We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Killeany, Province of Connacht Ireland
Booking.com
eDreams
Priceline
ZenHotels.com
Agoda.com
FindHotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (90)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (3)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Inishmore
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Tigh Fitz is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Inishmore, offering a quaint environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

As your “home away from home,” the guest house rooms offer a flat screen TV, a seating area, and a desk, and getting online is easy, with free wifi available.

Guests have access to newspaper and baggage storage while staying at Tigh Fitz. In addition, Tigh Fitz offers free breakfast, which will help make your Inishmore trip additionally gratifying. And, as an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

For those interested in checking out Teampall Chiarain (2.8 mi) while visiting Inishmore, Tigh Fitz is a short distance away.

During your visit, be sure to check out a popular Inishmore crab restaurant such as Joe Watty's Bar, which is a short distance from Tigh Fitz.

If you’re looking for something to do, Dun Eoghanachta (0.7 mi) is a nice way to spend some time, and it is within walking distance of Tigh Fitz.

Enjoy your stay in Inishmore!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Hiking
Horseback riding
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Fishing
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Desk
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Harbour View
Ocean View
202Reviews3Q+A27Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 150
  • 41
  • 6
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
M_L wrote a review Jul 2022
Ireland47 contributions49 helpful votes
Stayed for two nights with Penny and her crew, could not fault the lovely house. Spotlessly clean in the shared spaced and the room, comfortable room and bed and again immaculately clean. Breakfast was superb. Penny was very nice and gave us a few tips about Island Life. Stunning view from the back of the house over looking the bay. thanks for the warm welcome and hospitality
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jill G wrote a review Apr 2022
2 contributions
Penny was extremely helpful and arranged a tour of the island for us. The room was clean and had a beautiful view of the harbor. I recommend her b&b highly. We loved the island and hope to returnsom day
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Aimee O wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
We stayed for two nights at Penny's fine establishment. Penny greeted us on arrival and made us feel so very welcome. The room was clean and had a stunning view of the sea. The breakfast was delicious, we had the full Irish the first morning and on the second, porridge with seeds and cranberries, as we were catching the early ferry. Penny had lots of suggestions on how to plan our two days on the island, and we really appreciated that. If we travel to Inis Mor again we will definitely stay at Tigh Fitz!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Rosemary wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Great stay, Penny was an incredible host and was very helpful. She organised our pick up and drop off to the ferry. The room was lovely and the breakfast was nice. Overall a fabulous experience. Thank you Rosemary & Louise
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Penny Tigh Fitz, Owner at Tigh Fitz
Responded 20 Mar 2022
Hi Rosemary and Louise. Many thanks for the lovely review. Delighted ye enjoyed your stay and it was a pleasure having you. Would love to see you back again sometime. Penny and staff.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Conor M wrote a review Mar 2022
Birr, Ireland2 contributions
Lovely host! Very Clean. Stayed here for 2 nights. Offered fresh towels on both mornings. No problems checking in or out. Would recommend this place to stay. Overall very pleasant experience in this B&B.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Penny Tigh Fitz, Owner at Tigh Fitz
Responded 20 Mar 2022
Hi Conor. Many thanks for the lovely review. So delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to see you back again sometime.. Penny and staff.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
katrina271 wrote a review Mar 2022
Co Clare12 contributions9 helpful votes
Wonderful B & B. Penny the proprietor is a lady. Treated the children and I like neighbours. I felt safe comfortable and cared for throughout our family short stay 2 days. Breakfast was beautiful the eggs are to die for and no shortage of toast! Would highly recommend and will come back someday. It is clean warm and lovely showers. Noel the local tour guide gentleman is also highly recommended a decent kind man very knowledgeable and good with the kids. Thankyou for a lovely stay Penny and her lovely staff.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Penny Tigh Fitz, Owner at Tigh Fitz
Responded 20 Mar 2022
Hi Katrina. Many thanks for the lovely review. We are delighted your family enjoyed your stay with us at Tigh Fitz and your children were so so mannerly and pleasant.A credit to mum and dad. Will give Noel the credit and praise you gave him no doubt. Hope ye had a pleasant drive home. Would love to see ye back again sometime. Penny and Staff.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richard M wrote a review Mar 2022
8 contributions1 helpful vote
Not a great place to stay. Poor quality rooms, poor location on the island. Poor value just get a proper place without the Angela's Ashes vibe off it that is a decent place to rest and that isn't a kip.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Penny Tigh Fitz, Owner at Tigh Fitz
Responded 17 Mar 2022
Now Richard Mc Nally just because you had to pay for a twin room on your own as your friend did not arrive with you and you did not call to inform me until you arrived at my door was your problem and you had to pay for the twin room. You that made the mistake and had to pay for your own mistake was your problem. You do not have to take it out on me or my B/B as i could not care less about you due to your childish attitude and grow up.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vinny R wrote a review Sep 2021
3 contributions
We had a two night stay here as part of a group of ten. After booking my wife rang the owner Penny and she arranged for local taxi man Noel to collect us in his mini bus and looked after us with drop off and collections to restaurants and a tour of the island. They're proud Islanders and have a great knowledge the island.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Ring ahead and Penny the owner and she can arrange a taxi if needed
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Penny Tigh Fitz, Owner at Tigh Fitz
Responded 27 Sep 2021
Hi Vinny. Many thanks for the lovely review. It was a pleasure having your group staying with us as we had a great banter going on. Delighted ye enjoyed the island also. Would love to see ye all back again sometime. Penny.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emer T wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
We stayed at Tigh Fitz for three nights at the end of last month. We arrived off the ferry with our luggage and rang Penny the owner immediately to ask how we could get to the B&B with our luggage. To this she replied that she wasn’t the one who was there so we would have to try ask taxi’s ourselves and that she would be going to Galway for the day and would not be there to help us. An hour later we still could not get a lift as none of the taxi drivers would accommodate us. Eventually the lovely lads at the bike rental helped us out and dropped our bags to the B&B. The B&B had excellent adherence to covid guidelines and we felt very safe during our stay. Breakfast was lovely , however some small touches in the room may be improved as there was only paper cups for tea/coffee available in the room. However the main issue with our stay was how Penny dealt with us on checkout. The night previous we had asked to borrow an iron as we were heading out for dinner. She gave us the iron but told us she could not give us an ironing board due to covid restrictions. I thought this strange and questioned where I would iron the clothes as I was afraid of damaging furniture. She replied to use the locker or dressing table. As we had no ironing board whilst ironing the clothes on the locker, my partner let the iron slip. He picked it up immediately and did not notice anything unusual. On check out Penny chastised us about this, as there was a mark in the carpet where he had been ironing. She proceeded to follow me into the front room where I was getting our bags. The tone in which she spoke to us was not only derogatory but plain unprofessional. She demanded I “answer her” when she was talking to me. My partner then apologised and offered to pay for any damages caused. She then continued to charge us €50 more on the card machine then what she had asked of us. She continued to speak down to us and accused us of “ruining” the whole room. What angered us the most is how she treated us because we were a “young couple”. I would not be staying in this B&B again if you are a young person/couple as we felt completely discriminated against. Also she did not go out of her way at all to accommodate us getting from and to the ferry.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Penny Fitzpatrick, Owner at Tigh Fitz
Responded 3 Sep 2021
Hi Emer. Yes you arrived to the Island called me and i told you that i was on my way to Galway shopping and that you would have to take a taxi or rent a bike and that the bicycle shop would deliver your luggage if you were not able to manage it.That is what I let all my guests know when they call me. Our check in time starts at 2.30pm as you would have known if you had read our policies when you booked.If i go to Dublin or anywhere i just have to make my own way. About our bedrooms. Due to Covid restrictions there was a lot of changes we had to do going by Failte Ireland Covid 19 Safety Charter that we had to comply with their guidelines and that was one of the thing we had to change. All our delve and glasses had to be replaced by those paper cups and plastic glasses. Now your main issue was when you came back to collect your luggage after checking out I went to you and informed you about the big burn you put on my carpet in the bedroom and checked out and never mentioned a word about it. Ye had only left about 10 mins when one of the girls that was up to dress your room came down calling me to go up and seethe burn. It was so big you could not miss it and espically the smell of burning of it my god. You sais you did not notice it my god and yet you tried to clean it with my white towel that even the burn mark left stains on the towel. It is nice to be honest about something you do . I really should not have given you the iron but you told me you really needed that blouse to wear going out that night.It really upset me when you walked out my door and not to admit to it. That would anger anybody when someone does damage to something and not own up to it. I had lovely young couples staying Emer all summer and great welcome for them all as you can see from other reviews but you are just trying to give me a bad name due to your own ignorance. Penny (prop )
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
catinahat87 wrote a review Jul 2021
Galway, Ireland35 contributions16 helpful votes
Really enjoyed our stay here. The room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean with a view of the sea. Breakfast was lovely and very well organised with social distancing and set times. Very good Covid safety measures overall. Penny is such a good host, she makes you feel so welcome when you arrive and is on hand if you need anything but gives you space to enjoy your holiday as well.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$111 - US$115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IrelandWestern IrelandProvince of ConnachtCounty GalwayAran IslandsInishmore
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Tigh Fitz
Which popular attractions are close to Tigh Fitz?
Nearby attractions include Dun Duchathair (1.6 km), Dún Aonghasa (7.1 km), and Kilmurvey Beach (6.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Tigh Fitz?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Tigh Fitz?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Tigh Fitz?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Tigh Fitz?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tigh Fitz?
Conveniently located restaurants include Teach Nan Phaidi, Joe Watty's Bar, and The Bar.
Are there any historical sites close to Tigh Fitz?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Dún Aonghasa (7.1 km).
Does Tigh Fitz have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.