We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Coast View, Shaldon

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shaldon
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Coast View, Shaldon
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Coast View, Shaldon
See the most recent reviews
Showing 119: English reviews
missjuhoolie
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

we stayed here for a week the begining of august and had a terrible time spent most of the week off the campsite to get away from the place... On arrival it all looked lovely and on booking a presumed it would have a hill or two from the photos and its name however on been directed to the top... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank missjuhoolie
CoastViewHolidayPark, Manager at Coast View, Shaldon, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review our park. Good or not-so-good, we value all feedback and use it to help us to improve. We are a busy holiday park, determined to please everyone, but aware that there are days when things don't go quite as planned. However, our team are specially selected for being... More 

Hindhead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We visited Coast View last year and stayed in one of the caravans, we had the best holiday ever so decided to return this year and try out the camping. When we booked we didn't realise that the park had changed hands. On arrival we were welcomed by a very nice receptionist who was pleasant and helpful throughout our stay.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Claire_S109
Bristol, UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We camped here for 10 days this August. The site is very well run, staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. The pool was a great facility, much appreciated by our 10 year old. We were on the top field, and though the climb was a bit of a challenge, the views made up for it. The showers and loos were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rae40
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Just come back from a brilliant weekend away, we were camping in the top field and the views were just amazing!! Shower blocks were clean and pool and parks the kids loved. Only went to the club house one night but had a laugh and great time. Don't know why there are bad reviews as we could not fault anything!... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tinkerbell2703
CoastViewHolidayPark, General Manager at Coast View, Shaldon, responded to this review

Hi there Thanks for this great review and good to hear you had such a super holiday at our Park. If anyone reading these reviews are in two minds whether to book, please do give us a call on 01626 818350 so we can listen to your concerns and put your mind at rest! Hope to see you next year More 

Richmond, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Very friendly staff who were cheerful and helpful. Children ( 3 and 13) loved the play park and assault course respectively and both loved the pool. Showers and toilets were very clean. The views are probably amongst the best on the Devon coast and it is a gentle stroll to the beech where you can hop on the ferry across... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roy T
S.yorks
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We visited Coastview in July with our tourer and had excellent weather. All pitches were set into the hillside and had a seaview. The staff were friendly and helpful. The nearby villages of Shaldon and Maidencombe were lovely. Plenty to see and do with our young family.

Helpful?
Thank SouthYorkshire_12
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Just returned from staying in a static caravan on Coastview w/c 14 July 2012. The caravan was located behind the clubhouse which we were jubious off due to noise of the entertainment, however this was nothing to be concerned about as the site was quite quiet due to the english schools still being on and a lot of young families... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank fanta074
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

Just spent the weekend camping at Coast View. Amazing views from most locations on park, great facilities on site and the entertainment was pretty good too. The only downside about this park is that it's built into a steep hillside with steep slopes (but this is what gives the wonderful views). Also at £3.90 for a pint of cider is... More 

Helpful?
Thank thrilljunkieuk99
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We decided to go back to Coast View this year as had heard that new people now owned it and hoped things had been made better. We love Shaldon and the views from the site are the best. The site definitely looks like it has had money spent on it. The old clubhouse is now a family bar and much... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank JAM15_11
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We booked the Starfish luxury chalet for 7th july 2012 for 1 week. We do not know what was luxurious about it, the damp smell hit us as soon as we walked in. The sofa collapsed when you sat on it, the beds were old and lumpy, the pillows and duvets were dirty. the bath had black mould in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie M

Travellers are raving about these Shaldon hotels

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaldon
0.8 km away
Potters Mooring Hotel
Potters Mooring Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shaldon
306 reviews
2.0 km away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
198 reviews
3.9 km away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#8 of 89 in Torquay
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel
3.3 km away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
44 reviews
7.8 km away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dawlish
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Coast View is the perfect place to unwind with spectacular views of the Jurassic Coast or treat yourselves in some of the finest wine-bars and restaurants that the West Country has to offer. Ideally located for Dartmoor and the English Riviera, Exeter and Torquay, plus a whole range of fantastic on-park facilities, you will be spoilt for choice. Coast View is situated on a hill top, offering spectacular views of the scooped-out bay, peppered with luxury yachts and motorboats ... more   less 

Additional Information about Coast View, Shaldon

Address: Coast View Holiday Park Torquay Road, Shaldon TQ14 0BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Shaldon
Hotel Class:4 star — Coast View, Shaldon 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Coast View Holiday Park Hotel Shaldon
Coast View Holiday Park Shaldon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Coast View, Shaldon staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Coast View, Shaldon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we stayed in Number 14 and the views were excellent. Chalet is very clean and excellent for a family of 4-5”
 of 5 bubbles AM9990, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Lodges with balconies to enjoy the stunning view!”
 of 5 bubbles Babbamonk, 19 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Be aware that the restaurant is closed at the moment after winter's bad weather, but there is a nice temporary bar serving snacks.”
 of 5 bubbles posyposy, 21 Jun 2014 | Read review
“think the bar staff could be a bit more friendly found them quite rude”
 of 5 bubbles cherylb761, 27 Aug 2013 | Read review
“Stay in the one qouted above! we found this excellent! ( two twin rooms and double)”
 of 5 bubbles 441tiffanyr, 27 Aug 2013 | Read review
5 of 5