We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Exmoor Forest Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Exmoor Forest Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

349 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Exmoor Forest Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 347: English reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2016

What a great situation right in the heart of the moor, ideal for walking. Food was hearty and filling, just what we needed.Stairs up to second floor are quite steep, so don't recommend you to over do the Old Rosie cider before retiring! No mobile signal, but free and readily available wifi so you don't have to be completely cut...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Friendly welcome , very nice clean room . Fluffy towels crisp sheets Every thing in the bathroom flannels conditioner etc Lovely views We dined in the restaurant really good food , service exceptional Breakfast was served in the dining room good selection too choose from Very good food Will definitely return as all four of us loved it

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane U
Basingstoke
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Third time we as a group have stayed at this hotel and were not disappointed. Great location to see the moor and hospitality to match. The Hotel has been well maintained inside and out and the rooms are spacious and well equipped. No need to worry where you are going to eat at night as the food is of a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hossick
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

excellent stay. beautiful room excellent food at the bar and great breakfast. thoroughly recommend it. lovely walks very nearby and stunning scenery. we will be going again. probably more than once. dont hesitate to gi.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davy24
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Normally in Simonsbath, we stop at the tea rooms just round the corner, but as it was lunchtime, we fancied stopping at a pub after a bit of walking in Doone Valley. We both had the cheddar cheese omelette with chips and salad garnish. Great value and a real plateful. Freshly cooked omelette was lovely, great chips, and well-dressed salad....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim A
Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Everything was perfect. Would definitely go back again. Just one thing - no mobile service - mind you that might be a good thing !!!!! Very quiet and relaxing. Hope they have fixed door bell as it didn't work for us and we had to go around the back to find someone to let us in. Looked deserted but no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carole L
Reviewed 23 September 2016

We didn't stay here but stopped in for an evening meal. Ham, egg and the best chips I've ever had! Good sized portions and reasonable prices. Would like to have tried the desserts but didn't have room 😑

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie J
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Accommodation and food was good and no complaints. The welcome was poor however. We booked 3 rooms including 2 singles and a twin, howver they insisted that a double had been requested and stated there was no twin available. it then turned out that the double bed was actually a twin bed pushed together so the resolution the there but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank terryp1966
nickexmoor, Owner at Exmoor Forest Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am sorry that you found your welcome 'poor'. The rooms were prepared exactly as it had been booked via booking.com i.e. 2 singles and a double. There was no mention at all from them of a request for a twin room. When you arrived we had no other rooms available as we were fully booked. The double...

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Stopped en route to Ilfracombe for lunch. A wide menu was served very quickly especially as the place was busy. The food was delicious and the Inn has a pleasant relaxed atmosphere. There was plenty of parking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChrisDT607
Reviewed 13 September 2016

A great place to stay,spacious comfortable rooms and friendly,helpful owners. Food and beer were excellent too although a bit more choice of ale would be appreciated. A good location for exploring Exmoor and surrounding area. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy D

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simonsbath
0.1 km away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
131 reviews
7.9 km away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
22.2 km away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 km away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
452 reviews
16.7 km away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
318 reviews
8.0 km away
The Crown Hotel, Exford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Exmoor Forest Inn

Address: Simonsbath, Exmoor National Park TA24 7SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Simonsbath
Price Range: €82 - €103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Exmoor Forest Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Exmoor Forest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmoor Forest Hotel Simonsbath
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Exmoor Forest Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Kings Langley, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Exmoor Forest Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Calm, clean and good service.”
 of 5 bubbles KarinS738, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 6 is small but for one/two nights would be absolutely fine......dog friendly too!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles MarjorieD255, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Our room (second floor) had nice views of the moor.”
 of 5 bubbles KenL395, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stairs to second floor are steep”
 of 5 bubbles X8357LThelens, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“No lift to top floor so check this out if any mobility problems”
 of 5 bubbles 842Netty01, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay