We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Fisherman's Cot

TripAdvisorUS$78*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$78*
US$78*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Fisherman\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

355 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Fisherman's Cot
See the most recent reviews
Showing 352: English reviews
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I cannot praise this place enough! The rooms are large, airy, clean and comfortable. Parking is very convenient with plenty of space and the food and service are amazing. It's on the river bank and beautiful. Recently fully refurbished accommodation and the staff are busy but friendly and helpful. There's free wifi but it's too nice here to work in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allison C
FishermansCot, Front Office Manager at The Fisherman's Cot, responded to this review

Hello Allison, I just want to thank you so much for your review, it is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. It really is beautiful, and I agree with you, you just don't seem to get any work done in the evenings when the river is flowing and the weather is good! Both kitchen team and...

buckinghamshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have come to Fishermans cot every year with our Westie ,but since all rooms have been refurbished dogs are not allowed anymore.Such a shame as we have stayed here for many years.We have just had to cancel our reservation for later this month,never mind Best Western allow dogs .Well Done BW

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thestrads_6
Somerset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely pictures place, with the river running by , good choice of foods in the pub, and other places choices nearby. Friendly staff and nothing was too much trouble , room very clean and good facilities. lovely walks nearby and close to Exeter for shopping.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rachaelD2954LW
FishermansCot, Front Office Manager at The Fisherman's Cot, responded to this review

Hello, That is lovely to hear your kind words. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We hope to see you in the near future. Kindest regards, Annabel Edmonds Supervisor @ the Fishermans Cot

Tiverton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 March 2017

Went for Sunday lunch, was very busy, thought with the amount of people eating must be good. Not to be. Half the vegetables were nearly cold, especially the overlooked cabbage. Meat was tender.and quite nice. Nothing on the plate was seasoned, I know we need to cut down on salt, but it made everything tasteless. Gave it a 1 star,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Norma B
FishermansCot, Front Office Manager at The Fisherman's Cot, responded to this review

Hello Norma, I would firstly like to sincerely apologise for your experience of our carvery and that it was not at our usual high standards and thank you for giving us your feedback. We have had comments from other guests in the past about over-seasoning, which is why we have included a carvery seasoning section next to our gravy and...

Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

We were 4 friends and had an amazing weekend away from busy London. We were looking to relax with good people and good. Our rooms were comfortable, the food was great, the river was relaxing and the staff were lovely and friendly. Definitely my choice of place to stay in Devon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ataraitiw
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2017

The Pub/Restaurant/Hotel sits beside the river and bridge and was the perfect location for a restful out of season reasonably priced break in Devon. Despite being part of the Martson's Inn chain, it felt like an owner run establishment and all of the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were slightly dated but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trainback
FishermansCot, General Manager at The Fisherman's Cot, responded to this review

Hi Trainback, Thank you for very honest & fair review. I just wanted to share with you that our rooms will be fully refurbished next month which have been a long time coming. It's guests like yourselves that have helped make this happen. I have shared your review with my team and we hope to welcome you back in the...

Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017

My sister and her husband came to visit and we went to the Fishermans Cot. The staff were all very friendly and the food was excellent. We did not have to wait long we got a table straightaway. They did several size meals and quantity and quality was brilliant. We will be coming here again. Well worth a visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
FishermansCot, General Manager at The Fisherman's Cot, responded to this review

Hi Patricia, Wow, my team & I thank you for your fantastic review, we could not have asked for any better. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fisherman's Cot very soon. A big thanks from us Juanita & the Cot team :-)

Tiverton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2017

It's always been a beautiful spot and now that the menus improved its a pleasure to visit. I had a wonderful seafood sakad and we got a table overlooking the river. The Rioja is good too and service with a smile. Very enjoyable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Exeterexplore
FishermansCot, General Manager at The Fisherman's Cot, responded to this review

Hi Exeterexplore, So grateful that your have come back to the Fisherman's Cot and enjoyed your seafood salad & Rioja overlooking the river. We thank you for your review and hope you will come back & see us again soon as we have just had a menu change for the Spring & Summer. Thank you for taking the time to...

Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed on a bread and breakfast rate which I thought for the price was very reasonable. The location alongside a river is quite picturesque. Check in was quick and easy. Our room was in a lodge type building just to the rear of the pub itself. There were about 3 lodges next to each other which contained about 4...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WestyandJude
FishermansCot, Front Office Manager at The Fisherman's Cot, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your kind words. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, especially your kind words about our staff. We are undergoing a room refurbishment at the moment, so hopefully we may see you in the near future, possibly in the summer when you can enjoy a lovely drink next to the river on the...

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Upon arrival, we checked in and went to our room, one of the cleaners saw us and said that the carpet outside the room was wet due to a leaking radiator. We were instantly upgraded to a family room. Staff very polite, food very good, and we enjoyed the lovely location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mooremonadi
FishermansCot, Front Office Manager at The Fisherman's Cot, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your kind words, I am so sorry you had to move rooms, but pleased we were able to resolve this quickly for you and that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you taking the time to write this review. Kindest regards, Annabel Edmonds Supervisor

110 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bickleigh
7.3 km away
The Hartnoll Hotel
The Hartnoll Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tiverton
355 reviews
5.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Tiverton Hotel
0.0 km away
Waterloo Cross
Waterloo Cross
#1 of 1 in Uffculme
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
827 reviews
9.8 km away
The Barton Cross Hotel
The Barton Cross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stoke Canon
89 reviews
0.2 km away
The Trout Inn
The Trout Inn
#2 of 4 in Bickleigh
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Fisherman's Cot

Address: Bickleigh EX16 8RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bickleigh
Price Range: €70 - €111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Fisherman's Cot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fisherman`s Cot Hotel Bickleigh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Fisherman's Cot staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Amersham, United Kingdom
10 months ago
Sussex, England
over a year ago
Exeter, United Kingdom
4 months ago
7 months ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The Fisherman's Cot staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms out to the side look out to the river.”
rachaelD2954LW, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Didn't stay a hotel.”
ValSDevon, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Beautiful Views and a Bed I wanted to steal”
LallaM265, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Didn't stay this time”
philtrew, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Take care on road approaching hotel on a corner of T junction”
mof735, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$78* /night
View Deal
LateRooms.comUS$78
Booking.com
Agoda.com
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates