We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Lifton Hall Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Lifton Hall Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

290 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Lifton Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 289: English reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2014

Upon arrival we were greeted in a very friendly manner and shown to the cottage. A lovely cottage with everything we needed in there ,nicely decorated well fitted out. There was a lovely garden with a table and chairs and a BBQ ,lots of room for our dogs to run around..loved it here and will definitely be back. The food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne H
Birmingham
Reviewed 30 August 2014

My niece booked this little gem for myself, sister and her for a relaxing girly get away. It is in s lovely peaceful spot, very picturesque setting. The hotel is absolutely charming, spotless with a modern dining room, cosy bar with little nooks and crannies, it would be lovely in the autumn/winter with the fires lit and the food is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lovely_lindos
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Booked a 3 night KGB deal here. Booking was made so easy by Robert and when completed a confirmation e-mail was sent. Arrived at 4.15pm on bank holiday Monday and were warmly welcomed by Robert. Our room was the Churchill Room which was spacious and very comfortable with huge bed, whirlpool bath in one corner and separate shower cubicle in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mike W W
Southampton,Hampshire
Reviewed 25 August 2014

A great place, very quaint and comfortable, nicely decorated and furnished. The rooms are spacious with all the comfort you need. We stayed in the"Galloway" room with twin beds as we required and on the ground floor. Cottage style with a large bay window, a very nice bathroom. It was all spotless !! The food was excellent, the breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank fanbiche
St louis
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

The service there is horrible When we walked in we asked for a menu so the gave us one. Then they said they wouldn't serve us. My kindle was low on battery. So i plugged it in the plug. The bar man came and yelled at my and said ( why is that plugged in electricity is not free) I...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Thebestcousinever
LiftonHall, Owner at Lifton Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your "second review" (the first on our restaurant pages). It seems you have a bit of a personal vendetta against us. I will repeat exactly the response I gave last time - except to add that you haven't stayed in our hotel and aren't qualified to pass judgement on the hotel services. We had over 60 people...

dorset
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I stayed here with my husband on a KGB deal. Very good value for money. The hotel was spotless, welcoming and friendly. On arrival I asked about the possibility of a cream tea, it wasn't advertised I just tried my luck. The chef had just made a batch.!!!!! They were without doubt the best scones I have ever had. Also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barbie 1
midlands
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed for 2 nights on a KGB deal and it exceeded our expectations. Very friendly welcome by a young girl who ended up serving us in the restaurant and we commented on how friendly she was during our stay, she is a real asset to the hotel. We had a 4 course meal on the first night which was great....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank medeakin
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Had to travel to Bodmin for a family event and was recommended this hotel as being convenient. Booked it online for one night, pleasantly surprised by the low cost £90 including breakfast. I arrived around 1430, probably too late for lunch, but the proprietor was really helpful, offered to make me a sandwich and invited me to their themed supper...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank twa203
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Great hotel, friendly staff, room spacious and clean, light and airy, shower room/bathroom spotless and spacious. Information on hotel policy safety etc very clearly stated. Menus very easy to understand, breakfast ample, tasty and served by friendly staff, always pleasant and willing to help. We will definitely be going there again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie P
Cheshire, UK
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We recently had a KGB 3 night stay at this country pub/hotel. Lovely character building and consequently some quirks and uneven floors, which added to its charm. Pleasant village setting, really well situation for Devon & Cornwall coasts and Dartmoor. Plenty of parking, 2 bar/lounge areas and a dining room. Offer included a 4 course set taster menu on 1st...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travisgud

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lifton
0.4 km away
Arundell Arms Hotel
Arundell Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lifton
442 reviews
6.9 km away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
357 reviews
34.1 km away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 km away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
242 reviews
12.9 km away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
597 reviews
28.8 km away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Close to the Devon Cornwall, the Lifton Hall Hotel is ideally situated for exploring the Southwest. We're a family-run hotel offering great service in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We have a cozy bar, with open fires, a stylish restaurant and 10 large, individual rooms. Families are welcome, as are pets. The hotel is no smoking throughout. Private car park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lifton Hall Hotel

Address: New Road, Lifton PL16 0DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Lifton
Price Range: €106 - €153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lifton Hall Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lifton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lifton Hall Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Lifton Hall Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We did not stay over so can't comment.”
 of 5 bubbles 339chantellew, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Our room had several internal steps. Check before you book if you can't manage stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles ThriftyDuo, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The road is quite noisy, but very little traffic at night”
 of 5 bubbles jegsweb, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms away from the road are quieter. Our run was very quiet but our friends were on the main road and find out most.”
 of 5 bubbles LornaD663, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Good parking facilities.”
 of 5 bubbles janhF1739BR, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay