We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Somerville Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

656 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Somerville Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 640: English reviews
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2015

We returned again to the Somerville at the beginning of July 15. We were once more delighted with the quality, comfort and atmosphere at the Somerville. At the Tides restaurant first class food and wine were served by friendly knowledgeable staff. In fact, all the staff at the hotel, from the housekeepers to the managers were very friendly and welcoming....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arthur S
Gavin F, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and delighted that we will be seeing you again. Kind regards Somerville team.

Kent, England
Reviewed 17 July 2015

Stayed for a long weekend, fantastic location with lovely views. Inward facing room was a bit small and also overlooks roof - however room was clean and comfortable, although could do with more ventalation when hot. Breakfast was good, cooked to order and very helpful staff. Reception staff are particularly helpful. Would stay again as location is so good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChrisKent26
Gavin F, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review, we look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2015

We have stayed at this Hotel on numerous occasions over the past few Years. Last Year we Up-Graded Ourselves to the Top Level Room with Sea View, Private Balcony etc and the Room & View were excellent. This Year we did the same, paid the premium and we were given a slightly smaller version of last Years Room, and the...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank DavidCraddock
Gavin F, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and I was obviously disappointed to read your comments. These will be discussed with the team and I assure you will be addressed as the team takes a great pride in their work and will be very disappointed to read such comments. I hope that you will provide us with the opportunity to redeem ourselves...

Durham
Reviewed 4 July 2015

A beautiful hotel which we spotted last year, so decided book our special holiday at the Somerville. On arrival we were shown to our room and were disappointed there were no flowers or other gesture to mark our honeymoon despite it being on the booking form as we had requested it to be made known. We even had a complimentary...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linda G
Gavin F, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and congratulations on your wedding. Please accept my apologies for not providing you with something to mark the occasion, perhaps we can put this right on your next visit. Thank you once again for your valued comments. Kind regards.

Somerset
Reviewed 2 July 2015

This was our first visit to this hotel and we were not disappointed. We received a warm welcome and help with our luggage from Joe who showed us our room and explained various things about the hotel. The food was exceptional, and plenty of it, very well presented. The restaurant and bar staff were very attentive and we were well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CashierSomerset
Gavin F, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and delighted that we will be having the pleasure of welcoming you again. Kind regards.

Reviewed 30 June 2015 via mobile

Commanding position on hill with superb views over the bay. Generally we found it quiet. No weddings on as far as I could tell. Staff absolutely fine. Food was OK, breakfast not particularly inspiring though excellent views from restaurant was compensation. Had an evening meal in the hotel which again was OK. Room small with inadequate storage, needed some decent...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank D M
Gavin F, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, sorry that your stay was not as comfortable as one would expect. Your comments are valued though and will be discussed with the team and owners. I hope that despite this we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel when perhaps you could enjoy one of our larger rooms. Kind regards

Margate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 June 2015

Overall really good. Two negatives, room on ground floor overlooking car park was noisy with other guests at night and delivery vehicles in morning,and after great meal coffee only instant in a posh jug, expected better. Still great views and great staff and would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Davina W
Gavin F, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and delighted that we may see you again. Apologies for the coffee, we always serve filter coffee and can only apologise if this wasn't the case for yourself. Kind regards

Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2015

Had another great stay at the Somerville. It's our favourite hotel in Jersey. The staff are brilliant and really helpful. The service is excellent. The superior rooms are lovely. And the food is really excellent and actually really good value. A great stay again - thanks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
Gavin F, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your very kind review which will be shared with the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards.

Kingston, Canada
Reviewed 15 June 2015

The Somerville is a classic high-end Edwardian sea-side luxury hotel. Because it is on a hill-side, there is a panoramic view of the harbour and the bay extending to St. Helier. The staff are professional but not snooty, and the meals in either the bar or the dining room are top quality. There is a lovely garden and lounge chairs...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rick R
Gavin F, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and constructive comments. The wifi has already been improved and plans are in place for further improvements in the not too distant future. Kind regards.

Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 June 2015

Stayed in this hotel for one night with evening meal and full English it is just amazing rooms spacious and beautiful linen food in restaurant absolutely 5 star cocktails before dinner as suggested by waiter lovely food faultless staff could not do enough to help :-)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KimRebeccaAbbie
Gavin F, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, delighted you enjoyed you stay, hopefully we will see you again soon. Kind regards.

442 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (200)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
1:22
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (70)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (210)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Classic Inland Room (29)
Viewed
Classic Seaview Room (27)
Viewed
Pool (35)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Superior Garden Suite (36)
Viewed
Superior Seaview Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Aubin
1.3 km away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
885 reviews
0.7 km away
La Haule Manor
La Haule Manor
#1 of 4 in St Aubin
723 reviews
1.9 km away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#9 of 16 in St Brelade
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
#8 of 16 in St Brelade
940 reviews
2.2 km away
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
#6 of 16 in St Brelade
690 reviews
5.5 km away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 31 in St Helier
1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestling on the hillside, overlooking the yachting harbour the village of St. Aubin and the bay beyond, the views from the Somerville hotel are breathtaking. The hotel is one of the Island's finest country house hotels and is well know for its warm welcome and excellent reputation with guests appreciating its discreet location and emphasis is on indulgence and style. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Somerville Hotel

Address: Le Mont Du Boulevard, St Aubin, St Brelade JE3 8AD
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade > St Aubin
Price Range: €87 - €249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Somerville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerville Hotel St Aubin
Somerville Hotel Jersey/St Aubin
Hotel Jersey Somerville
Somerville St Aubin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Somerville Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Somerville Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The garden rooms are lovely, have a little private garden and terrace, but you are outside the main body of the hotel, lovely in summer.”
 of 5 bubbles michelangelo, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Whilst the lift is out of order choose the first floor if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles tayloryellow, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms which offer a sea view over the beautiful St. Aubin's bay overlooking the harbour & fort which all looks stunning on full tide.”
 of 5 bubbles CliveP595, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Need sea facing for the view and without squeaky floorboards outside”
 of 5 bubbles 566lynnj, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“choose a room with a view over the harbour”
 of 5 bubbles LallieC, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5