Glamping Under The Stars
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Glamping Under The Stars

Traveller (158)
Exterior shot of our Garden House - a hobbit house with en suite bathroom, private garden, picnic bench & chimnea stove for toasting marshmallows. Self-catering accommodation. Communal (shared kitchen, BBQ & campfire facilities).
Room & Suite (17)
View of the right hand side lodges from the kitchen entrance, Mountain Glampsite.
Dining (3)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

5.0
#1 of 1 campsite in Portlaoise
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
We now have two gorgeous glampsites on offer at our stunning location. Our 'Mountain Under The Stars' glampsite is a super quirky, super luxurious hobbit village, with six 'hobbit house' style self-catering accommodations built into the earth and covered in wildflowers. Each one has it's own unique themed decor, and can sleep a family of up to six (in one double, 2 singles, and 2 kids beds). Three are en suite, while the other three have private bathrooms that are separate from, but close to the accommodation. Each room has a private garden area, with a picnic bench and chimnea (outdoor stove) for toasting marshmallows. There is also a large communal kitchen/dining/chill out area, glass covered veranda/BBQ area, communal campfire area, lawn and wildflower meadow. The Mountain site is Age Friendly and Wheelchair accessible. Our 'Meadow Under The Stars' glampsite offers classic glamping - with six quirky & comfortable self-catering glamping accommodations, including: bell tents, wood lodges and a shepherd’s hut. Each one has a private bathroom that is close to, but separate from the accommodation. Furnished with proper beds, all bed linen is provided, and all units have electric lamps inside. Facilities include ‘The Glamp House’ kitchen & dining cabin, BBQ deck, campfire area, lawn area and wildflower meadow with wiggly paths mown through. There is also a kid’s playhouse and fairyhouse on the Meadow glampsite. Both glampsites are extremely Family Friendly. We do accept hen party bookings, but adult groups MUST book out a whole glampsite, so as not to disturb our family guests.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Hiking
BBQ facilities
Outdoor fireplace
Room features
Kitchenette
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles90 reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Nestled in a prime location, Glamping Under The Stars is celebrated by guests for providing a charming backdrop to a variety of events and activities. The hotel's quirky atmosphere and unique decoration, alongside spotless rooms and well-equipped communal areas, have earned it high marks for cleanliness and comfort. Reviewers consistently praise the responsive service and modern amenities, which, along with the stylish decor and scenic views, contribute to the property's exceptional value.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Charming
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Excellent
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Well-appointed

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
90Reviews0Q+A16Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 87
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Cindy P wrote a review Oct 2021
Dublin, Ireland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a 2 day mini break during the midterm. Even though it was a bit rainy there was loads to do, we visited castleview farm where there was pumpkin carving, a maze, mini golf, go karts, a haunted house and carrots to feed goats and donkeys, the kids loved it. We ordered pizza to the campsite one night and cooked in the very well equiped communal kitchen the next night. Our hobbit hole had the luxury of its own bathroom complete with power shower, loo and sink (very clean) but some houses had a short walk to their private bathroom.
It also had heating, lights and plenty of sockets for charging phones, tablets and kids games for the drive home.
The campfire is just off to side so no smoke is near houses, the kids had a great time making smores (we used giant marshmallows and chocolate digestives - delicious!!)
Cant wait to go back in the summer months.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Blaithin wrote a review Jun 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A hidden gem! We stayed at Glamping Under the Stars for a Hen Party. We stayed in the 'Meadow' glampsite which has a mix of bell tents and wooden lodges. Each bell tent has a heater, lots of blankets and hot water bottles too. The wooden lodges all come with a stove. It was as comfortable as any hotel! There is a communal kitchen which was brilliant- so even if it rains, there is plenty of space in there for all your guests!
Kyra was a brilliant host and was extremely helpful without intruding.
We made flower crowns with Niav for our activity and she was a lady. She was so well organised that even the least artistic person could make a beautiful headpiece and they were ours to keep! We got catering on site from Sylvester and both the service and food was top notch, followed by 'The Guy with the Guitar' and we couldn't recommend him enough! He was great fun and created a lovely atmosphere. Everyone really enjoyed listening to a few tunes by the campfire!!
You don't need to leave the campsite at all as the facilities are brilliant and Kyra has a great list of recommendations which made the planning element hassle free!
Will definitely be back. It would be lovely for a family break too as lots for kids to do.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kyra Fingleton, Owner at Glamping Under The Stars
Responded 25 Jun 2022
Blaithin, thank you so much for this review of our Meadow glampsite. Sounds like you guys had a great hen party, and I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed all the activities too. You were such a lovely group - it was an absolute pleasure to have you here. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kyra
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Sonia D wrote a review Sept 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay was perfection from start to finish.
The site was easy to locate , and the contactless check in was seemless.
We stayed in sunset lodge which was just adorable and had enough space for the 4 of us. Kyra provided us with all the information we needed to have the most enjoyable night.
We had our own dedicated toilet/ shower . A gas bbq and chiminea with logs provided.
Also the decor in the communal area is just so nice. Social Distancing is easy to stick by and everything is spotless
Would highly recommend and will definitely return
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Definitly sit by the camp fire in the evening.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Natalia L wrote a review Sept 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My family of which 3 kids booked Blue Bell tent for this weekend. We arrived yesterday afternoon, everything was fine until we decided to go to bed at aroubd 10pm. The place was freezing, Kyra the owner had a small radiator ( very small for the size of the accomodation - 1 double bed and 4 single ones). We asked her for additional covers and a heater. She did bring more covers, but said she cant provide an additional heater due to electricity power supply. We woke up at 2:30 freezing ( barely sleeping) absolutely freezing. Myself and my dauther were sleeping with our night gowns with the hoods on, my son with his jacket and hood on etc. At this stage we decided it will not be possible to mamange to stay through the night and wait fir the morning, so we quickly packed and left at 2:30am in the middle of the night to drive over an hour to Dublin. It was 11degrees out and similar in the glamping accomodation/tent. When we called this morning to request refund we have been told by Tyra that there will be no refund and as we live in Ireland we should know what the weather is like?! The health and safety of my kids and family is my main concern, i booked a glamping experience Under the stats and ended up freezing under the stars - putting my family heath at risk was too much deal with. What a nightmare.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kyra Fingleton, Owner at Glamping Under The Stars
Responded 6 Sept 2020
I’m so sorry that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. As discussed, unfortunately, we cannot provide a refund on this occasion. The accommodation (our 6 person Blue Sky bell tent), was provided in good faith, as described on our website. We provide an electric heater for each bell tent, but, as explained, we could not provide a second heater for you, as our glamping accommodation runs on low voltage electricity, and to plug in an additional heater would have tripped the switch. As you mention in your review, we did come out to you at 10pm to provide extra duvets and blankets as requested, and did our best to make you & your family more comfortable. As the temperature last night was 12 degrees outside, (mild for the time of year), we did not feel this was a risk to health. Some families enjoy the adventure of camping under canvas, but for those who prefer greater creature comforts, we offer a range of accommodations – including cosy wood lodges and a shepherd’s hut – all of which offer a fully insulated wooden structure, and wood burning stove. These are available to book at the same price as the large bell tent, so it’s really a matter of personal preference as to which option you book. I would add that the two other sets of guests who stayed in our bell tents on the same night – one a returning guest – all enjoyed their stay and had no complaints. All the best, Kyra
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RoisinC wrote a review Nov 2022
Kilkenny, Ireland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 2 nights in August 2022 in the Moonrise Lodge (Meadow under the Stars). It was perfect size for 2 adults and 2 kids (aged 3). The kitchen facilities were fantastic, everything you would need to cook/clean etc, spotless clean, full of equipment, just bring your own food. Plenty of storage. Logs provided for the fire in your lodge/yurt. Comfy beds. Your own private bathroom/shower was only a little walk via the meadow. Best thing about here is the kids can run around & you don't have to worry about cars etc. They have so much freedom to just explore. We had toasted marshmallows by the fire in the evening. This is a glampsite that you go to if you want to make memories to last a lifetime. My boys loved it so much, they cried leaving. They still talk about the "Wooden House" months later. We have booked again for 2023. Its no wonder this place is winning awards, they deserve it all and more!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Bring marshmallows and food for a BBQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kyra Fingleton, Owner at Glamping Under The Stars
Responded 18 Apr 2023
Thank you so much for leaving this review (and my apologies that I've only just spotted it now!). Sorry to hear that the boys were crying when they left! But I'm glad it was only because they wanted to stay a bit longer! Look forward to seeing you all again soon. Kyra
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Trace B wrote a review Nov 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had such a fun and exciting stay here over the midterm, 2 adults 4 kids (age 2,4,6 and 8!) Weather went completely against our plans for getting out and about the first day but the location and amenities on site were just so super that we still had an amazing time relaxing in the common area playing games together. The kids were so excited and loved everything about our Garden room, we will def be back over the spring/ summer season again. Our host Kyra was so lovely and all info given lived up to her recommendations. I really loved how eco friendly this stay was too, our hosts make such an effort with recycling etc made both us and our kids more conscious about the environment. The workmanship that has gone in to the site is just beautiful and a credit to all involved!
Can't wait to go back!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kyra Fingleton, Owner at Glamping Under The Stars
Responded 8 Nov 2022
Hi Tracey, Thank you so much for this lovely review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay in spite of the desperate weather on the first day! We look forward to welcoming you back soon (hopefully when the sun is shining!!!). Kyra
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
L W wrote a review Jul 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in a little Hobbit House (Stargazer). It was perfect for my husband and I and 3 kids (aged 8, 6 and 2). The house is very roomy and comfortable and has an en suite. There is a double bed, 2 single beds and beds slide out from under each single bed. There was a travel cot which our two year old would’ve fit into too but she opted for a pull out bed and had a great sleep both nights. There was even a working disco ball on the ceiling which our kids discovered and them entertained for a while. Everything was clean and well maintained. My husband and I loved the chimnea outside in our own private fenced off garden area. We toasted marshmallows with the kids and made s’mores before sending them off the bed to allow us time to sit outside together as a couple with a glass of wine. The communal area is brilliant. It has a stove and stylish yet comfy sofas and the kitchen is so well equipped and spotless. You can gather there if you want to get chatting to others or if you want to prepare meals. There is a stove, toaster and microwave. You can use the fridge and there are giant plastic boxes for each home where you can store dry foods. There is a communal fire pit too over the quaint little bridge so it is private and entirely up to you whether you want to join in or not. You are under no obligation as it is hidden off the main area. Our children made friends with some of the other guests and we could keep an eye on them playing on the grass from our wee house. This was great as there weren’t many places they could run away to. The whole site was so quiet during our stay which made the whole experience so enjoyable. The little attention to detail from the owners made the stay effortless and showed that love and thought has been put into Glamping Under the Stars. The owners have put together a file which has everything you need to know about your stay but further afield too. We were able to plan our days out according to what was recommended to do in nearby towns and villages. There is even a section in the file recommending places to eat and places that deliver to the site. We opted for Mizzoni pizza delivery and can highly recommend that if pizza is your thing. One thing we would also recommend if going together as a family is to bring camping chairs and fold up table. In the evenings when it was raining this was brilliant as we could opt to stay in the hobbit house and the kids could play board games, colour in and then it doubled up as a dinner table. It isn’t a necessity if you decide not to bring one though due to there being a communal area with tables inside and then the outdoor communal area which is covered also. It was just something we found useful. To summarise, we had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay and would highly recommend for families looking to do something a little bit different. Thank you, Kyra and Barry!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kyra Fingleton, Owner at Glamping Under The Stars
Responded 30 Jul 2023
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review - I'm sure it will be very helpful to others considering a stay with us in the future. Great to hear that the kids had fun & made friends, and that you got some quiet chilled out time in the evenings as well. This is exactly what we had in mind when we set up the glampsite, so it's lovely to hear that it worked well for you. Thanks for all your feedback. Kyra
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Claire M wrote a review Aug 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked the meadow site for a family party and I cannot find a single fault. The facilities were spotless, the glamping kitchen was spacious with pretty much everything you’d need. The owners were incredibly kind, very easy to communicate with during the booking process and while there. The pods themselves are adorable and spacious. Every one of our guests thoroughly enjoyed their stay, especially the kids, and all adults have said they want to make this a yearly thing! The Shepard’s hut was especially popular with the kids to hang out in! We had a variety of ages from 6 months to 70, it truly was the perfect family get away.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kyra Fingleton, Owner at Glamping Under The Stars
Responded 17 Aug 2022
Hi Claire, Great to hear that your family group enjoyed your recent stay in the Meadow glampsite - it does work well when you have the whole place to yourselves & you can let the kids run free! Good choice of hang out for the kids in the Shepherd's Hut too - it's hard to beat a triple decker bunk bed, isn't it? Thank you so much for leaving this review - I'm so delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and of course, you are very welcome back next year if you do decide to make it an annual trip! Kyra
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ursula H wrote a review Aug 2022
Galway, Ireland
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From start to finish we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We stayed in Woodcutters Lodge which was plenty roomy for 4 adults, spotlessly clean & the most comfortable beds we ever slept in. We had our own shower & toilet just 30 seconds from our house. The kitchen, where to begin ...there was just everything here that you would have at home. Hobs, toasters huge fridge & freezer, microwave, pots, frying pans, cups, plates, glasses, food bins along with general & recycling. There was even individual boxes to store peoples own food separately. We had the use of 2 gas weber barbecues & a chiminea to toast marshmallows right outside our door & a lovely bench with seats. The whole place was spotlessly clean. If I had any complaints it would be that perhaps a little curtain on the door to block the morning light & 10am for checkout was a tad too early for us. Other than that. AMAZING PLACE.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kyra Fingleton, Owner at Glamping Under The Stars
Responded 8 Nov 2022
Hi Ursula, Many thanks for leaving a review. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our glampsite facilities. I will take note of your feedback re: the curtain on the Woodcutter's criss-crossed window. Many thanks. Kyra
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michelle B wrote a review Aug 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Amazing place! Never glamped before an so pleasently surprised! We stayed in the blue sky bell tent, with 4 kids under 7, an there was literally a storm that night but all was well kids slept through we used the the hot water bottles provided an with layer of thermals was perfect! Was in a big group an there are more comfortable accom (houses really) with stoves which we were jealous of, but the central spaces such as kitchen which was so well equipped with massive fridge , freezer, kettles, pot pans , glasses, utensils an adorable decor! Hosts were lovely let us do our thing without interfering. There was a bathroom assigned to each accom not far ((50/100) meters away! Would recommend a group booking it out together, feels like your own slice of country side a lovely fire pit to bring u all together for a sing song. If I had to pick a hole I would say the only thing missing was an oven. But it does seem unfair given there is hob an multiple bbqs! Loved it an would go back tomr!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: another pillow Extra thermals Air fryer Ice
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kyra Fingleton, Owner at Glamping Under The Stars
Responded 9 Aug 2023
Hi Michelle! Many thanks for leaving such a detailed review. Very helpful for anyone thinking of staying with us. I'm sorry that you were here during the storm, (the weather really wasn't great for the first night of your stay!), but it sounds like you enjoyed it overall - in spite of a stormy start! Thanks again, Kyra
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Paul C wrote a tip Jun 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring camping chairs, picnic bench is provided but just for additinal comfort."
Read full review
Niamh C wrote a tip Jun 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring bug spray!"
Read full review
Lisa0792 wrote a tip Jun 2024
Cork, Ireland9 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book well in advance!"
Read full review
lenakins wrote a tip Apr 2024
Portlaoise, Ireland1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try not to come over-prepared as quite a few things are provided for you! Specifically in the kitchen!"
Read full review
Ethel P wrote a tip Mar 2024
Carrick-on-Suir, Ireland7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring lots of marshmallows for s’mores ❤️"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Portlaoise area.
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty LaoisPortlaoise
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GLAMPING UNDER THE STARS - UPDATED 2024 Campground Reviews (Portlaoise, Ireland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Glamping Under The Stars
Which popular attractions are close to Glamping Under The Stars?
Nearby attractions include Rock of Dunamase (7.4 km), Nook & Cranny (6.8 km), and Kavanaghs Bar & Venue (6.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Glamping Under The Stars?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, barbeque facilities, and hiking.
What food & drink options are available at Glamping Under The Stars?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Glamping Under The Stars?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Glamping Under The Stars?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mayur Indian Restaurant, Kelly’s Steakhouse, and The Pantry Cafe & Walled Garden.
Are there any historical sites close to Glamping Under The Stars?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Emo Court (15.4 km) and Oakvale Monastery (9.6 km).
All Portlaoise HotelsPortlaoise Hotel DealsHotels near Glamping Under The Stars
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire