We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Achill Sound Hotel- Ostan Gob A'Choire

Save
Share
Achill Island, Co. Mayo, Achill Sound, Achill Island Ireland
Booking.com
eDreams
StayForLong
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (50)
Dining (2)
Room & Suite (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Achill Sound
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to the Achill Sound Hotel, or in the Irish language, Ostan Gob A'Choire. Peter and Loretta Connaughton, and all of the Connaughton family, assure you a famous warm welcome to the friendly and relaxed Achill Sound Hotel. The hotel is located just over the bridge from the mainland, and in the heart of Achill Sound, the main Achill village. Close to the village shops and amenities, the Achill Sound Hotel is one of the most popular hotels on Achill Island. For nearly a century we've been offering affordable accommodation, great home-cooked food from our bar/restaurant and the ideal location for exploring Achill and the surrounding areas. We are a family hotel and add a personal touch to brighten your stay from all the family and staff. Enjoy a pint in the bar, share a song or a story and feel part of the family and the village. We have a range of double, single, twin and family rooms to choose from. All rooms have TVs, and are en-suite. From here in Achill Sound you can also explore the rest of the beautiful island with its stunning Atlantic vistas, towering mountains, cliffs, unique plants and animals, intriguing and sad history, cosy pubs, safe and scenic bicycle greenway all the way from Westport, and perfect blue-flag beaches. At once windswept, barren, wild, lush, rich and beautiful. An adventure seekers dream, or a quiet Irish paradise to escape the busy world. Come visit Achill. The hotel has plenty of safe and free parking as well as storage for bicycles and packed lunches for exploring the island.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Billiards
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Board games / puzzles
Show more
Room features
Bottled water
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
81Reviews0Q+A8Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 36
  • 19
  • 11
  • 6
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
AmyLou wrote a review Jul 2020
Ireland79 contributions42 helpful votes
Visited the Achill Sound Hotel for a meal at very short notice and the staff were very accommodating and so friendly! We were a group of seven. The food was delicious, as were the pints of Guinness! Very good menu, plenty of variety. We felt very safe as regards social distancing with covid etc. Will definitely be back. The person who booked for our group was given a fridge magnet as a small token and it was really appreciated - it's the little things! Will definitely be returning, will be telling family and friends and would recommend to anyone visiting Achill Island!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Olivia B wrote a review Jul 2020
Tallaght, Dublin, Ireland2 contributions1 helpful vote
Had lunch here today and the food was absolutely gorgeous, very reasonably priced. Staff very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. I would highly recommend a visit to the Achill Sound Hotel for a bite to eat if your passing through Achill.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
ciaran1232015 wrote a review Jul 2020
County Roscommon, Ireland3 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed here several times over the years Peter and Loretta are the perfect hosts, friendly and professional, my wife and I just love this place and the service and hospitality it offers. The price is very affordable and great value for money
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kmolp wrote a review Jul 2020
Ireland45 contributions37 helpful votes
We popped in for lunch along the greenway cycle - 1st week after covid re-openings. Lovey soup and a toastie.. the owner was a lovely friendly man! Very old school Irish hotel - took me back to my childhood.. Nearly wanted to order red lemonade and a packet of Taytos.. Would recommend for the genuine warm welcome! Lunch was good too..
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Strix Nebula wrote a review Sep 2019
10 contributions4 helpful votes
Our group of 6 stayed for two nights here and we enjoyed our stay. We ate at the restaurant and were happy with our meals. I had the roast and it was excellent. The owners were very nice and helpful. Their 12yo spaniel was a lovely dog who rested at our feet while we had a drink in the bar. The rooms were old but that not in a negative sense but rather a character thing. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Boh T wrote a review Jul 2019
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom22 contributions3 helpful votes
I came here just to eat dinner and was not disappointed. We had fish and chips for 10 Euros and Beef Roast for 15 Euros (unbeatable prices, really). Service was friendly, fast and highly attentive. We were sat immediately, orders were taken within 5 minutes, drinks brought immediately although the restaurant was full. The food came after just 10 minutes. The portions were excellent and the quality of the food very good. I loved the hot plates, extra gravy, radish sauce and extra mashed potatoes and cheesy cauliflower. If you like a good and seriously filling roast for excellent value, go to the Achill Head hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
gwaygirlie745 wrote a review Jul 2019
County Galway, Ireland48 contributions16 helpful votes
Stayed here 2 nights. Rooms in very bad need of updating. Very small basic rooms & ensuite with dampness patches that were painted over & musty smell. Teeny Tiny TV with one fuzzy channel. Good location, suitable for exploring the island. Asked million questions on where we were going & what time we would be back at. One of the owners was always around & would just appear, the minute we came out our room in the morning one of them would be there asking if we were going for breakfast & if we came back in the evenings, one of them would follow us to our room asking us if we were going to be having something to eat & drink downstairs in the bar. They also insisted on leaving our keys at the desk every time we went out & wanted to know what time we would be back at, at night. It was
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
molly k wrote a review Jan 2019
Cleveland, Ohio12 contributions
This small family owned hotel has a breakfast option and a pub/restaurant attached for lunch, dinner or a drink. Pete the owner is always friendly and willing to have a chat to fill you in on the beautiful island. The rooms are a tad small, but the price makes up for it. Plus, you're not in Achill to stay in your room all day!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Malou200 wrote a review Jul 2018
Dublin, Ireland52 contributions46 helpful votes
This is a very basic hotel. Rooms are small and old but there is a charm to it that makes it worth a stay. Its situated on the left just as you come over the bridge to the Island. The staff is helpful and there is a place to store your bikes, if you like my party, been coming the Greenway from Wexford. The bar was the highlight, lovely and so cheap for us coming from the big smoke!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
David Leonard wrote a review Jun 2018
1 contribution
Stopped in for lunch and we were really disappointed. While the young barman was lovely and very helpful the food was really bad. I had the prawn and salmon salad and it consisted of frozen shrimp, a few leaves, 1 slice of pepper and half a cherry tomato! The smoked salmon was fine but it was all accompanied by bread that was so stale it was actually inedible. Very disappointing considering it cost €11. I wouldn’t go back and definitely wouldn’t recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Achill Sound H, Manager at Achill Sound Hotel- Ostan Gob A'Choire
Responded 21 Jun 2018
Dear David, We do regret that you were disappointed in your meal. While we understand that a particular dish cannot please everyone, our smoked salmon salad is consistently one of our returning customer's favourite menu items. We have never before received a complaint regarding the quality of our brown bread. Nevertheless, we are happy that you enjoyed the service, and wish that you had made us aware of your disappointment, as we could have brought you a different dish. We hope that you change your mind about trying us again. Kind regards, Achill Sound Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LOCATION
IrelandWestern IrelandProvince of ConnachtCounty MayoAchill IslandAchill Sound
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ACHILL SOUND HOTEL- OSTAN GOB A'CHOIRE - Reviews & Price Comparison (Ireland) - Tripadvisor