We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Exmoor White Horse Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Exmoor White Horse Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

429 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Exmoor White Horse Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 425: English reviews
woolacombe
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

My partner booked myself and our child and dog into the hotel for one night's bed and breakfast and we were put into room 23 at a cost of £187.50. The room was big enough for us but was very basic and definately needs an update. It definately wasnt a room youd want to book as a treat.There were no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank woolacombelocal
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

We were sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your final bill but nothing was said by your partner on Check-out, in fact according to Reception he seemed more than happy, and we do also need to point out that a Booking Confirmation had been sent to your partner prior to arrival with all the charges clearly stated to...

Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Travelled all the way from Aberdeen and couldn't have been made to feel more welcome after such a long drive! We usually stay in the Cotswolds or London but fancied a change. So glad we did. The owner couldn't do enough to help, the whisky bar was fantastic and the views next to the river very peaceful. Our puppy was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim J
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much. To hear that your long journey was so worth it has made our day, and wow, what a long journey! As we have said so many times in answer to reviews we really pride ourselves on our Exmoor hospitality, (to both 2 and 4 legged visitors!) and all our guests feel like our friends. Please return...

Devon
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Popped in here for lunch on the way from from Valley of the Rocks in North Devon. Friendly welcome, excellent beers and a superb range of "pub grub", tasty and very good portions - a very pleasant surprise stop off.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lord_Brett_Sinclair
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you! Even after being here for over 30 yrs we still get a real "buzz" from hearing that we have provided the hospitality and service that we pride ourselves on. We really hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

English Riviera, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Driving over Exmoor to and from Exford during Autumn with the lovely colours is in itself a delight. Hotel staff friendly as was the dog which wanted some of my bar snack. Splendid collection of malt whiskies. Bedroom/bathroom very small but furniture most attractive. Costly for an overnight stay but we would return in the future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank petermacloughlin
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

We really hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back. As we are sure you can appreciate, in a hotel of this age room sizes vary significantly, but it all adds to the true character of The Exmoor White Horse Inn.

Amersham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2016

I had booked this some weeks ago through Secret Escapes and called in advance to try to obtain a good room. As it turned out, we were on the ground floor to the side of the main building in a fairly average room which was a bit disappointing. In so much as it is right beside the river, the fairly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James W
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mr Walters, you can rest assured that we do not, and would not, down prioritize room allocation for any special offers that we offer. We value all our customers and take the greatest of pleasure in ensuring that all our guests have an enjoyable stay, hoping that we will be able to welcome them back again in the future....

Newbury, England
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We had forgotten how busy good restaurants get on a Friday Night on Exmoor....but there were tables to spare in the White Horse. For very good reasons. The bench tables inside are so tightly packed we could not comfortably sit at them. The menu was bereft of any options other than the usual grills and judging by the smell of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fangthewonderdog
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

We seriously wonder which Menu you were reading as we do offer a good selection of vegetarian options, both in the Bar and the Restaurant! We operate two completely seperate menus during the evening and so we can only respond by saying your comments are totally unfair and totally untrue. And empty tables at The Exmoor White Horse Inn are...

Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Fine dining, stunning service & a deeelishus house red (French) to boot. Really good meal👍🏼👍🏼. Pay the little extra for a better room, well worth it!! Dont miss Lynton & Lynmouth - beautiful scenery

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gazza05BigG
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much. We really hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon

Colbost, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Had the lightest scones with strawberry jam and clotted cream. My husband had a ham and cheese sandwich with lovely crispy hot chips. Absolutely delicious. Very helpful and friendly barman. The toilets were pristine.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Skyemist
Witham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

This country/hunting pub on the edge of Exmoor is just great. Great atmosphere and have visited several times. Never let down and the food, service from the staff and the beer are always spot on. Can't wait for the next visit

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

We pride ourselves on offering quality, value for money and true Exmoor hospitality. Thank you for letting us know we are being successful in all of these. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

Popped in for a drink & ended up having lunch looked so nice. We weren't disappointed great food & friendly staff. The atmosphere was great & guests staying looked happy to be there. Can't wait to go back and try more of this delicious menu. Next time I'll try to keep room for a pudding, amazing menu

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1000sh
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

And we can't wait to welcome you back! Thank you

188 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (105)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exford
14.9 km away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
634 reviews
22.7 km away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
506 reviews
8.0 km away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 km away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
313 reviews
17.2 km away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
439 reviews
17.1 km away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Lynmouth
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled amidst the scenic beauty of Exmoor National Park, this family run, historic coaching Inn offers luxury accommodation, free Wi-Fi, free parking, and is just 10 miles from both Minehead and the West Somerset and North Devon Coast. Dating back to the 16th Century, the Exmoor White Horse Inn is wreathed in Virginia Creeper ivy and sits majestically by a bridge over the River Exe. Oozing with rustic charm, the Inn celebrates the wonders of its historic past whilst providing a contemporary and sophisticated accommodation experience. Classic period features blend seamlessly with sumptuous soft furnishings and chic interiors to form an idyllic welcoming atmosphere in this spectacular part of the country. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Exmoor White Horse Inn

Address: Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Exford
Price Range: €119 - €181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Exmoor White Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Booking.com, HRS, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Exmoor White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmoor White Horse Hotel Exford
Exmoor White Horse Exford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Exmoor White Horse Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Main building seems a better choice vs lodge?”
 of 5 bubbles alancook12, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the front have the babbling brook and the early morning tractor..!”
 of 5 bubbles sarahm334, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask about size of room when booking.”
 of 5 bubbles petermacloughlin, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room in the hotel and not the annex”
 of 5 bubbles A8000KGjamesw, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Any as its pure class”
 of 5 bubbles D5015YFgaryb, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5