We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Killvarra Bed and Breakfast

Killvarra Barrow Lane, Graiguenamanagh, Kilkenny Ireland
avatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (3)
Room & Suite (4)
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#1 of 1 B&B in Graiguenamanagh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We are a family run Bed and Breakfast on a quiet residential road adjacent to the River Barrow in the centre of Graiguenamanagh. We have three bright and spacious rooms and can sleep a total of seven people per night. All bedrooms are En-Suite. Tea/Coffee making facilities in all rooms. TV plus Clock Radio in all rooms. Full Irish or Continental Breakfast. Tourist Information available. All rooms strictly non-smoking.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
64Reviews2Q+A4Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 48
  • 12
  • 1
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Angela Glover wrote a review Sept 2023
4 contributions
We stayed here in august for 3days/nights as was attending our friend’s wedding at the church next door, our room was very accommodating comfy bed and the best shower ever! Bridget our host was amazing, polite friendly and warming. Bridget gave us lots of local knowledge and places to go things to do, we’re to drink and eat, she went above and beyond for us and couldn’t do enough, Bridget made sure our belly’s were full every morning too with no problems, what a lovely lady. ❤️
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
MARYM wrote a review Sept 2022
2 contributions
We stayed here for family gathering that we were attending nearby , On arrival the owner did not greet or mention her name , It was lashing rain outside & we were soaking wet when she opened the door all she was worried about was us standing on a small mat & giving us menus for breakfast , The following morning we went for breakfast which was nice , The owner kept us there talking about her charity work showing us pictures & asking us to donate which we did , we were packing our bags to leave & the owner came up the stairs shouting, , My brother was in his room having a shower & the owner was on landing shouting saying is he having a shower he has to pay extra, Then proceeded to lock him in his room & went downstairs with the keys ,We found this unacceptable & couldn't believe it was happening, My sister demanded that the owner opened the door which she did ,Bit of a scary experience , Never stay at this B& B again & will not recommend it , No one asked us for business cards that was a lie !
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Killvarra Accommodation, Owner at Killvarra Bed and Breakfast
Responded 5 Sept 2022
In replying to this second review it seems to have been wrote by the same person who stayed with us in July last. Yes guests who arrived were asked who was staying in which room, also without interfering them in their rooms we always ask guests what they would like from our freshly cooked breakfast to their suited time in the morning. This became our policy dur to thr previous Covid in 2020. My name was said, they guests were welcomed as guests always are. I did not keep any guest staying over their staying time the following morning as was wrote some people were very interested in the volunteering work we do for an African area. Check out time is clearly stated 11AM not 11.45 Yes the only male guest was showering after 11.30 the younger guests were packing the older guests were waiting to be drove home. No person was locked in their room they have the room key to where they are staying. We have never experienced show a sad review previous reviews are excellent not like this. \Honesty is what is true not such a review which we are smiling at. The person from the moment she arrived was not friendly or impressed with the room she was sharing. If this B&B is so bad we would not be getting guests returning & recommending staying here.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Marie S wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
This was by far the worst B and B I ever stayed in. On arrival Bridget answered the door and told us to step on to the mat. We were soaked to the skin because it was lashing raining. She did not give us the option to settle in. Bridget handed us breakfast menus and asked us to decide then and there what we wanted for breakfast. The place was very dated and the air freshener in the bathroom was overwhelming. The next morning we came down for breakfast which I can’t fault. At breakfast she told us about her charity work for the children in South Africa. She gave us the option to donate which we did. She talked for a long time about this and showed us a lot of photographs. We were late returning to the room because of this. Bridget came up about 10 minutes later and walked into my Mams room and said “ladies are yous right it’s time to go”. She proceeded into my sisters room and said the same. As she was walking by my brothers room she noted he was in the shower. She got really mad. She knocked on the door and asked us who was in there with him. We were all family. Bridget locked my brother into the room and said he is going to pay extra for having a shower. I actually thought this was a joke. It was like she snapped. She went downstairs and was shouting at her husband telling him about my brother. I told her to unlock the door that it was ridiculous to do such a thing. We will never ever stay in this B and B again. It was by far the worst experience I’ve ever had in a B and B
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Killvarra Accommodation, Owner at Killvarra Bed and Breakfast
Responded 7 Aug 2022
This guest perhaps would review the written review. One lady clearly from her arrival time did not look happy she asked me to remove an extra bed in the room she was staying in for the night a moment after entering the room. This bed was put in as requested on the day of their booking. This is the second review of such since running our B&B we received from very unhappy guests but please review our other reviews and compare. We are kindly complimented by our guests who leave very happy and many return plus have recommend to many to stay with us. I cannot name the person who wrote this review but another person with this group said now we know a place to stay I will be back. Also I was asked for some business cards so contact can be made.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Christine E wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
Bridget was a very welcoming and kind host. Bedroom was spacious and comfortable. Beautiful breakfast. We have visited Graiguenamanagh many times over the last few years - a number of lovely places to eat and have a drink. Would definitely recommend staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
UteBloke wrote a review Nov 2019
Sydney, Australia913 contributions148 helpful votes
We stayed one night and were very happy. Bridget was most welcoming and sent us off to the town- 2 minutes walk- for dinner and a pint. The room was enough for us and our 4 bags, a chair and side table for your items. All guest rooms are upstairs up a wooden staircase. The room was warm enough even on a 2 degree night. The bed is a double and for me a bit soft but we slept fine. No real noise to speak of as it is on a side street. Breakfast starts at 8.30 and we were woken with a gentle knock at that time to let us know it was ready. We were asked the previous day what we wanted as a hot breakfast and it was made for us so nice and hot. Bridget likes a chat and she will be able to point out all the attractions around the area, so is well worth letting her know your plans as she knows where the good places are.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Travelg33k wrote a review Oct 2019
Washington DC, District of Columbia4 contributions
Based on my and my parents’ stay, this accommodation should meet or exceed one’s needs or expectations. Cyclists as well as those looking to hike up Brandon Hill or down to St. Mullins should have a good base camp here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Rory M wrote a review Sept 2019
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom5 contributions3 helpful votes
Personal attention (only 3 or 4 bedrooms); comfortable bedroom with small shower-room ensuite; good-quality Irish breakfast. Richard and Bridget are very knowledgeable about the local community and its facilities.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Johnny D wrote a review Jul 2019
Stillorgan, Ireland13 contributions1 helpful vote
Really enjoyed our stay here on a cycling trip - fully met the needs of our 3 man group . I left gear behind and the owner went to great trouble to get it back to me - outstanding . Graige is a wonderful town on the River Barrow with lots to do . We could walk easily to restaurants and pubs ; Our room was very clean and we were able to keep our bikes indoors. I would definitely stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Killvarra, Owner at Killvarra Bed and Breakfast
Responded 6 Jul 2019
Many thanks for your warm review. So glad you all enjoyed your stay with us here plus what Graiguenamanagh town has to offer. Look forward to meeting up with you again in the near future. Warm regards Bridget Killvarra B&B
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lee W wrote a review Jul 2019
1 contribution
A friend got married this summer in nearby Borris and my wife and I stayed at Killvarra B&B for the trip. The B&B and the town of Graiguenamanagh were beautiful, breakfast was delicious (we had a full Irish breakfast with fresh baked bread), and Bridget was very helpful when we were trying to figure out our transportation since it was our first time in Ireland.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Killvarra, Owner at Killvarra Bed and Breakfast
Responded 6 Jul 2019
Thank you both for your lovely review on your stay with us here in Graiguenamanagh recently. So glad you both enjoyed our "Full Irish Breakfast" plus my home made brown bread also finding our B&B beautiful. We both wish to help guests as much as we can with all inquiries & arrange transport as required. Super to share your first holiday break to Ireland. Hope you both will get to return for a longer stay in the near future. Warm regards Bridget Killvarra B&B
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
David K wrote a review Jun 2019
Dublin, Ireland2 contributions
I stayed in Killvarra last weekend. I had to move around arrangements a few times over the days prior to arrival and it caused no problems. The landlady was very helpful in pointing out good places to eat and drink in the village and it really capped off a great weekend. The B&B is one minutes walk from the main street of the village and is a great place to base yourself in exploring a lovely part of Ireland.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Graiguenamanagh area.
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty KilkennyKilkennyGraiguenamanagh
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KILLVARRA BED AND BREAKFAST - UPDATED 2023 B&B Reviews & Price Comparison (Graiguenamanagh, Ireland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Killvarra Bed and Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to Killvarra Bed and Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include Duiske Abbey (0.3 km), Cushendale Woollen Mills (0.3 km), and Mick Doyle's (0.3 km).
Is parking available at Killvarra Bed and Breakfast?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Killvarra Bed and Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include Clashganny House Restaurant Borris Co Carlow, Mullichain Cafe, and Step House Restaurant.
Is Killvarra Bed and Breakfast located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Graiguenamanagh.
Are there any historical sites close to Killvarra Bed and Breakfast?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Duiske Abbey (0.3 km).