We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

ASHDOWN PARK HOTEL

Save
Share
Ashdown Park Hotel The Coach Road, Gorey Ireland
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
US$178
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (151)
Dining (32)
Room & Suite (4)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#2 of 4 hotels in Gorey
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Luxurious superbly appointed 4* Hotel in Wexford, located on its own private grounds, just a short stroll from Gorey Town. Just minutes from sandy beaches and top class golf courses. The Ashdown Park Hotel boasts 80 beautifully appointed guest rooms, each tastefully designed and offering the highest level of comfort. Our award winning "Rowan Tree Restaurant" offers a unique dining experience. Our "Ivy Bar" has top class food and regular live entertainment. Our Ashdown Club has state-of-the-art facilities including 18m Pool.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Game room
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Portuguese
989Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 520
  • 257
  • 105
  • 62
  • 45
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Eve B wrote a review 14 Jun
13 contributions19 helpful votes
We are a family of 5 who wanted a short weekend trip to Wexford to chill out, reconnect and get some sunshine! - The family room was excellent - spacious, clean and with 2 single beds, 1 double and a set of bunks, everybody was happy - The booking set up for pools / restaurants etc. worked really well. The pool system in particular was fab - The hotel have managed to get ontop of COVID rules in a diligent but friendly way 10/10 - we are already planning our return
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Finegan, General Manager at ASHDOWN PARK HOTEL
Responded yesterday
Dear Eve B, Thanks so much for the lovely review. The team are working very hard at it, It helps immensely with staff moral - hard few weeks have been had by all! We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay so much and very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Paul Finegan
Read more
Michael G wrote a review 14 Jun
Wicklow, Ireland22 contributions3 helpful votes
What can I say about the restaurant we where outdoor dinning in 27 degree heat and given a large jug of water that was warm then a jug of blackcurrant the same not one bit of ice. Menu was not the best selection in the world. We ordered drinks and food the first pints where not to bad the second one looked like it was left in the bar to settle for a half hour. Once drinks where dropped we where told that with out door dinning we had to pay before we eat 🤔 🤔 this I did not not like a family of four hardly going to run away and the fact that I can go to Eddie rockets and not pay for my food till we had eaten really baffled me. The food was not the best over priced for the quality and need to update the starters on the menu. Would we go back no I don’t think so €98 for two adults two kids for poor service and food won’t happen again
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Finegan, General Manager at ASHDOWN PARK HOTEL
Responded yesterday
Dear Stretchella23, Drinks not good enough, sincerest apologies. Sorry we baffled you re the outside system. Properties differ - it is not something we get a lot of negative feedback on. Kind regards, Paul Finegan
Read more
amodwyer wrote a review 14 Jun
Dublin, Ireland3 contributions2 helpful votes
Went to the Tapas restaurant on the upstairs terrace. Had a great night out with friends. The terrace was lovely, sun was shining, atmosphere from staff was very friendly and relaxed. Paige was our waitress and she did an excellent job-was good fun and very attentive. The food let it down a bit as the potatoes were really oily and just tasted fatty and deep fried!!! Chorizo prawns needed more seasoning, Pork belly was really good! A side salad on the menu would be good! Wine was yummy Altogether though really enjoyed our night and Paige is an asset to the restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Finegan, General Manager at ASHDOWN PARK HOTEL
Responded yesterday
Dear amodwyer, Many thanks for the lovely review. We are getting great feedback on the Tapas on the Terrace and it is a lovely space. I hope that we get a chance to welcome you back again very soon. Thanks for mentioning Paige - she certainly is an asset. Kind regards, Paul Finegan
Read more
Mikemaher1 wrote a review 11 Jun
Dublin, Ireland10 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Very average and a lot of easy details letting it down here. The Room we were given a ground floor room directly by the smoking area out the front. For a hotel that has had a year to prepare for this opening week the room was not in great condition. The TV was fixed to the wall completely crooked, ironing board was broken and iron cable wasnt fitted correctly in wall. The contactor in the room DB was making a loud humming all night which was reported at front desk then again to another staff member. No action was taken on this during our stay. At 02:30 members of a wedding party spent 15 minutes shouting and singing right outside the window. I tried to call front desk but realised the phone had no cable in it. Also, an electric towl heater in the actual shower as well as broken sockets in the lobby makes me think this place hasn't had an electrical periodic inspection in a long time. Could do with bathrobes in the rooms and bottles of water refilled during housekeeping The Bar Although members at the bar were polite, we ordered a bottle of wine the first night and waited over 20 minutes to have a closed bottle put on the table. The second night we ordered two drinks each and waited 20min again each time. Drinks were good and bar was clean aside from that. The Pool Not 4 star could definitely do with a revamp. All a bit rundown, moundly walls at jacuzzi, plastic grates broken. The Restaurant I'll save the best for last. Staff were great and good was good also. Our drinks waiter was very helpful and also brought samples of local drink and told us more about it as we paid. I planned to address these issues at front desk but wasnt asked how the stay was or any questions on checkout. I understand staff can be a bit rusty after lockdown which I'm sure will improve but if a hotel isnt fixed up during this down time I imagine it won't be done any time soon.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Finegan, General Manager at ASHDOWN PARK HOTEL
Responded yesterday
Dear Mikemaher1, Sorry we disappointed you. Your room was not up to par. We have spent an enormous amount of time working on the hotel during lockdown and have two new outdoor dining areas and the restaurant is completely renovated. Much of the project work that we did involved plant and Is not visible but was great to get done. We were not closed but open to essential services. on the ground floor which is where you were staying so those rooms were used all the way through lockdown. We have to say that the the majority of guests have been very complimentary of the hotel on their return and a small few have been very critical and unforgiving. We will do our best to address all your comments and hopefully you will give us a second chance in the future. Kind regards, Paul Finegan
Read more
Niamh wrote a review 10 Jun
5 contributions
+1
When we arrived we had much trouble with the new app , as we were friends of four we ordered separately which means all of your food comes out at different times. Drinks took over half an hour a time to come out every time. Due to bad weather we could not blame staff for been cold however when I asked two staff members were we able to move into the porch or down the alley , they replied theu are new, so I asked could you ask somebody and they never came back. Food did not come out hot. The worst was I asked for an espresso martini, it took forever to come out and when it did. It came out like this. I told the waitress that this not how it should look or taste like and infact tasted dreadful. She asked could she replace it with anything and I said a strawberry daiquiri🙃. She was happy to replace it and took the drink away and replaced it, or so I thought until I got the bill. I was charged 12.50 for a cocktail I was unable to even drink, note I am not Picky but I could not even stomach it and the look of it even turned me off. When I said it to the man he told me worked in the industry for 30 years , and there was nothing wrong with it. He said I did not know my stuff / I have also worked in the industry for 9 years , so yes although your ingredients may vary . This is not what an espresso martini is. He said to me that it is my problem I do not Like the ingredients that is how they make it here and that as ingredients were used I have to pay no matter what, and left the bill back down on the table. The way he spoke to me was extremely rude, arrogant and possibly because we were three young girls he didn’t feel the need to talk to me with respect or apologetic at all. He noted he would talk to that staff member who took the drink but had told her i would be charged for it so I also don’t understand why she did not come back to me and tell me this herself ? After all of this I still ordered another strawberry daiquiri as my two friends had just ordered theirs. He said certainly but I’m bringing the bill down, which he did however no cocktail was made and after another twenty minutes I had to ask a staff member who went in and made it but told me no body was told to make it ? This was not done on the app, as we had to much trouble with it. As this is the bar manager speaking to me like this, there really isn’t anyone else I could talk to about this matter and the general manager did not come down after I had asked to speak to him. I understand this was the first day back, things were going to be stressful but nobody should be talked down to like that and then for the craic I ordered another espresso martini of another guy to see what it would be like and it was perfect, looked good filled to the top and tasted good. Staff really need to be trained properly, showed exactly where everything is and how it’s done . Team meeting before work etc , very simple questions people weren’t able to answer / did not know the menu or drinks etc . An hour of training could go a long way of standards which is very important especially if their new staff. Ps food was actually lovely / just a little cold as it may have been sitting their for a few minutes.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Finegan, General Manager at ASHDOWN PARK HOTEL
Responded yesterday
Dear niamh19999, The first I knew of your complaint was on tripadvisor. Rudeness is unacceptable in any circumstance, from either the server or the guest, and if anyone on my team was rude to you I am most sincerely sorry. I am very proud of my team. some very young, others older, more experienced and totally stressed to have to come back to such a busy operation with brand new staff and no live situation in which to train them until the day you booked - FIRST DAY1 I would be happy to try to make amends - you can reach me on pfinegan@ashdownparkhotel.com The quote below is not my post - I copied it, but I feel it hits the nail on the head in the context of reopening. Kind regards, Paul Finegan, General Manager. If you're going out for dinner or drinks or staying in a hotel remember that your servers probably haven’t done this job in over 8/12 months, or are completely new to the trade. In that time they may have lost family members, struggled with mental health issues, loneliness and financial problems. They may have also decided to take a job and come off of PUP payments. Be patient with them and just enjoy the fact you can sit and enjoy drinks and food in the company of others... 👏💕🍻🍳🥓🍷🍺🍸🎉🥙🍝🥣🍤🍔🥤🥃
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$106 - US$200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ashdown park gorey
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Ashdown Park Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty WexfordGorey
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about ASHDOWN PARK HOTEL
Which popular attractions are close to ASHDOWN PARK HOTEL?
Nearby attractions include Katie Daly's Bar and Restaurant (0.7 km), The Gaslamp Gallery (0.4 km), and Zozimus Bookshop (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at ASHDOWN PARK HOTEL?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at ASHDOWN PARK HOTEL?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at ASHDOWN PARK HOTEL?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to ASHDOWN PARK HOTEL?
Conveniently located restaurants include One Hundred Degrees Restaurant & Wine Bar, Eco, and Katie Dalys.
Are there opportunities to exercise at ASHDOWN PARK HOTEL?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is ASHDOWN PARK HOTEL located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Gorey.
Are any cleaning services offered at ASHDOWN PARK HOTEL?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does ASHDOWN PARK HOTEL offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at ASHDOWN PARK HOTEL?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Portuguese.
Is ASHDOWN PARK HOTEL accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.