We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Prince Hall Country House Hotel

Booking.comUS$214*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$238*
US$214*
Great Deal
US$238*
US$238*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Prince Hall Country House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

305 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 303: English reviews
Start your review of Prince Hall Country House Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Hotel is perfect if you have a dog. Views, food and location exceptional but we were let down at the end of the stay when we checked out. The invoice total was wrong and when being corrected we felt we were made to feel like idiots as we thought the payment may have been taken online as we thought we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
joshyman, Front Office Manager at Prince Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Prince Hall however I am very sorry to hear your experience upon check out let it down. I will of course pass your comments on to the owner. We hope to see you again in the near future....

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Booked lunch and looking forward to a lovely time The place is very tired and lacks any warmth sadly the food was good and staff pleasant but all else didn't add to a good experience so it was disappointing

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anngilly17
joshyman, Front Office Manager at Prince Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your visit. The house is very old and we try to keep as much of the original character as possible without it looking tired. I have passed your comments on to the owner. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the food and you were looked...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked as an overnight stay with our teenage daughter and our dog. We had two rooms. lovely view over the moors from the comfortable double, a big sofa and lots of character, bath, no separate shower was fine even though we both prefer showers. great great dog touches including a welcome pack and a little mat. We also had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ftokane10
joshyman, General Manager at Prince Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are pleased to hear you all enjoyed your stay. we look forward to seeing you all in the future.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited for a cream tea, having been seduced by the welcome avenue of trees. Unfortunately my gluten free scone was so dry and hard that it was inedible. It was replaced with a yummy almond and orange cake with ice cream We sat in the bar which was more shabby than chic and certainly not country house. One of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maggi N
joshyman, General Manager at Prince Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. we are very sorry that your Gluten Free scone was not to your liking. We are very glad you enjoyed the Dessert that we replaced it with you you. The building is very old. I have passed your comments on to the owner.

Paignton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visit Dartmoor quite often and usually frequent the two bridges hotel for refreshments, but having passed the princes hall on numerous occasion thought we would try it for a change. Eleven pounds for a pot of coffee and a pot of tea with four biscuits is way to much when one considers the state of the building, some might...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2907Rob
joshyman, General Manager at Prince Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we are very sorry you were not happy, we always try to resole things for any customer if we can before you leave, the building is very old. I have passed your comments on to the owner.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On arrival a cordial greeting for my Wife's Special Birthday Treat. The room was perfect for us with a nice moorland view. Room facilities enhanced by fresh milk in jugs, in a corridor fridge, so no need to use the UHT thingies with the tea or coffee, herb teas as well. Dinner ordered in the lounge was preceded by delicious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob A
joshyman, Front Office Manager at Prince Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are very please you had a wonderful stay for such a special occasion. I have passed you lovely comments on to the kitchen.

Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2017

The hotel is housed in the most beautiful building and in the most amazing setting. You can literally walk out of the hotel and straight on to the moors. This was primarily why we chose to stay there and for that, you can't fault it. The food is also note worthy and we enjoyed both a hearty evening meal and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HellsReader
joshyman, Front Office Manager at Prince Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, We are truly very sorry that the door's got shut before you arrived back to the hotel, we have made sure that ALL the staff are aware of this, and I am very sorry that this was not resolved before you left. I have passed your comments on to the owner....

plymouth
Reviewed 13 April 2017

Dropped in for a cream tea . Lovely atmosphere , friendly welcome. Cream tea was delicious. Beautiful views. Went for a walk around the area down to the little bridge. Would return again. It is slightly more expensive than other places but well worth a visit!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sikate
joshyman, Front Office Manager at Prince Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! We are glad you enjoyed your cream tea. We hope to see you again in the future. Kindest Regards.

Axmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 March 2017

We popped in by chance to pick up a prospectus for a future stay & ended up having the full tour & history. What a fabulous hotel with a location second to none. Fantastic lounges & restaurant with comfortable en suite bedrooms. The Prince Hall Hotel is definitely some ones home & 'lived in' having been in the family for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank george b
joshyman, Front Office Manager at Prince Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to wright a review. we are glad you popped in and enjoyed the Prince Hall experience, we look forward to seeing you again.

Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Visited here to celebrate Mother's Day with a traditional Devon Cream Tea. The views over Dartmoor are beautiful. The decor of the Hotel has a lot of character. The staff were very friendly. The food was plentiful with a nice variety. The scones were the best I have ever had with a very generous helping of jam and cream. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
joshyman, Front Office Manager at Prince Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Prince Hall, we are very glad you had a lovely Mother's Day treat and you all enjoyed the food. We hope you shall come and enjoy a cream tea again some time.

125 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (79)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (24)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Bridges
1.8 km away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
994 reviews
14.8 km away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,204 reviews
14.7 km away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 km away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
474 reviews
15.7 km away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
20.4 km away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Prince Hall Country House Hotel is set in the very heart of Dartmoor National Park with its breath-taking scenery. Hands-on owner Chris Daly, and his team are dedicated to offering you exceptional comfort, hospitality and cuisine in a uniquely tranquil and secluded setting. Well-behaved dogs are very welcome, at no extra charge for up to 2 four legged friends. The hotel is open to non residents for morning coffee, light lunches, afternoon teas and dinner and is open all year round. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Prince Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Two Bridges, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Two Bridges
Price Range: €107 - €215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Prince Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Prince Hall Country House Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Ashburton, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Prince Hall Country House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor facing the moor was lovely.”
ftokane10, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Go for the room called Houndtor, if you can”
376boba, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“back bedrooms look over beautiful countryside”
PhillidaM, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The name our room was Yestor”
Katherine14, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Moorland Views recommended”
tdavbecks2016, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$214* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$238
Orbitz.comUS$238
TripAdvisorUS$214
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates