We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ferry Inn Stromness

PricelineUS$128*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$128*
US$128*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Ferry Inn Stromness
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ferry Inn Stromness
See the most recent reviews
Showing 118: English reviews
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2016 via mobile

Eaten here a couple of times this weekend at Orkney Folk Festival & it's great. Scallops were first class & it's lovely to see establishments like this supporting local produce as well; Orkney cheese, fudge, ice cream etc. Nice atmosphere and friendly staff!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jane H
Karen C, Owner at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review

It was lovely to see you again and I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed the meals that you had with us during the Folk Festival. It was a great weekend and fantastic to see so many happy people. We hope to see you again next year.

Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed here this past week for 3 nights as I was working in the area. The rooms I was staying in were of a high standard (had to change to another room due to a last minute addition to the trip due to work issue) Only complaint was that the Windows only had blinds and not curtains so when the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mark watkins
Karen C, General Manager at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review

Thank you for your super review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. You stayed in one of our recently refurbished rooms and at the moment, there are just blinds on the windows. The curtains are on order. I am pleased to hear that you found the staff helpful and friendly. For the wifi, you...

Elstree, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2016

we visited last week dreadful barmaid we were greeted with what do you want very unhappy in her job banged glasses on counter at us wont return here and im orcadian I do so hope you find more helpful staff now you've taken over this bar

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank farrissbl
Karen C, General Manager at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review

I am sincerely sorry that you were disappointed with the customer service from the member of staff on duty. We normally pride ourselves with the positive feedback we get from customers and guests on the service levels of our staff.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 December 2015

not a smile of friendly service. food was ok but not worth the cost. room smelled very musty and damp but looked ok. bar maid wasn't very chatty or friendly. both the young girl and the older blond kept disappearing. atmosphere in the bar was dire and empty

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank businesstraveller665
Karen C, General Manager at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write this review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. As you can see from previous reviews about our food, accommodation and staff, this is not the standard that we usually operate at. I have checked back to see when you stayed and see that you stayed in room 7. This...

Langbank, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2015

This little hotel is right across from the ferry terminal so its not hard to find. Staff were great we only had breakfast and it was very good. The room we had although smallish was more than adequate nice decor a bit light on the usual toiletries and bickies but that's only a minor detail. I think the owners are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cookiekips
Karen C, General Manager at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are continuing to upgrade the Inn this winter. It is always work in progress but we love when customers come back to see the changes we are making.

Port Clinton
Reviewed 26 October 2015

We chose the Ferry Inn due to it's location, but were pleasantly surprised by how nice the place is. The room was very clean and the bed was so comfortable! Be aware that there are quite a few stairs to climb and no lift, so pack light. We ate breakfast and dinner there every day, and the food is amazing!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank disorientedlabrat
Karen C, General Manager at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review

What a splendid review. Thank you so much for writing about us. For any guests looking for rooms without stairs, we have rooms on the ground floor in Harbourside House.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2015

I noticed this when my phone picked up their wireless network whilst I was sat in the ferry car park! As I was in need of tecno contact we went in for lunch and used the free wifi. The menu was very good, a mix of local and standard options. the food arrived quickly and was a decent portion. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarcusHurley
Karen C, General Manager at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. It is very much appreciated.

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2015

I stayed at the Ferry Inn for 1 night on a business trip and it was a very pleasant stay. My room overlooked the harbour (be prepared for seagulls at 6am!) and it was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was great - I highly recommend the full Scottish. I will need to go back to Stromness and I will book...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaniH0103
Karen C, General Manager at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review

Your review of your recent stay at the Ferry Inn is much appreciated. It is good that you enjoyed the harbour view and your breakfast. For other guests thinking about staying with us we have a range of rooms in the hotel and in our 2 hotel annexes, Harbourside House and Millers House. We can offer rooms with sea views...

Switzerland
Reviewed 21 September 2015

The bedrooms were clean and the views are lovely, the staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. The beds were so comfy!! The food in the restaurant is amazing - dinner and breakfast!! the local seafood is not to be missed!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank irka657
Karen C, General Manager at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review

Your excellent review of your stay at the Ferry Inn is much appreciated. Thank you for letting us know that you found the rooms, food and staff to your liking. We hope that you might be able to come back to stay with us again.

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2015

The location was right beside the Ferry Terminal but rooms were quiet and clean with fantastic shower. The restaurant was also a treat fabulous food. Good starting point for exploring the standing stones and the newly excavated village.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Morag1954
Karen C, General Manager at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review

Many thanks for your excellent review. It is great to hear that you found the whole experience of eating and staying with us so good.

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stromness
0.1 km away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
177 reviews
19.3 km away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
332 reviews
12.3 km away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
286 reviews
19.3 km away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
239 reviews
19.5 km away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kirkwall
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ferry Inn offers a range of single, twin, double and family accommodation across 20 ensuite rooms, situated on the harbour in Stromness just 100m from the ferry terminal. There are 12 rooms on the first and second floors of The Ferry Inn itself, with the remainder in the Harbourside House and Miller's House annexes situated directly across the street. Harbourside House has 3 rooms on the ground floor, with all other rooms accessed over stairs. All rooms have TVs, tea and coffee facilities, ensuite bathrooms (we do have one smaller single room with private facilities well suited to those travelling on a budget) and are fresh, clean and comfortable. The kitchen at the Ferry Inn is open all day from breakfast 'til supper with a full range of meals and snacks including tea, coffee and homebakes. Serving from 0700 to 2100 there is always something tasty on the go. We offer a great pub menu alongside a splendid a la carte selection. We are proud to source and serve a full range of Orkney produce, supporting local growers and manufacturers while ensuring our guests enjoy both the quality and provanence of the islands' fare. Our meats are sourced from award winning local butcher E Flett & Son, who themselves buy locally grown beef, lamb and pork. Our seafood is from Orkney Fishermens Society, a co-operative business which has been the lifeblood of our harbour town for over 60 years. Their fresh shellfish - scallops, brown crab and lobster - and when in season Scapa Flow langoustines and line-caught mackerel, are brought in daily by local boats, with whitefish sourced predominately from the markets in Scrabster and Lerwick. The haddock for our superb fish and chips special is from sustainable stocks, and Jolly's of Orkney provide excellent secondary processing for example for our range of smoked salmon products. Dairy needs are well met by local cheese manufacturers at Grimbister Farm and the Orkney Cheese co-operative, with milk, cream, butter and ice-cream from the Orkney Creamery at Crantit. With Vetquoy Free Range Farm eggs, breads and biscuits from Stromness producers Argo's and Stockan's to supplement our homebaked breads and cakes, and our own garden grown soft fruits and herbs when in season, we truly work to offer a fantastic 'Taste of Orkney'. The Ferry Inn has always had a good reputation for local ales. Recognised in the Good Beer Guide and multiple winner of the CAMRA Northern Isles pub of the year, the cellar has racking for up to 10 local cask ales, with 4 handpulls on the bar as well as bottled local beers from the fridge or shelf. At The Ferry we are enthusiastic supporters of live music and through the season offer the bar as a venue for young traditional musicians to showcase their skills. The Orkney Folk Festival at the end of May, and Blues Festival in September are obvious highlights, but throughout the year we provide a venue for young (and not so young) bands to strut their stuff and support traditional music sessions which set the pub off to its best. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ferry Inn Stromness

Address: 10 John Street, Stromness KW16 3AD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Stromness
Price Range: €112 - €129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ferry Inn Stromness 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ferry Inn Stromness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferry Inn Stromness Hotel Stromness
Ferry Inn Stromness Orkney Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ferry Inn Stromness staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Ferry Inn Stromness staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 8 had a sea view and room 11 was very quiet but sloping ceiling in bathroom not so good if you are tall”
twotravellersin14, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“room 15 has exceptionally superior showering”
Juanito_Hayburg, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“opt for the sea view in the main building”
tullipe, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
“either a noisy view of the ferry terminal or basically brick walls”
businesstraveller665, 22 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room that has recently been upgrades”
Cookiekips, 6 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$128* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Agoda.comUS$128
Travelocity
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates