We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Plough Bed & Breakfast

Save
Share
Ventry Village, Ventry Ireland
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
eDreams
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (38)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (3)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#4 of 6 in Ventry
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Finding an ideal family-friendly bed and breakfast in Ventry does not have to be difficult. Welcome to The Plough Bed & Breakfast, a nice option for travellers like you.

The rooms offer a flat screen TV and a seating area, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease.

The Plough Bed & Breakfast features a sun terrace, baggage storage, and newspaper. In addition, as a valued The Plough Bed & Breakfast guest, you can enjoy free breakfast that is available on-site. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking.

During your visit, be sure to check out a popular Ventry lobster restaurant such as The Skipper Bar & Restaurant, which is a short distance from The Plough Bed & Breakfast.

Looking to explore? Then look no further than Penny's Pottery (0.8 mi), which is a popular Ventry attraction – and it is conveniently located within walking distance of the bed and breakfast.

The Plough Bed & Breakfast looks forward to welcoming you on your visit to Ventry.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Golf course
Horseback riding
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Private check-in / check-out
Wifi
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Mini golf
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Seating area
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, French
125Reviews1Q+A15Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 62
  • 26
  • 21
  • 8
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
jenniferbarry1 wrote a review Sep 2020
Cork, Ireland3 contributions
We stayed in the Plough B&B in August 2020. We had originally booked to stay for 3 nights however we extended our stay by 2 extra nights as we enjoyed it so much. Lovely house overlooking the beach and Beatrice was a wonderful host. The breakfast each morning was delicious and also catered for gluten free needs. Our double bedroom had everthing we needed and had lovely views of the sea. We also did a fantastic boat tour with the company Sealife Rib Tours owned by Beatrice and her husband. This was the highlight of our stay and a wonderful end to our trip. We will be back. Jennifer & Hugh.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Ashfak A wrote a review Aug 2020
Western Ireland, Ireland6 contributions9 helpful votes
Excellent service with a real sea fresh air.plent of places to visit and historic view owner very friendly honest and cannot do enough to help the guest. The best B&B I have bseen to in my life better than the uk thief B&B that abuse there guest
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Mark W wrote a review Jan 2020
Sydney, Australia132 contributions90 helpful votes
As per previous reviews the room was small, and an extra blanket was needed at night. But we only paid Euro 100, and the view from the front over the bay was magnificent. Quinns pub in Ventry serves great dinners. Our host offered us a choice of breakfast times, and the room was ready for us when we surfaced in the morning. Great value for money B&B. Tip: arrive in daylight as the property is a little to locate, and to get the sunset views
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
chazzq wrote a review Oct 2019
Maryland362 contributions143 helpful votes
Proprietors helpful but not friendly with us Americans, was more so with English guests. Great view of town and bay. Room is TINY - it was difficult finding places to put all our stuff plus extra silly throw pillows when we went to bed. Also very cold. Bathroom also tiny and poorly supplied - only one bath towel. I do give them credit for good breakfast - porridge, cereal, fruit, juices, water available plus “main” cooked for you.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Linda A wrote a review Sep 2019
Bloomville, Ohio39 contributions31 helpful votes
The Plough had lovely views of the water. Breakfast was good. The bed was just ok. We were immediately disappointed because when asked we had indicated that we would arrive between 2:30 and 3:00 there was no one there and a note on the door said "back at 5." Beatrice acted a bit irritated when we arrived for breakfast promptly at 8am and she wasn't ready. Instead of inviting us in for coffee she sent us to the living room area to wait. My overall assessment is that the place is not very welcoming.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Location
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
jmbourke wrote a review Aug 2019
Dublin, Ireland48 contributions18 helpful votes
We stayed here for 3 nights. A little old fashioned with a small room and very noisy. Food was average. The location was excellent for touring the peninsula. Not a favourite but cycled slea head and walked the blasket islands. Quinn’s pub serves good food.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Beatrice F, Owner at The Plough Bed & Breakfast
Responded 17 Aug 2019
So sorry to hear that this B&B was not up to your standard,you stayed in a sea view room( A Triple room ).We are a small business and in operation t 26 years,You booked through Booking .com so you had full sighting of the room and shower,prior to booking,as there are lots of other B&B in Dingle to choose from,you chose to stay here at the Plough,You did have a out house to put your bikes in overnight and we also catered for your very early arrival unannounced.Food is cooked from fresh every morning as you have such a choice to choose from.Once again sorry the Plough B&B did not meet your standard,you are used of .
Read more
Dave L wrote a review Dec 2018
Dublin, Ireland24 contributions5 helpful votes
Beautifully located bed and breakfast overlooking the bay and five minutes walk from the beach. Room was clean and comfortable with a spectacular view of the bay. We had no trouble getting a taxi in and out to dingle (€12). Ventry is located at the beginning of Sleigh head loop, a dramatic drive around the headland. We would recommend this B&B if you’re looking for somewhere to stay near Dingle.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Cindy S wrote a review Oct 2018
Newnan, Georgia22 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
Very nice room with great sea view, comfy bed, clean, quiet. Host/Owner Beatrice was great - casual and accommodating but also professional and good attention to detail. Excellent breakfasts, made to order - plenty to eat and good tasting. We were a group of 5 and she opened her patio area for us to have a picnic one night. She also made several good suggestions for sights, pubs, music and Dingle Electric Bike tour - all great! Would definitely stay again and highly recommend to friends and family.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Sea view was excellent!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Nick L wrote a review Sep 2018
82 contributions12 helpful votes
We stayed 1 night at the plough sept 19th even though we originally wanted to stay 2 nights. We asked for 2 rooms each with private bathrooms and to be close to each other. Upon arrival, we were disappointed to discover we were on separate floors. The upper level had 2 bedrooms and one large bathroom. Beatrice specifically told us that “she wouldn’t be booking the other upstairs bedroom”. The next morning at breakfast, Beatrice announced that she had booked the other upstairs bedroom to a male guest, but said he wouldn’t be using the upstairs bathroom (she advised he would be using the shared downstairs bathroom)? This arrangement made all of us uncomfortable. Our family was not happy with this accommodation and decided it was best to check out. Our decision made Beatrice very upset and became argumentative. Our combined bill was $170 EUR. We would not stay there again and booked another different accommodation in our 2nd night in Dingle.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
nicolew1674 wrote a review Sep 2018
Milwaukee, Wisconsin51 contributions8 helpful votes
We stayed one night at the Plough and it was perfect for our family of four. We had 2 rooms and the bathroom to ourselves upstairs. It was nice to let our teenagers have some space to themselves for one night on our trip. We loved being elevated and having great views. The beds were comfy and the bathroom was spacious. We took a short walk to Ventry for dinner and then played cards in the sitting room at night. For breakfast there were plenty of options, nice strong coffee, my husband enjoyed the tea. It was not far from Dingle and a great start for our Slea Head Drive before heading to our next destination. Beatrice and her husband were very pleasant to talk to also, I really enjoyed chatting with them.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$95 - US$164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of MunsterCounty KerryDingle PeninsulaVentry
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Plough Bed & Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to The Plough Bed & Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include Dingle Crystal (5.6 km), Slea Head Drive (7.3 km), and Siopa Ceoil An Daingin - Dingle Music Shop (6.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Plough Bed & Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at The Plough Bed & Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at The Plough Bed & Breakfast?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Plough Bed & Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Fish Box / Flannery's Seafood Bar, Kool Scoops of Dingle, and Bean in Dingle.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Plough Bed & Breakfast?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to The Plough Bed & Breakfast?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St James' Church (7.2 km), Kilmalkedar Church (3.5 km), and Irish Famine Cottages (5.0 km).