so this was an additional charge to the meal and was paid when checking out. Back in the room, the temperature was high, both nights. There was no thermostat for the room and only a fan to bring the temperature down, which was noisy and blowing the warm air around the room. It wasn’t until the second night in the hotel that noticed that the radiators in the bathroom were on. I turned these off, but it didn’t make much of a difference as we were visiting during a warm September. The luxury breakfast hamper was far from luxury. We were provided with a meal card on arrival to choose what we wanted. Our options were, tea/coffee, yogurt, fruit, juice and cereal which was provided as well as croissants, beetroot shots and a black pudding pastry. When we received the call confirming our breakfast options for our second morning, I asked if we could have toast included in the breakfast. Sourdough toast was provided, if I’d have known it was sourdough toast, I wouldn’t have bothered including it. none of the above is my idea of a luxury breakfast. There were no tea or coffee preferences (latte, cappuccino, fruit teas) there were no cooked breakfast options, no choice of cereals. Basically, not what you’d expect from a luxury breakfast at a 5* resort. I understand that the hotel is trading during a difficult climate, however, I feel the ‘restrictions’ applied by the hotel were more comparable to shortcuts. I know that we’re currently living in unprecedented times but for £690 for two nights stay doesn’t warrant the experience we received from the hotel and its restaurant. Very disappointing stay form a couple who enjoy staycations in luxury hotels and if we ever return to Dornoch, we won’t be returning to Links House.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Kerry Morrison, Guest Services / Front Office at Links House at Royal Dornoch
Responded 3 Oct 2020
Dear Lucie, thank you so much for your review and we are truly sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us at Links House. We thoroughly appreciate your feedback and have taken your interpretations into consideration. It was a pity we weren't given the opportunity to speak to you whilst you were staying with us, as our measures are in place for the safety of our valued guests. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$273 - US$388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandScottish HighlandsCaithness and SutherlandDornoch
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Links House at Royal Dornoch
Which popular attractions are close to Links House at Royal Dornoch?
Nearby attractions include Dornoch Beach (0.3 km), Historylinks Museum (0.3 km), and Dornoch Cathedral (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Links House at Royal Dornoch?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Links House at Royal Dornoch?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Links House at Royal Dornoch?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Links House at Royal Dornoch?
Conveniently located restaurants include SandStone Cafe, The Courtroom, and Sutherland House.
Is Links House at Royal Dornoch located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Dornoch.
Are any cleaning services offered at Links House at Royal Dornoch?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Links House at Royal Dornoch?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Janet Horne Memorial Stone (0.2 km).
Does Links House at Royal Dornoch have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Links House at Royal Dornoch accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.