We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club

Save
Share
Glen Of The Downs A63DC95 Ireland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
US$183
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/09/21
Booking.com
US$195
View deal
Official Site
US$203
US$175
View deal
SAVE US$28
Free cancellation until 29/09/21
PricelineUS$195
Expedia.comUS$203
eDreamsUS$195
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (459)
Dining (79)
Room & Suite (64)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
Read more
Updated 24/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 24/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club is a 4 star Luxury Hotel in County Wicklow set on over 30 acres of woodland walks, beautiful gardens and located in the heart of The Garden of Ireland.The Glenview Hotel is located at Junction 9 Glen o' the Downs on the N11.Situated just off the M50 motorway, The Glenview Hotel is only 25 miles driving distance from Dublin City Centre and 30 miles from Dublin Airport.The Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club Wicklow, nestled in the stunning and breathtaking surroundings of The Glen of The Downs and overlooking the Wicklow Mountains is the perfect destination for leisure breaks, activity breaks, meetings, events and weddings in Wicklow. The Glenview Hotel is situated in the scenic garden of Ireland and is the ideal location for your break within a 10 minute drive of Powerscourt House & Gardens in Enniskerry and some of Wicklow’s finest golf courses.The Glenview Hotel in Wicklow offers excellent service in elegant surroundings which makes it a comfortable setting whether it is for business or leisure.Where style and grace meet country hospitality.Glenview Hotel Wicklow features;• 70 deluxe bedrooms including the penthouse suite • Excellent conference, meeting and banqueting facilities• Woodlands Restaurant and Conservatory Bistro and Bar • Extensive Leisure Club with outdoor hot tub. • The Haven Beauty Treatment Suites • Scenic woodland walk & gardens • Complimentary Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel• The Glenview Hotel is a great location, just off the M50 on exit 9 off the N11, south of Bray in County Wicklow.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Babysitting
Car park
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Head massage
Massage
Solarium
Steam room
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
VIP room facilities
Iron
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
1399Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 614
  • 397
  • 242
  • 80
  • 66
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Leonie wrote a review Nov 2020
Dublin, Ireland9 contributions22 helpful votes
This hotel was pleasant. They have nice big rooms with nice views and the breakfast was nice. The massage I had was absolutely lovely and felt very relaxed afterwards. They are very well organised in the leisure center when it comes to managing the amount people there
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul O'Meara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club
Responded 25 Nov 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor. It is a pleasure to read you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us and we do hope you will come back to visit us again soon. Kind regards, Paul O'Meara General Manager
Read more
Esther M wrote a review Oct 2020
Cork, Ireland26 contributions4 helpful votes
From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were made so welcome. The hotel was very comfortable, extremely clean. The food was fantastic and plenty of it. The staff could not have been nicer. The leisure centre was beautiful. The gardens were beautiful an so peaceful. Will definitely visit here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul O'Meara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club
Responded 6 Oct 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for your excellent review. We are so pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming back again on a future occasion. Kind regards, Paul O'Meara General Manager
Read more
Anna M wrote a review Sep 2020
13 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
I have purchased the ‘’Unwind & Dine’’ package in the Glenview Hotel for one nights’ stay as I have planned a small getaway to celebrate my husband’s 50th birthday. The package contained the room, breakfast, dinner and the access to the swimming pool and the spa. The deal looked like a bargain, especially considering that Glenview Hotel has been awarded 4 stars. I have selected the Glenview hotel as the offer seemed to be a really good value I expected the experience to be worthy of 4 stars that the hotel had. The access to the swimming pool and spa were major factors for me. During the check in at the reception myself and my husband were asked to sign a waiver confirming that we comply with hotel regulations and that we take the responsibility for any damage done to the room. After completing the paperwork, we were assigned a room number 207. We went up to it and we have been immediately stunned. For a brief moment myself and my husband have thought that someone has made a mistake and gave us keys to a room that has been used as a storage space for old and broken furniture. Every piece of furniture came from a different set and nothing has not been stylistically cohesive. Furthermore, everything in the room looked like a vandalised antique made from various different types of (different coloured) wood. Some pieces of furniture had missing handles, others had damaged corners. The room had a strong unpleasant smell so we have tried opening the windows and noticed the filth and mould on the window frames. It seems to us like they haven’t been cleaned in months, probably even years! The bathroom wasn’t any better. It had old tiles and ancient appliances. I wouldn’t consider the age of appliances to be an issue in itself, although there was omnipresent filth in the bathroom. There has been a ring of black mould around the bathtub and the tiles around the toilet bowl were stained yellow, presumably from urine. A shocking view and standard of hygiene, particularly at the time of Covid when everyone should take more notice into hygiene and sanitisation. I have been shocked by the room that we have been offered. The pictures of the rooms available online did not correlate to the room that we have been offered. This room has not even been worthy of a 1 star and to be honest, I have stayed in motels which were of much higher standard than this room both from the quality of furnishing and definitely the hygiene! Myself and my husband decided to go back to reception to complain about the suboptimal conditions that we have paid our hard-earned money for as we were simply concerned about our health. After consulting the manager, the receptionist offered us a different room which looked adequately and has been somewhat similar to the photos on the internet. It was also cleaned a little bit better, although the cleanliness of the room still left a lot to be desired. We decided to stay here, regardless of the initial irritation by the experience of seeing the room that was offered to us at the start. After unpacking, we have decided to avail of the swimming pool that we have booked for 7:30pm. The staff at the leisure centre informed us that we have 15 minutes as they are closing the building at 8pm and we have to vacate the pool by 7.45! I will also add that the website clearly states that the pool does not close until 8:30pm. Of course, we did not end up using the pool after all as it was not possible to do so in 15 minutes time. We have informed the aforementioned manager about the situation and she appeared to be shocked at how we were treated. The dinner experience has been also a bit of a shock. The dinner part of the package only included some of the cheapest meals. Everything else had a significant supplement, even something as basic as a portion of chips and other ‘sides’. I did not expect this as this information wasn’t available to us upon the purchase and we have presumed that dinner package does not only include a piece of meat and fish, but also sides. When accounting for the hidden costs of the ‘Unwind & Dine’ offer I concluded that you would probably be better off ordering the room and food separately. It would most likely work out cheaper. We thought that maybe our breakfast experience will be slightly better, although we have encountered a very unfriendly waitress that was really reluctant to help us. We asked her to let us sit at the window table, which she didn’t allow us to do claiming that the table was not ready. This was not true as another guest has been placed there literally 10 seconds after we sat down at our assigned table. Furthermore, the table that we have been given has not been cleaned. There have been many crumbs on the chairs. This has been fixed after we have asked again, but this is unsatisfactory during the pandemic when everyone has to adhere to strict sanitation regulations! After getting our food, we had to order bread separately. My husband ended up eating three quarters of his fry before he got his toast. This was also after we have asked a second waiter for the bread. Unfortunately, even the last moments of our stay during the breakfast couldn’t be considered as nice. I couldn’t with a clear conscience recommend Glenview Hotel to anyone. The overall quality of the stay, the treatment of the guests and the horrific standards of hygiene in the hotel resulted in the experience which I would not even want to have for free. I have returned home, disappointed, irritated and honestly, I feel cheated, as I will never get a change to celebrate my husband’s 50th birthday again. P.S. – To the head manager, Paul, who takes time to respond to all her disappointed guests. Please do not waste time replying to this review by saying how sorry you are that the hotel did not meet our expectations, instead use it to manage the hotel to make it a place that is worthy of our visit.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Do not recomend any due to the dirt
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul O'Meara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club
Responded 30 Sep 2020
Dear Guest, I regret to hear of your disappointing experiences on the occasion of your Husband’s 50th Birthday celebration. I must disagree with your comment regarding the hygiene standards in the hotel, Please be assured we treat our hygiene regulations very seriously. We pass regular Health Inspections and pride ourselves on adhering to Failte Ireland Safety Charter Covid 19 and AA 4* standards. With regard to our décor we are a 4* country house hotel and our décor lends to this style. You mention that your dinner experience had been a bit of shock and you didn’t feel you got value for money. It is also disappointing to hear that you did not find the food served here up to the high standard we set ourselves. I am particularly disappointed about this, as we have built up an excellent reputation in the area and our food is normally received very well as can be seen from numerous positive reviews. We offer an ala carte menu of six starters, six mains and four desserts. The Jumbo prawns is the only starter that has a supplement added on and two of the mains, fillet steak and monkfish also have a supplement added . Everything else on the menu is included in the dinner package. The quality of our food is very important to us, and our ingredients are all sourced locally With regard to the Leisure Club facility all our guests are sent an email three days prior to arrival recommending that they make a reservation for dinner and also to book a slot in the Leisure Centre. It also states in this email the Leisure Centre closes at 8p.m not 8.30p.m.. This information would have been repeated again at check-in. I would like to apologise for the delay you experienced at breakfast and that you did not receive a table at the window. I have passed your comment to the Restaurant Supervisor for follow up. I know we cannot turn back the clock but should you change your mind and wish to return I would be delighted to have the opportunity to look after you personally and ensure that future impressions are more positive. Kind regards, Paul O'Meara General Manager
Read more
Karen Mahon wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution4 helpful votes
Stayed during Covid-19. Front of house & reception staff fantastic ( Johnathon, Anouk & Sabine) The cleaning standards of bedrooms were disgusting, toilets not cleaned on several days, dirty surfaces and sinks. Despite management being made aware of this (some were very helpful). We are in the middle of a pandemic and general manager Paul ignored our complaint, and physically went out of his way to avoid addressing the issue with us on the 5th complaint we made ( he saw us and walked the other way) he landed the issues he should have dealt with personally on the management and staff beneath him . There is no point in swanning around (Paul) at breakfast lifting a few plates when there are more serious issues at hand. This hotel is running the risk of making many individuals very unwell. Management ,is the issue here. Please don’t waste your well earned money and risk your health. The hotel is set in a beautiful area, but as an independent hotel it therefore doesn’t have to meet the standards that a chain of hotels would. The hotel needs a good deep clean, freshening up , and an in-depth training of cleaning needs, especially during this pandemic. Thanks to those I mentioned in the opening sentence. Any one of you would really make a fantastic general manager. Stay safe
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul O'Meara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club
Responded 30 Sep 2020
Dear Guest, Both Management and Staff are very upset to read your review on trip advisor when we were led to believe that all the matters raised during your 14 days stay with us were resolved satisfactorily. Please contact me at the hotel if you wish to discuss your experience further. I look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards, Paul O'Meara General Manager
Read more
ellieglavin wrote a review Sep 2020
Dublin, Ireland64 contributions27 helpful votes
My partner and I stayed in the Glenview last weekend for a very special occasion!! I have attended lots of events there over the years all very good ! Been a 4 star and not cheap it has to be good ! We arrived Friday stayed until Sunday .The weather was nice for the weekend so I was happy. We got to our room around 5pm . The room was very dark we had to have the light on all weekend , we had dinner booked for 7.30 when I was going to get ready it was a bit chilly and dark so I decided to put on some heat ,it did not work. I called down an was told it was on a timer and will be on in 5 min. We went down for dinner and when came back still no heat . We did not want to complain again so went to bed ! The day after still no heat in morning . We decided to go out for a while . We said it at reception they said we will sort it ! When we came back .We were told that the heat was on a timer and management will not let the staff touch it!! So they gave us a heater that did not work .we had to go under the covers to keep warm until we went down stairs for dinner.The rest of the hotel was roasting . We eventually got another heater. We paid good money we should not be cold in a 4 stat hotel and have to keep the light on all weekend ! Maybe if the sunlight got in to our room it would not have been as cold. The Food was amazing and the staff were so nice and helpful ! The management were at fault not the staff. The rooms need updating too. We stayed in The Falmer’s Kitchen the weekend before and it’s a 3 star and we had control of the heating and the room was bright an airy ! It was our special weekend away that is the only reason I am complaining ! If anyone thinking of booking don’t book room 225.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Not room 225
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul O'Meara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club
Responded 25 Sep 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I apologise for any discomfort caused due to the issue with the heating of your room. I am glad to hear the matter was resolved. Many thanks also for your positive feedback regarding the food and the team. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again when future experiences will be more positive. Kind regards, Paul O'Meara General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$102 - US$225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
glenview hotel
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty WicklowGlen Of The Downs
NUMBER OF ROOMS
71
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club
Which popular attractions are close to Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club?
Nearby attractions include Bray Head (6.4 km), Powerscourt Gardens and House (6.1 km), and The Harbour Bar (7.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a view of the mountains.
What food & drink options are available at Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pink Salt Indian Restaurant, Carpe Diem, and Daata.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Powerscourt Gardens and House (6.1 km), Killruddery House & Gardens (4.7 km), and Fassaroe Cross - St. Valery's Cross (6.0 km).
Does Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.