We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Villa Rose Hotel & Spa

Villa Rose Hotel Main Street, Ballybofey F93 C2CF Ireland
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (182)
Room & Suite (51)
Dining (27)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.


#1 of 2 hotels in Ballybofey
Travellers' Choice
Villa Rose is an ideal base from which to experience destination Donegal. Whether you are visiting for our central location, a relaxing spa break or a Villa Rose Wedding, we endeavour to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Established by the Gallen Family in the year 2000, Villa Rose is a stylish and contemporary hotel with 55 bedrooms and 2 signature suites. Popular as both a girlie spa destination and as a short break getaway for couples. A visit to our award-winning spa for rest and relaxation is a must. Dine in one of our restaurants or bars with both casual and a la carte options available.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Evening entertainment
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Secured parking
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Meeting rooms
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Neck massage
Steam room
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
1634Reviews12Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,283
  • 243
  • 78
  • 20
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
HazyBaby1968 wrote a review Yesterday
Western Ireland, Ireland71 contributions97 helpful votes
We decided to stay overnight at The Villa Rose to spend time and have dinner with family who had travelled to Donegal for the first time since the Pandemic began. I booked directly with the hotel and found the process to be friendly & efficient. I contacted the hotel the following day to book dinner for our group. I was then informed that the restaurant was not open midweek and that we would have to dine in the bar. I understand that Covid has presented great difficulties re staffing etc for hotels, and that at certain times of the year it may not be financially viable to open a restaurant midweek. However in July,at a time when indoor dining was not permitted and we could not dine elsewhere, it was very disappointing to be unable to eat in the hotel restaurant. The bar menu largely consisted of pizzas, burgers etc- not exactly fine dining or suitable for the older members of our group. I spoke to a manager who assured me there would be a roast of the day which was fine but didn't really provide the choice we associate with a restaurant experience. If the restaurant cannot be used then a few 'restaurant standard' specials on the bar menu could be provided. The seating in the bar at the table reserved for us (8 in total-some with mobility issues and I had made this clear when making the reservation) comprised of some low stools and two small tables. Aneta was most helpful in changing the seating and bringing over another table. I just felt that this menu & seating arrangement would be fine if you just popped in somewhere for a bite to eat but not when we had specifically booked into a hotel so that we could enjoy a meal with family we hadn't seen for a long time. The staff are friendly & efficient especially Aneta in the bar & Rachel at reception. Rooms are spotlessly clean, well appointed & comfortable with water and chocolates-a lovely touch. The hotel is in the centre of town and there can be noise from outside which should be taken in account when booking. All in all a very nice hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Some rooms can be far from lifts, restaurant etc so anyone with mobility issues should discuss...
See more room tips
DonBlack67 wrote a review Jul 2021
Craigavon, United Kingdom21 contributions7 helpful votes
This is without doubt one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in. The room was spotless. The staff were amazing and mostly young who were really well trained. Breakfast was fantastic, words fail to describe dinner. We could have eaten the beef with a spoon it was so tender. We will not book anywhere else in future when we are in the area. There are a lot of other hotels in Ireland could learn a lot from this hotel. I am a wheelchair user and the staff could not do enough to accommodate me. We'll done Villa Rose see you soon.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Anne G wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
We recently stayed and ate in this fantastic hotel. Although not far from home it felt like a real break away. Location is excellent, very good parking facilities, hotel is very clean and staff are excellent.. Rooms and bathrooms are spotless and spacious. Food in bar and breakfast is varied and of very good standard. Unfortunately the restaurant was not open during the week. All staff were attentive, polite and most helpful. Aneta in particular stood out as being so professional, thus making our meal only the very best. We did not have the opportunity to use the spa but have heard that it too is beautiful. We would highly recommend this family run hotel. Many thqnks.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Megan wrote a review Jul 2021
3 contributions
room was gorgeous. Food and staff were lovely. disappointed that breakfast to bedroom wasn’t available as stated on the sheet in the room. We always look forward to breakfast in our bedroom. we also were not given any info on pool/spa etc there was not much interaction from reception staff
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Response from Leona McGee, Marketing at Villa Rose Hotel & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the opportunity to leave this feedback. We regret that breakfast room service was not available during your stay. Due to COVID-19 restrictions it is something we cannot offer at at the moment but we look forward to reinstating it at our earliest opportunity. I have passed your comments on to the rest of the team. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Warm Regards Leona McGee Senior Sales & Marketing Manager
Read more
Deirdre R wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
We came for husband's birthday from minute of walking into hotel great beautiful went to our room beautiful super clean and moderen bathroom super all covid regs in place went to forge bar had great meal staff excellent. Breakfast 🥐 super tasty and plenty of everything staff great spent day in town then we had snack sitting outside in great pods so good once again had dinner in main restaurant it was super staff so professional could not do enough for us manager so welcoming when leaving receptionist so friendly thought we where in Spain cannot wait to return thank you to all staff for making our stay brilliant
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Leona McGee, Marketing at Villa Rose Hotel & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Deirdre, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind account of your recent stay. We pride ourselves on our friendly and welcoming staff as well as our hygiene and safety measures. I have passed your comments on to the rest of the team. We hope you get the opportunity to visit again soon. Warm Regards Leona McGee Senior Sales & Marketing Manager
Read more
US$96 - US$163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
hotel rose
IrelandCounty DonegalBallybofey
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Villa Rose Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Villa Rose Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Drumboe Woods (1.1 km), Mc Intyre's Bar (0.10 km), and Mc Kelveys Bar (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Villa Rose Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Villa Rose Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Villa Rose Hotel & Spa?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Villa Rose Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kee's Hotel Restaurant, Fara's Restaurant at Villa Rose Hotel, and The Wee Bar at The Villa Rose Hotel.
Is Villa Rose Hotel & Spa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Ballybofey.
Are any cleaning services offered at Villa Rose Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Villa Rose Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Villa Rose Hotel & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Beltany Stone Circle (12.6 km), Castlederg Castle (15.6 km), and St Patrick's Well (15.3 km).
Is Villa Rose Hotel & Spa accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.