We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Achill Sound Hotel- Ostan Gob A'Choire

Save
Share
Achill Island, Co. Mayo, Achill Sound, Achill Island Ireland
eDreams
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (50)
Dining (2)
Room & Suite (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Achill Sound
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to the Achill Sound Hotel, or in the Irish language, Ostan Gob A'Choire. Peter and Loretta Connaughton, and all of the Connaughton family, assure you a famous warm welcome to the friendly and relaxed Achill Sound Hotel. The hotel is located just over the bridge from the mainland, and in the heart of Achill Sound, the main Achill village. Close to the village shops and amenities, the Achill Sound Hotel is one of the most popular hotels on Achill Island. For nearly a century we've been offering affordable accommodation, great home-cooked food from our bar/restaurant and the ideal location for exploring Achill and the surrounding areas. We are a family hotel and add a personal touch to brighten your stay from all the family and staff. Enjoy a pint in the bar, share a song or a story and feel part of the family and the village. We have a range of double, single, twin and family rooms to choose from. All rooms have TVs, and are en-suite. From here in Achill Sound you can also explore the rest of the beautiful island with its stunning Atlantic vistas, towering mountains, cliffs, unique plants and animals, intriguing and sad history, cosy pubs, safe and scenic bicycle greenway all the way from Westport, and perfect blue-flag beaches. At once windswept, barren, wild, lush, rich and beautiful. An adventure seekers dream, or a quiet Irish paradise to escape the busy world. Come visit Achill. The hotel has plenty of safe and free parking as well as storage for bicycles and packed lunches for exploring the island.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Billiards
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Board games / puzzles
Show more
Room features
Bottled water
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
77Reviews0Q+A6Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 34
  • 17
  • 12
  • 5
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
NJH12017 wrote a review Jul 2017
Doolin, Ireland12 contributions10 helpful votes
Not quite sure where to begin : the only positive things were : the sheets and towels were clean, parking was good and the staff was friendly. Other than that the mattresses in both beds were uncomfortable, the TV did not work, there was no internet at all even though it was supposed to have it, there was only one plug in the entire room to charge things, the bathroom shower barely produced hot water after a long time and the water pressure was inadequate, the shower curtain and glass enclosure were absolutely worthless because the entire bathroom overflowed with water anyway; the breakfast was okay - seemed to be kept under hot lights not freshly made. Dinner at the restaurant was mediocre. Would not go back nor would I recommend it....the room had a musty smell; the entire
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
Helpful
Share
Response from Achill Sound H, Front Office Manager at Achill Sound Hotel- Ostan Gob A'Choire
Responded 11 Jul 2017
Dear James, While we thank you for letting us know your concerns, we do wish you had brought them to our attention during your stay through the course of our many conversations. As we did explain, we advertise WIFI in our public areas only, and as much as we have tried to extend it to all of the bedrooms, the broadband in the area and the nature of the building hasn't allowed for it. We are sorry that you had a negative experience, and had we been made aware of the problems you mentioned while you were still with us, we may have been able to remedy them, or offer a partial refund. We hope you enjoyed our beautiful island regardless and the rest of your trip to Ireland. Kind regards, Aimee
Read more
ptmartin7710 wrote a review May 2017
Newtownards, United Kingdom7 contributions2 helpful votes
We have just returned home from Achill Island hotel. A beautiful island, the hotel is adequate but we spent 2 very uncomfortable nights in a very hard lumpy mattress. The beds were so uncomfortable we would never go back. We called to reception on numerous occasions but it was never staffed. We did however enjoy dinner and found the food affordable. The staff were friendly and worked hard overall I would rate the hotel as a 2*
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017
Helpful
Share
Response from Achill Sound H, Manager at Achill Sound Hotel- Ostan Gob A'Choire
Responded 3 Jun 2017
Dear Peter, Thank you for your review. In your review your mention that you stayed at the Achill Island Hotel. I'd just like to double check, as we are the Achill Sound Hotel, and we don't seem to have any record of your stay with us. If you did indeed stay with us, please get in touch, we'd love to chat about your concerns. Kindest regards, Aimee Reception
Read more
07disney2015 wrote a review May 2017
County Laois, Ireland2 contributions
We stayed in a self catering cottage in Achill Sound at Easter. After our first visit to the Achill Sound Hotel and because of the warm welcome from Peter, we popped in to visit every day of our stay. The food was delicious, the customers chatted at the bar and it was hard to leave. Our kids had fun playing pool and enjoyed the toys provided to entertain. Peter ensured we were well looked after and had lots of tips on things to see and do. We will definitely be back and hope to stay in this hotel next time.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017
Helpful
Share
unamcburney wrote a review Apr 2017
Belfast, United Kingdom8 contributions6 helpful votes
Beautiful place to wind down relax after a long journey food is great people are great sevice excellent Gordon Ramsey woild,love it but imwould recommend giving it a go beds comfy just fantastic so book book book they sell out quickly
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017
Helpful
Share
Abollat wrote a review Dec 2016
Cerdanyola del Valles, Spain41 contributions25 helpful votes
Excellent location, good food, nice people serving (is a family place) and ambience. Just passing the bridge you'll find the hotel, is a perfect place to explore the island. You can stay there or stop for food or a drink. With a car park in front of the premises. I highly recommend this place, you'll feel there among friends, better than home!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2016
Helpful
Share
LOCATION
IrelandWestern IrelandProvince of ConnachtCounty MayoAchill IslandAchill Sound
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing