We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Main street, Ballybofey F93 RD40 Ireland
E-mail hotel
Priceline
StayForLong
Trip.com
Booking.com
eDreams
ZenHotels.com
View all 8 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (151)
Dining (40)
Room & Suite (13)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 10/09/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Jackson's Hotel
Updated 10/09/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 2 in Ballybofey
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Jackson's is a 4-star, family-owned hotel located in Ballybofey on the scenic backdrop of the River Finn & Drumboe Woods. A friendly Donegal welcome awaits from the moment you arrive. Relax in front of a cozy open turf fire in the lobby, have a warming hot whiskey in the traditional Irish bar, the Thirsty Trout and enjoy dinner overlooking manicured grounds in the Garden View Restaurant. Jackson's is comprised of a mix of 130 traditional and executive bedrooms, conference facilities and a fully equipped Leisure Centre with a heated indoor swimming pool and gym. Located in the heart of Donegal, just off the N15, this hotel serves as the perfect central base for your visit to County Donegal & the Wild Atlantic Way. Ballybofey serves as an ideal hub: 2 hours from Belfast Airport; 45 minutes from Derry City Airport and 1 hour from Sligo town.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Fishing
Nightclub / DJ
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Internet
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Massage
Steam room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Room service
Telephone
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English
463Reviews5Q+A73Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 262
  • 105
  • 48
  • 25
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
MeathJohn wrote a review 11 May
Dunshaughlin, Ireland326 contributions187 helpful votes
Beautiful hotel, best value, homely atmosphere. Food was very reasonable throughout our stay and so tasty. Staff are so helpful and friendly, Caroline in Reception and Jeet in the bar, just to mention two. Bedrooms are very comfortable, could be a little updated but otherwise no issues. Bedrooms at the front of the hotel can be noisy with deliveries and morning traffic so maybe requesting one to the back if you plan a lie in! Definitely will return at some stage, loved it here.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Catrina L wrote a review 2 May
1 contribution
Stayed in the Jackson hotel for 1 night this weekend with my family. The staff were amazing . Such a beautiful hotel. Mehmet the night porter took brilliant care of us. The hotel manager also could not do enough for us. We will definitely be back .
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Aoife S wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Lovely hotel, bed was so comfortable and the room was very spacious. The leisure centre was lovely and warm and very clean in all areas, something you don’t often see. Meal that night in the bar was delicious, no faults from us
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Naomi wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Absolutely fantastic break away, rooms were spotless and had everything we needed, staff were absolutely delightful, food was fantastic and very well prepared - dare I say cooked to perfection……. Looking forward to planning another stay very soon.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Chris S wrote a review Mar 2022
Ballymena, United Kingdom22 contributions14 helpful votes
Absolutely Great from the welcome to departure and all in between. Excellent Facilities, Staff, Service Food and Value for Money. So much so that we're booked again at the end of this month for two nights. Quite and very peaceful with and very nice location to explore. We've already recommended ot to a great many Friends, some of which have already booked.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
paulineTyrone wrote a review Feb 2022
tyrone11 contributions13 helpful votes
We stayed in this hotel for a one night stay package! The deal included b&b and main course. From checking in to check out we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were greeted by two very pleasant receptionists. Rooms were ready although we arrived earlier than check in times. On reaching our room we were delighted! We were given upgrade! The room was spacious clean and a beautiful view of the river. We had meal in bar area and it was again served by lovely waiter and waitress all of which was with no effort. The hotel was buzzing at evening time and no empty glass was left until pleasant staff came along to clear the table. Breakfast the next morning had a great choice of both cold and hot buffet. I will highly recommend this hotel to friends and family. I would like to compliment you all on the service we received.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from David Vaughey, Other at Jackson's Hotel
Responded 28 Feb 2022
Dear PaulineTyrone, Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Jackson's Hotel, Conference & Leisure Centre. We constantly strive for excellence and reviews such as this are always encouraging and welcoming. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Best wishes, David Vaughey, Operations Manager.
Read more
l0vesunshine50 wrote a review Feb 2022
Bangor, United Kingdom151 contributions152 helpful votes
My husband and I have just returned after a 2-night stay in this warm, welcoming hotel. The real fires give a lovely homely feel. Our room was spacious, well appointed and had a lovely view over the River Finn. The mattress was extremely comfortable and the hairdryer was good. Breakfast and evening meal very good. Staff are lovely, nothing is too much trouble. Spa area lovely. We will definitely return. Well done Jackson's.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from David Vaughey, Other at Jackson's Hotel
Responded 28 Feb 2022
Dear l0vesunshine50 , Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay with us during storm Emma. I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us as one of our key priorities is to provide the highest level of service. The entire team will be thrilled to know that their efforts have provided you a pleasant and outstanding stay. I hope to have the chance to personally meet you on your next visit. Regards, David Vaughey, Operations Manager.
Read more
Carrie wrote a review Feb 2022
2 contributions
My husband, our two kids (2&3) and myself, recently stayed at Jackson's Hotel Ballybofey. We had such a great stay. Staff were friendly, the food was beautiful (especially breakfast the next morning) the beds were comfortable and the hotel was extremely family friendly. We took a dip in the pool before dinner on the Saturday and after breakfast on the Sunday, kids absolutely loved it :) Hope to be back in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from David Vaughey, Other at Jackson's Hotel
Responded 27 Feb 2022
Dear Carrie_norris, Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review via TripAdvisor following your most recent stay at our property. We thoroughly appreciate your kind words and positive feedback. I hope we are now your preferred hotel when visiting Ballybofey. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards, David Vaughey, Operations Manager.
Read more
Grey Wolf wrote a review Feb 2022
Bangor19 contributions16 helpful votes
The Good Bits; The staff cannot be faulted, from the reception to the bar staff and the Pool attendant all were excellent. Good natured, friendly and helpful - 10/10. The Not so Good Bits. Getting to your room was an adventure, take the lift, get out on the X floor, go through the double doors, follow the green tiles, through several sets of doors, go over the sky-walkway get the next lift up to X floor turn right and go through more sets of doors and follow the signs - it was quite a walk! There was no assistance with the bags(?) What was the worst thing, BREAKFAST. This was undoubtedly the worst hotel breakfast we've every had! The selection was Very Limited. Tined fruits (4 ) and 1 type of yogurt. The cold meat and cheese selection consisted of one type of processed cheese and one type of processed ham! There were several cereals all in open bins not individual servings. The bread selection consisted of 2 croissants in a bread basket??? The hot food was better with the standard offering of Bacon, eggs (fried), beans, black pudding, mushrooms, tomatoes and sausages - the sausages were the cheap catering type and not good ones. We were not offered any other choices The only poor(ish) service was when we asked for Tea and Coffee but hold the toast until we get the hot food. So they brought the toast straight away and didn't being the tea /coffee. That may have been our accents and they just didn't understand us, ha ha. The Room This was a suite, which was a good size and the bed was comfy enough. The modern bathroom with magnificent steam showers, as advertised wasn't what I'd call it. Yes it did have a fancy jacuzzi type shower but this was Not of Hotel quality it was a fancy home bath/shower, the type that requires a lot of cleaning and maintenance. It had not received that much attention - we gave it a miss!. There was no Safe in the room and there was No Fridge in the room ?! We must have misread the details as we saw that a bottle of wine and box of chocolate came with the suite, they didn't. No large Bath towels were provided just some of what we describe as hand towels. The coffee machine looked new! The Pool The attendant was excellent! The changing rooms were poor and none of the lockers worked. Loved the sign on the Steam Room - 'No Shaving in the Steam Room' ????? The pool was a little crowded for our liking in the current pandemic, when we enquired we were told the numbers were within the permitted max. Which I'm sure was true but we left anyway. The Bar Again the staff were excellent, helpful and attentive. Cocktail menu was brief, I think there were 8 drinks available. A Mai Tai wasn't on the list, and when I asked, the barman looked it up inline and helpful said - I can make that or at least have a good go at it. He did - wasn't quite right be by golly he did his best - didn't have all the ingredients unfortunately - still 10/10 for trying! Overall just not great and for a 4-star hotel below average.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from David Vaughey, Other at Jackson's Hotel
Responded 13 Feb 2022
Dear 125kennp, Thank you very much for your feedback and for taking the time to provide us with your thoughts following your most recent stay. We always appreciate hearing from our guests and learning of any opportunity we may have to improve the set standards of service each of our guests receives. There are some points for concern based on your feedback and I am sorry to note you were upset with your most recent visit. If you would like to discuss your review in more detail please do not hesitate to contact me. Regards, David Vaughey, Operations Manager.
Read more
James B wrote a review Jan 2022
Belfast, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
We had our wedding reception at Jacksons and were blown away with how great everything was. The wedding team throughout were brilliant with advice and planning (during a pandemic, not an easy task). The accommodation, fantastic. The food was superb. The wedding reception venue was beautiful, every detail taken care of, with staff on the day both attentive and pleasant to deal with. Very family run feel to the establishment where the staff went the extra mile, then came back and asked if anything more could be done. I would not hesitate recommending them to take care of such an important day for anyone. We will certainly be seeing them again. Thanks again, James and Caroline
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from David Vaughey, Other at Jackson's Hotel
Responded 12 Jan 2022
Dear James & Caroline, Thank you for your lovely review which I will enjoy sharing with the team. I am so pleased you enjoyed your wedding celebration here at Jackson's Hotel. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us in the near future for more special memories. Sincerely, David Vaughey, Operations Manager.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$89 - US$175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
jacksons hotel ballybofey
LOCATION
IrelandCounty DonegalBallybofey
NUMBER OF ROOMS
130
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Jackson's Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Jackson's Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Mc Intyre's Bar (0.2 km), Mc Kelveys Bar (0.07 km), and Andies Bar (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Jackson's Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Jackson's Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Jackson's Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Jackson's Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kee's Hotel Restaurant, Fara's Restaurant at Villa Rose Hotel, and Benny and Co.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Jackson's Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Jackson's Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Ballybofey.
Does Jackson's Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Jackson's Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Beltany Stone Circle (12.8 km), Castlederg Castle (15.7 km), and St Patrick's Well (15.3 km).
Does Jackson's Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.
Is Jackson's Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.