We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ziggurat

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ziggurat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 69: English reviews
Start your review of Ziggurat
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2017

A lovely place. Quirky décor & friendly staff. There are several steps to get there, fine for us but might be tricky for some others. Parking in St Peter Port is a bit odd. It's free but only for certain times in certain places. So probably better if you don't have a car as there is no parking at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D M
Genevieve L, Owner at Ziggurat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! Ahhhh the steps.... we do indeed need some kind of escalator. At least all holiday calories are burned off whist still on the holiday! The parking is indeed odd in the area, strange Guernsey systems, and limited spaces available. It's certainly not ideal around our location sadly. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay...

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 9 January 2017

I booked this hotel for a complete week in June because of all those positive reviews on this site and because the hotel is only reachable by steps. The fact that there is no road near seemed the perfect guarantee for a quiet stay. We could not have been more disappointed. I had chosen one of those king rooms with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anja S
Genevieve L, Owner at Ziggurat, responded to this review

I am sorry you felt the need to write such a long and damning review 7 months after your stay. I am also sorry that your experience was not up to scratch. As you note in your review there have been many positive reviews and enjoyed experiences, so perhaps advising that the hotel is terrible and that everyone should go...

Reviewed 1 January 2017

The hotel had been let down by cancellations and we were the only people staying over the holiday. The staff could not have been more friendly and the manager Paul even invited us to the Christmas Day lunch which he prepared for his team, which was a lovely occasion. We had complimentary sherry and mince pies delivered to our room,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter H
Genevieve L, Owner at Ziggurat, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write - it truly is much appreciated. All staff commented on what a wonderful couple you were to have stay, and they enjoyed sharing Christmas lunch with you both. I hope you had an excellent New Year's Eve and we wish you all the very best for the coming year. Gen...

Guernsey
Reviewed 6 December 2016

We live in Guernsey and went for a meal. Tucked away hard to find but amazing food. Lovely friendly staff, good service very quirky. Would go again had a meal in wooden chalet with friends excellent in winter with heaters and blankets

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzy23041952
Paul d, General Manager at Ziggurat, responded to this review

Hello you two! Thanks for taking the time to write us a lovely review here on Tripadvisor. So glad you enjoyed your meal in one of our beach huts - it's amazing how cosy they can be even at this time of year! Best wishes from all at The Zigg'!

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Fantastic rooms with a wonderful view over St. Peter's port harbour idyllic! The evening meal provided was superb locally sourced meat delicious. Paul and his staff were nothing but kindness from the moment we arrived. You must be mindful of the steps up to and from the hotel this was flagged up before we came. I would strongly recommend the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brendan M
Paul d, General Manager at Ziggurat, responded to this review

Hello there! Thanks for taking the time to write us a lovely review here on Tripadvisor. Great to hear you both enjoyed your stay, and hope you had a safe journey back! The steps are a bit of a workout, but we do our best to make sure people are aware of them! Best wishes and thanks from all at...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed overnight while on business, quirky hotel, very unique. The room was very comfy, quite small but big enough to relax in. Bed is very comfy, best nights sleep I've had in a long time. The chocolates in the fridge is a nice touch too. Ate in the restaurant, tennerfest menu was in place and options for gluten free and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sforrest86
Paul d, General Manager at Ziggurat, responded to this review

Hello there! Thanks for taking the time to write us a lovely review here on Tripadvisor. Great to hear you enjoyed both your stay and our Tennerfest meal! We pride ourselves on being able to accommodate most allergies / dietary requirements. Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Zigg' soon. Best wishes and thanks from myself and the team...

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

The Ziggurat is a great hotel situated in the centre of St Peter Port. Paul and his staff were wonderful to us from the moment my partner and I arrived making us feel very welcome and looking after us for the two nights we stayed, even arranging some chilled wine and chocolates in our room on arrival as it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BasingstokeB0b
Paul d, General Manager at Ziggurat, responded to this review

Hello there! Thanks for taking the time to write us a lovely review here on Tripadvisor. Thanks for choosing to celebrate your partners birthday with us, and it's great to hear that you both enjoyed your time with us! Best wishes and thanks from myself and the team at The Zigg'!

sark
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Stayed at Ziggurat for a special treat and it certainly was a treat. The Hotel is individual stylish and incredibly comfortable and luxurious. From the warm welcome to the beautiful room with great treats (our own cafetiere, chilled water, argan oil shampoos etc) and the nicest beds ever to the stunning dining room and great food. We were restricted to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank poppyleary
Paul d, General Manager at Ziggurat, responded to this review

Hello there! Thanks for taking the time to write us a lovely review here on Tripadvisor. Just to say it was an absolute pleasure having you both here to stay, and we'll look forward to seeing more of you in the future! Best wishes and thanks from myself and the team at The Zigg'!

Guernsey, Wyoming
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Thursday night i was with my friends at Ziggurat. We had very nice and tasty food. The service was excellent, i can say that it was perfect, thank you very match Andrea :) We can't wait to go there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barycblack
Paul d, General Manager at Ziggurat, responded to this review

Hello there! Thanks for taking the time to write us a lovely review here on Tripadvisor. Great to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. Best wishes and thanks from myself and the team at The Zigg'!

Guernsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Hi ate here on the Tennerfest. We had one of the sheds in the back garden. The experience was very novel the six of us had a cracking time and were very cosy.The food was simply fanatstic and the serrvice was also great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rammie13
Paul d, General Manager at Ziggurat, responded to this review

Hello there! Thanks for taking the time to write us a lovely review here on Tripadvisor. Great to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. Best wishes and thanks from myself and the team at The Zigg'!

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.2 km away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
555 reviews
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
702 reviews
0.4 km away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Moores Central Hotel
0.7 km away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
789 reviews
1.1 km away
La Piette Hotel
La Piette Hotel
#11 of 19 in St Peter Port
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If you are the type of person who is bored with the bland impersonality of chain hotels and faceless organisations, then this might be just the place for you. We don't have all the amenities of the big monolith hotel institutions, but instead we offer more subtle benefits such as a warm friendly ambiance, a sense of bonhomie and a genuine personal passion for making your stay as wonderful as it possibly can be. Right in the centre of town, just a 3 minute walk to Market Square, Ziggurat has the very unusual advantage of being totally central and yet feeling like you have been transported to another world. See the hustle and bustle of town and the retreat here for good music, lively conversation and an extremely comfy bed. When staying with us we want you to relax and feel like you are at home. It's an informal atmosphere - no stiffly pressed starchy matching uniforms, no bored receptionist, no nightly turn-down and not even a smidgen of towel art. It's a place of fun, of good times and a hub to enjoy meeting people from all over the world who, for some reason or other, have ended up landing on Guernsey's shores. We would love to take the time to sit down with you to share coffee, drinks, ideas and hear a little about your life story. This is our work, our passion and where we spend the majority of our time, so it is important we enjoy the Ziggurat experience as much as you do. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ziggurat

Address: Ziggurat No. 5 Constitution Steps, St Peter Port GY1 2PN (Formerly Sunnycroft Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Price Range: €104 - €152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ziggurat 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ziggurat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ziggurat Guernsey/St Peter Port, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ziggurat staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Ziggurat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room was a bit small, but nicely done.”
 of 5 bubbles 186dm, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The rooms 1-3 and the most expensive rooms right up the top might be quiet, but this is just guessing.”
 of 5 bubbles AnjaS72, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms to the left of the stairs have best views and top floor has "private" balcony overlooking sea for use of the two top rooms.”
  • View from room 13 over town, harbour and neghbouring islands
 of 5 bubbles , 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“top floor rooms as our room above restaurant can hear the music playing ( very low level noise but annoying)”
 of 5 bubbles colinpauldavies1, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“sea view room for the views”
 of 5 bubbles christopherw216, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5