We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Killeshin Hotel

Save
Share
Dublin Road, Portlaoise Ireland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (126)
Room & Suite (40)
Dining (18)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 07/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Killeshin Hotel
Updated 07/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 4 hotels in Portlaoise
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Four Star Killeshin Hotel is a contemporary hotel with roots in the past. We have 87 well appointed bedrooms with a crisp contemporary decor. Superb bar food is served daily from 12.30pm in our Cedar Bar and breakfast is served daily in the Cedar Bistro. Offering full leisure facilities, complimentary secure underground car parking and wifi. The Killeshin Hotel - Where award winning service matters
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English
959Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 421
  • 288
  • 134
  • 65
  • 51
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Nicholas M wrote a review 4 Apr
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Stayed for two nights , first night I checked in quite late , the night Porter seems like a nice guy , I was expecting the rooms to be fabulous , I was surprised by how grotty it was , carpets had caked in filth, there was cobwebs on the ceiling and walls , dust on the lamps and other fixtures the only time I seen house keeping is when they walked In on me sleeping and then sitting chatting In the next room when I was checking out. I understand what's going on in the world but I wasn't even there for atleast 8 hours of each day. Receptionist didn't even try to acknowledge me when I was In and out during the evening times just sat there wishing she was somewhere else , fair enough I'd rather not be in work either but it just came across as unfriendly, I don't expect to be treated like royalty for 77 euro a night but a hello will do. All in all it wasn't a pleasant place to be
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Barry Kennedy, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear nicholasmG7746JQ, Thank for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at The Killeshin Hotel. I was sorry to read that you did not enjoyed your stay with us and we will discuss your feedback internally with the team here. I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Killeshin Hotel again very soon. Best Regards, Barry Kennedy General Manager
Read more
Cynthia K wrote a review Mar 2021
3 contributions2 helpful votes
From booking with Marta to arriving, my stay at the Killeshin was excellent. The staff who were on duty were amazing. They were friendly accommodating, obliging, professional and nothing was too much trouble. The chef is great! Both the evening chef & breakfast chef! The room was really lovely, spacious with nice decor. I would highly recommend a stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Barry Kennedy, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear cynthiakH1867FF, Thank for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at The Killeshin Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I know the chef will especially be pleased with your positive comments. I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Killeshin Hotel again very soon. Best Regards, Barry Kennedy General Manager
Read more
Vincent B wrote a review Dec 2020
Swords, Ireland5 contributions2 helpful votes
We had a fantastic time in the Killeshin from start to finish. The staff were amazing, from Abdul in the bar, to Elaine in the restaurant. The food is exceptional and especially on Xmas day. It was so well organised. All of the staff were very attentive. We will definitely be back, with our dog of course.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Ciaran Brazil, Sales at The Killeshin Hotel
Responded 30 Dec 2020
Dear Vincent, Thank you for your wonderful review I know you had to make last minute changes to come to us but we are delighted that your stay at The Killeshin was worthwhile and that you had such a wonderful Christmas. I will be sure to pass your kind comments to the team especially the team members mentioned. We look forward to welcoming you back in the New Year and of course with Winnie and Bailey too. Kind regards and best wishes for 2021! Ciaran
Read more
Adventure595450 wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
I visited with my family on 24th of Dec till 26th ,we paid more than 350€ for the suit and we didn't enjoy it The only thing really worth it was the pool Breakfast was OK,not much or a choice if you are vegetarian and worst if vegan! The room wasn't cleaned properly, my 4 year old found rubbish by the bedside on the floor,the duvet had hair on it and the bathroom sink flooded the floor leaking under the ceramic from a tiny hole! We got room service on the first night for our 4 year old ,we got the food and 0 cutlery for the pasta! Thankfully I had brought from home our own so my child didn't need to wait any longer to eat as order delayed a little I called for a lunch room service once again next day ,on the 25th (bare in mind, in town everything was closed all day) and I was told 0 food is being made up till 17.30! No announcement to us,0 information on this upon our arrival or in their brochure in our room for these changes they had(as brochure and website was saying available room service from 12.30 till 21.30!) As if thats not enough on our day of checkout we used the pool after breakfast and when we went back to our room at 11.15, and we were locked out!neither of our key cards worked ,thankfully housekeeping lady opened for us so we could go change and get ready to leave and checkout on at 12 It was overall an unpleasant couple of days I must say, I am not going back
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Ciaran Brazil, Sales at The Killeshin Hotel
Responded 30 Dec 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. With regard to breakfast we generally receive very positive feedback and whilst it is more challenging to offer the options we had pre covid we are working to give the best offering possible to our guests whilst remaining safe. I will raise the cleanliness issues with our housekeeping team to review. Regarding Christmas day, we had contacted all guests in advance of their arrival to advise we would only have food available from 5.30pm, I apologise if we did not reach you. Christmas lunch is a very demanding service so in order for us to provide that level of service, we are unable to offer other options at this time. Key cards are electronic, if they brush off keys or other cards they can decode. This does happen from time to time. I am sorry you won't be returning to us and wish you and your family a happy and healthy 2021. Kind regards, Ciaran Brazil Sales & Marketing Manager
Read more
linda p wrote a review Dec 2020
Dublin, Ireland1 contribution
This hotel was not very clean at all, carpets on landings, stairs are very dirty. We arrived Xmas eve, went to the bar for food, order fish and chips for a child and a salad, child got the fish and chips and no sign of the salad 40 mins later. Asked for room service on Xmas day and was told no I was only looking for a sandwich as the the bar did not open until 5 and no where else open as it was Xmas day. I thought as a paying guest I could at least get a sandwich for my daughter. I won't be coming back here again
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Ciaran Brazil, Sales at The Killeshin Hotel
Responded 30 Dec 2020
Dear Linda, Thank you for your review. I am sorry you experienced some issues regarding service and cleanliness during your stay. I personally remember you as I checked you in and when you were unhappy with the room, I upgraded you to an Executive Twin with our compliments. I apologise for the service issues at dinner. On Christmas day, our lunch service is very demanding so we are unable to provide room service, we did reach out to all guests in advance but I am sorry if for some reason we did not reach you. I am so sorry you won't be returning to us but I wish you and your daughter a happy and healthy 2021. Kind regards, Ciaran Brazil Sales & Marketing Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$64 - US$149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
killeshin hotel portlaoise
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty LaoisPortlaoise
NUMBER OF ROOMS
88
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Killeshin Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Killeshin Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Rock of Dunamase (4.3 km), Nook & Cranny (1.9 km), and Kavanaghs Bar & Venue (1.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Killeshin Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Killeshin Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Killeshin Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Killeshin Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mayur Indian Restaurant, Indian Prince Restaurant, and Kelly’s Steakhouse.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Killeshin Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Killeshin Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Killeshin Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Killeshin Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Emo Court (9.0 km), Oakvale Monastery (9.5 km), and St Brigid's (13.9 km).
Is The Killeshin Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.