We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Portlaoise Heritage Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

983 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 974: English reviews
Waterford, Ireland
Reviewed 24 November 2014

Stayed here on business in June,very nice leisure centre with fab pool wich was quiet for my swim.Rooms spacious and clean,staff very courtieous,I had dinner in the bar which was buzzing with a world cup match ,food was ok.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patw99
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay in the hotel. I am glad you were happy with the facilities that we have to offer. Customer service is vitally important and I am delighted with your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel. Kind regards, Gemma Jordan General...

Reviewed 21 November 2014 via mobile

Went there for the second time. We were on our way to dublin to fly out to lanzarote for our honeymoon. They were brilliant. They upgraded us to a suite. Complimentary bottle of wine. Management and staff were lovely they couldn't do enough for us. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. Great place beautiful food 5 stars all round.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank g o
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Congratulations on your recent wedding. Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and it will give me great happiness to pass on your reviews to the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel in the future. Thank you once...

Reviewed 16 November 2014

The food was awful, tasteless and uncooked while other parts of meal were over cooked, service was disjointed and ended up with half of our order missing each time, both in the restaurant and lounge so it's obviously a management and training issue and not just a bad day, the public toilets were an embarrassment to the hospitality industry, one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Familycuig
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very disappointed to read your comments in regards to your meal. I will pass your comments on to our kitchen team. I appreciate your comments in regards to the public toilets. We had a large function that took place over the October bank holiday weekend who...

Reviewed 11 November 2014

This hotel is like Faulty Towers, in need on a complete makeover. It really does not deserve 4 stars! The leisure facilities were totally stinking filthy. The rooms were cramped threadbare carpets no air con tiny bathroom very dated. Overheated. We had a meal in Spago's it was also very rough I was handed a disgusting sticky dirty menu. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glenn W
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am disappointed with your comments and for our hotel to be classed in such a manner and for this I truly apologise. I have recently just returned from maternity leave and I can assure you that staffing levels have been looked at. As you will have read...

County Cavan, Ireland
Reviewed 5 November 2014

horrible hotel...dark,dull and depressing ! room was awful ...old television in room...room cold ...restaurant freezing !!! you dont book in to a four star hotel and expect to freeze while dining ...3 ladies beside us ate with coats and scarves on !!!!!!!!!!!!! leisure centre so dark and dreary ... whole hotel needs a good overhaul ....the place was like faulty...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank sean o
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay. I was sorry to hear you found the hotel below standard. We are at present carrying out light refurbishments to many areas of the hotel and I am delighted to report we are making good progress. I am sorry to hear that you found the...

Reviewed 28 October 2014

Myself and my mum and two children booked to stay the Oct bank hol Monday. We were looking for somewhere not too far, with a pool and reasonably priced so was happy enough to book the Heritage. My first mistake was not checking reviews, I saw it was four star and though sure it must be grand. Well let me...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karmkel
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your feedback after your stay with us last week. I was very sorry to hear of the aspects of your stay which you found unsatisfactory. My sincere apologies for that and I would like to assure you it is not the standard we strive to achieve at the hotel. We did have some unusual circumstances on...

Ireland
Reviewed 26 October 2014

Small dinner portions at Dublin prices, disjointed service, okay food, chased twice for missing meals, one being a simple bowl of ice cream for a child which cost five euro. Drinks served in plastic cups with no ice. Staff pleasent enough. Four star rating is laughable!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ResortJunkie
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, It was good of you to post your review following your visit to us. I was naturally very concerned to hear of the standards of service you found unsatisfactory. My sincere apologies for that. We did have a very large, festival like, event at the hotel over that weekend. Because of the large numbers attending, our standards were temporarily...

Sligo
Reviewed 21 October 2014

I was in Portlaoise for work solely. I chose the Heritage as it had been several years since I stayed there before and I had fond memories of this hotel which back then was new and glitzy. The lobby is impressive and the location to the main part of town was advantageous. I was here for 3 nights. The wifi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IrishPurple
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback after your stay with us. I was delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and it was good of you to give us your kind comments which I have passed on to our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next...

Fort Collins, CO
Reviewed 21 October 2014

I would not have stayed here if I knew what it was like before I arrived. The condition of the hotel is appalling, and desperately in need of attention. No way it's 4 stars! I had to ask for three different rooms upon check in before they finally gave me one that was acceptable. The rooms look completely uncared for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lapsaroundtheglobe
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay. I was sorry to hear you found the hotel disappointing. We are at present carrying out a substantial amount of restoration work to many areas of the hotel including the bedrooms and we are making good progress. I do hope you might consider visiting us again...

Wicklow, Ireland
Reviewed 19 October 2014

We had a splendid stay at the Heritage last weekend, my wife and I and 2 other couples. Hotel rooms were very large and spotless clean.Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner was exceptional value and very good quality food. Location right in the heart of Portlaoise was great for the women to shop while the men...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

HI Tony It was good of you to give us your feedback after your weekend with us. I was delighted to hear that you found the hotel facilities food and staff satisfactory and also that the location was good for a weekend away. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. In the meantime thank you again...

160 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (79)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (81)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
2.1 km away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
624 reviews
2.3 km away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
659 reviews
14.9 km away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
O'Loughlins Hotel
O'Loughlins Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
172 reviews
15.0 km away
Roundwood House
Roundwood House
#1 of 1 in Mountrath
199 reviews
14.7 km away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Designed to reflect style, planned with meticulous care to deliver service excellence, The Portlaoise Heritage Hotel has earned itself the reputation of being the most sought after hotel in Ireland. Nestled in the heart of Portlaoise Town, this sophisticated urban setting is perfect for business or pleasure. Its striking entrance creates an impressive sense of space and classic modern elegance. Our 110 deluxe bedrooms, incorporating executive rooms & suites offer splendour of classic design with modern elegance and includes the latest in wireless internet technology complimentary. You will be spoiled for choice with our unique choice of Restaurants and Bars. Our White Flag Award Winning Health & Leisure Club also features Radiance Day Spa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Portlaoise Heritage Hotel

Address: Jessop Street, Portlaoise, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Price Range: €62 - €144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portlaoise Heritage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Portlaoise Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Portlaoise
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Portlaoise Heritage Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Todmorden
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Portlaoise Heritage Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid before summer 2017”
 of 5 bubbles Akgxx, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with some aspect or to the front.”
 of 5 bubbles Anne123Ireland, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“try and get an offer it is expensive,top floor would have less noise but we slept great”
 of 5 bubbles N7061UOanneg, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Recently Refurbished and very central”
 of 5 bubbles KenICC, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Double check that your room is wheelchair accessible if needs be (Room 106)”
 of 5 bubbles Leo27_13, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5