Hawthorn B&B
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hawthorn B&B

Gallowshill Kilcullen Rd.,, Athy R14 VX27 Ireland

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#5 of 6 B&Bs in Athy
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Family run bed and breakfast just 1km outside of Athy town on Dublin road. Only 2 minutes walk to Clanard Court Hotel. Ideal location for touring Wicklow mountains, Japanese Gardens, Curragh Racecourse and only 35 minutes to Kilkenny city. All rooms en-suite and private car park. Wifi access.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
36Reviews2Q+A3Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 23
  • 8
  • 2
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
E14 wrote a review Jun 2022
Oxford, United Kingdom7 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 2 nights at the Hawthorn B&B to attend a wedding nearby. On arrival Deirdre made sure to welcome us and make sure we had tea, water and biscuits. She helpfully provided us with an iron, ironing board and hairdryers aswell. The room was clean, comfortable and some shampoo/ conditioner was available which was a pleasant surprise. We had an Irish breakfast with plenty of warm toast, orange juice and coffee which was delicious. Very good value for money and we found John and Deirdre so friendly and kind.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RosyDoodle wrote a review Oct 2018
County Leitrim, Ireland20 contributions50 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Our family booked a twin and a double room for Sat 22nd as we were attending a wedding in nearby Clanard Court hotel.....Deirdre kindly allowed my daughter who had a wardrobe malfunction access to her room before normal check in time....We were greeted by Deirdre who showed us to our rooms ( at rear of house with a view of huge lawn ......A quiet room looked promising for a good nights sleep later....All our requirements were met in very comfortable warm room and ensuite.....we were told to feel free to make tea for ourselves in the breakfast room anytime....We did enjoy a good nights sleep and had requested a 9,a.m breakfast.....There was a good selection of cereals,fruit,yoghurts and hot food .....Deirdre was very attentive while not being intrusive...all floors were wooden obviously for practical purposes but could be quite noisy if guests are arriving back at different times. I definitly would recommend using this accommodation but do request a room at the rear of house.....
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from hawthornbnbathy, Owner at Hawthorn B&B
Responded 3 Dec 2019
Thank you for your lovely review and delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do try to make our guest feel welcome in our home and try to accommodate their wishes. Once again, thank you and hope to see you again. Regards John & Deirdre
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rachael P wrote a review Feb 2012
Nottingham1 contribution2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Three of us stayed at the Hawthorne B&B for 2 nights while attending a function at the Clanard Court Hotel which is just next door. Diedre & John were very welcoming and friendly, and couldn't do enough for us. The rooms were very clean. Breakfast was excellent. We were able to come and go as we pleased, and make tea/coffee whenever we wanted. We would definately stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TomMonaghan_8 wrote a review Nov 2018
Greystones, Ireland126 contributions250 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I were attending a wedding reception at the local hotel and the wedding ceremony was some miles away so we decided to stay at Hawthorn. We telephoned to ask if we could change at the Hawthorn on the way at about 10.30 am. We were delighted to be told we could but to ring a few minutes before we arrived. On the day because of road works and other hazards we did not arrive until shortly before noon. Because it was a stressful journey we forgot to telephone. When we arrived the lady of the house berated me for not doing so as she said she needlessly got up for my expected arrival time of 10.30 am (as far as I am concerned long after anyone’s rising time!). She also told my wife that she had now turned off the heat and when we mentioned where we were going for the ceremony and if she knew the best way to get there the response was not helpful. Ireland is synonymous with warm welcomes but as far as we are concerned this was the exact opposite.
The double room was tiny and really cold with a really small cold bathroom with very bad light , a window that eventually I managed to close (with little difference to the temperature), no shelf for toiletries make up and such and one glass(why?), towels that were so very hard and with a very unpleasant fragrance. The carpet was in need of a good clean. No long mirror for dressing as such.
On arrival back at approximately 2.30 am the hall and all the area approaching our room was pleasantly warm. However our room was really cold and the bathroom even more so. The beds were comfortable but because of the cold we did not get to sleep for some time. The front of the room at the windows were particularly cold
Breakfast was adequate but basic with a tiny variety of cereals and a rather strange orange juice and some fruit. A gentleman asked us if we wanted “the full Irish” which we did and were offered beans also which we declined. Tea for 2 was a small pot with one teabag (what an economy!). To be fair we were asked if we wanted anything else but at that stage all we wanted was to get out as quickly as possible. We paid our bill of a whopping 90 Euros for undoubtedly the worst accommodation experience of our reasonably long lives.
Cead Mile Failte.....I think not.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from hawthornbnbathy, Owner at Hawthorn B&B
Responded 21 Dec 2018
Thank you for taking the time to give your review again, and am disappointed you did not enjoy your stay with us. I can appreciate that you were delayed in arriving with us, but our check in policy is 2.00pm and I had generously allowed a 10.30am check in and had heating on etc. As you did not arrive until 12.30 and no phone call (I tried phoning you, but no reply) I assumed you were not coming. Most guests call to say they are delayed and arrange an alternative time. All our bedrooms are a standard size (11x12) and your en-suite was quite large (12x4) which we had newly decorated. As for lighting in the bathroom, there is an overhead light and a light over the mirror. Unfortunately, there is no shelf in that room and we will rectify that. In relation to your comments about bedroom being cold, I cannot understand. Financially, we could not leave heating on all day with rooms empty, so the heating comes on before guests arrive and set to come on from about 11.30pm until 2.30am. The majority of our guests complement us on our breakfast as you can see from previous comments. We offer ground coffee and tea for two comes in a smaller teapot and can be replenished, as some guests find tea gets too strong if left for a while. We charge 80 euro for a double room when booking direct with us, but you had booked through Booking.com and as they charge a commission of 15%, we add on an extra 10 euro cover some of that cost. We do try our best to make our guests stay as enjoyable as possible, but unfortunately this was not one of them. I
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Denise M wrote a review Mar 2014
Dublin, Ireland1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Our booking was 29th March 2014 we got a nice warm welcome until the next morning when my husband went to get us coffee as we missed breakfast that morning the time was 11:30 the owner came into the dinning area and asked what he was doing? said no you can't make coffee you need to leave right now she was very abrupt we're a well traveled couple and never received treatment like this before we shouldn't need to ask can we make coffee this service should be available in our room, disgraceful treatment
Read more
Date of stay: March 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from hawthornbnbathy, Owner at Hawthorn B&B
Responded 2 Apr 2014
Denise, I am sorry you feel let down by my service, but I had explained upon arrival, after I offered tea/coffee and biscuits that check out was 11.30. Last breakfast in our establishment is 10.00 and check out strictly 11.30. Your husband wanted coffee at 11.45 and I explained that breakfast was over and I needed to get to football match to collect my son. In hindsight, I should have offered coffee, but I was worried about leaving my son unattended. I apologise for the bad service and hope that it does not affect your overall opinion of our business. I would love to have you stay again at a reduced rate to make up for any inconvenience caused.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sineadbt wrote a review Aug 2014
Ireland7 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A group of us recently stayed here. We were attending a wedding in the hotel close by. We had a really nice pleasant stay here. The rooms were immaculate. I loved the fluffy towels! Breakfast was very good, with no shortage of anything. The owner couldn’t do enough for us, she even arranged a hair appointment for me for the morning of the wedding. We couldn’t have asked for more. I would definitely return and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend to my friends.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from hawthornbnbathy, Owner at Hawthorn B&B
Responded 7 Aug 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. We really enjoyed having you stay with us and are delighted that everything was to your satisfaction. We try our best to give a high standard of service and are delighted when we get lovely reviews like yours. Hopefully, we will have the pleasure of your company again. Many thanks. John & Deirdre
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lisado wrote a review Apr 2012
Dublin, Ireland9 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for a wedding this week. Located next to the hotel. Rooms were spotless and the breakfast was great. John and Deirdre were very welcoming. Would recommend it to anyone
Read more
Date of stay: April 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Edel W wrote a review Aug 2023
3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for a family wedding this summer very upset that a cooked breakfast is no longer avaliable not highlighted on booking very disappointed relatives who I had recommended this bed and breakfast the water in the shower was cold also.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Deirdre Bride, Owner at Hawthorn B&B
Responded 19 Aug 2023
Thank you for your review, but am perplexed as to why you say you say a cooked breakfast was not available. From memory, I served 6 cooked breakfast to you and your family, and obliged you having extra children in the house next morning while you went to hairdressers with your sister in law. In relation to no hot water, it's another mystery. Plenty of hot was available. Nobody informed me that water was cold, but if it was, I could have rectified. The majority of our guests are very happy with our service as you will see from previous reviews, also our close proximity to The Clanard Court Hotel, so it saddens me that you were not happy with our service,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sonia H wrote a review Jun 2022
Spain1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Wonderful friendly owners...excellent breakfast and gorgeous rooms...owners went above and beyond to make stay comfortable and enjoyable.Collected and took us to train station in Athy which made the journey much more pleasurable
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Briansixtysix wrote a review Dec 2019
Ipswich, United Kingdom19 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed the one night for a family celebration. Close to everything we needed. Accommodation was very clean and comfortable. Ample parking and breakfast was simply fantastic. The proprietors couldn’t do enough for us and made us very welcome would definitely stay again should the need arise. Recommend 100%
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from hawthornbnbathy, Owner at Hawthorn B&B
Responded 3 Dec 2019
Hi Brian, thank you very much for your lovely comments and are delighted that everything was to your satisfaction. Hopefully, we will meet again. Many thanks John and Deirdre
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from hawthornathy
Athy, Ireland7 contributions6 helpful votes
Hi, I have one room left for this night (double). If you wish to phone me on 086-0820123, I can take a booking from you. regards Deirdre
Answer from hawthornathy
Athy, Ireland7 contributions6 helpful votes
Sorry i never answered, but 1st july is gone by an i assumed it was sent in error. If its another date dont hesitate to contact me. regards deirdre
bluegrass20152015 wrote a tip Jul 2015
Donegal Town, Ireland1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Cleanliness, good shower. Great breakfast. Service with a smile"
Read full review
Away2Travel wrote a tip Sept 2013
San Diego, California74 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are equally enjoyable!"
Read full review
Ann B wrote a tip Apr 2013
Stevenston, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Back room was very quiet from road users"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Athy area.
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty KildareAthy
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HAWTHORN B&B - UPDATED 2023 Reviews (Athy, County Kildare) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hawthorn B&B
Which popular attractions are close to Hawthorn B&B?
Nearby attractions include Athy Heritage Centre-Museum (2.0 km), Clancy's Athy (1.9 km), and Moone High Cross (7.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hawthorn B&B?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Hawthorn B&B?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hawthorn B&B?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hawthorn B&B?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Bay Tree Athy, Bailey's Bar & Bistro, and Mani in Pasta.
Are there any historical sites close to Hawthorn B&B?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Oakvale Monastery (12.6 km) and The Irish Pewtermill (9.7 km).
Is Hawthorn B&B accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire