We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Chattanooga Choo Choo

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,604 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Chattanooga Choo Choo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,570: English reviews
bbq4u
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

I have no interest in staying here again. I usually stay at the Holiday Inn Express while in town, but my wife traveled with me this time and wanted to stay here. No Mr. General Manager, not all hotels in the area charge for parking. Obviously, there is plenty of surface cleaning going on here. The corners of the rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bbq4u
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

I am sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. No excuse that your room was not properly prepared. Did you notify management about your issues? If management knows of an issue they will act on it. We sometimes make mistakes, but we also make great recoveries. We did do a survey of the downtown hotels and 11 out of 14...

White, Georgia
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is our second time staying and it has went down hill since we last stayed. You have to rent a fridge at $15 a night and the place has water stains on the ceilingsthe wall paper in the hall way was tacked up by a tack pin. The beds are only full size in most rooms and they should...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tabitha M
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

I am sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. Let us know if you are ever unhappy about anything and let us find a solution to exceed your needs. We just need the chance to prove it, let us know, please. If we do not know you are unhappy it is much harder to fix the problem. Give me a...

Ohio
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed in a train car, loved the experience. This was my Grandson's Christmas Gift, he had a great time. Very historical. Staff was very friendly and helpful in all instances. LOVED the Singing Waiter Restaurant. All food experiences were good, we tried Pizza, Garden Restaurant and Singing Waiter Restaurant, loved them all. A Quiet peaceful experience with lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 01oldlady
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review and I am pleased you had a really good experience with your grandson.. Also, I am glad that you enjoyed staying in one of our signature rooms, the train cars. We get many similar comments from other guests. All the Best Jim Bambrey GM

Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I have such fond memories of this place! The property itself is pretty big with a variety of room options which vary from motel type rooms to actual accomodations in actual train cars. I recommend you look at your options before booking. While the most basic rooms are a tad outdated, it is still a comfortable clean stay. There are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

Thank you for your great comments. We love to hear such comments and I will make sure they are shared with the departments. We take great pride in our property. Thanks for recommending us! Come back again soon! All the Best, Jim Bambrey GM

New York City, New York
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Stayed here in late Sept of 2013 And the hotel is really a motel. Horrible horrible run down rooms with smelly carpets and hallways. The property is a national historic place and it just makes me sad that a company would allow such a historic place fall apart like the management has done here. Charge 6$ for parking for no...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Fengshuihellnyc
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

Believe me; we don’t like to see negative reviews. In the month of September, we sold over 7,868 rooms with approximately 8 reviews 2 and below, that’s 1 per 983 rooms sold! And remember, some of the reviews are guest opinions. Our CSI index with Tripadvisor for the last quarter is in the 84 percentile. I regret that you were...

Clonmel, Tipperary, Ireland
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We were travelling from Atlanta, Georgia to Nashville and decided to break the journey by spending a night in Chattanooga. This hotel was lovely. The room was big and very nicely furnished, very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a great breakfast at a good price in the Garden Restaurant. There was a free shuttle bus...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn L
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

Thanks for your 4 Star review! Our property does offer many unique and different venues. Thanks for the comments about staff and the Gardens. Thanks for your recommendation. All the Best, Jim Bambrey GM

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 14 October 2013

A night was spent in Chattanooga' s Choo Choo Hotel along with my son, his wife and daughter. Upon leaving, we discovered, after a couple of hours on the road, that a $600 IPad was left in the room. A call was made to the hotel asking that they retrieve the iPad. My son was told that the ipad could...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank canada36
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

Unreal, this is the second review on the same issue. I repeat, we feel violated having a staff member being accused of stealing! I would like to clarify a couple of things. As soon as we got your call, we immediately went and checked the room and 2 additional times upon your request. We removed the beds from the frames...

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The first room we were placed in was in building 3 and within 5 minutes of arrival my daughter noticed a giant (I honestly mean HUGE) roach crawling up the wall. I was in the bathroom when this happened and I was running out of the door and noticed what appeared to be throw up all over the back of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brentandchristy
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

I am sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. There is no excuse that your room was not prepared properly. I have reviewed your comments with the respective Department Heads, so that they can take corrective action. We take your comments very seriously and it is our opportunity to improve our product and service. I don’t know who you emailed,...

Alexander City, Alabama
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This really pains me to write this, as I had much higher expectations from this hotel. Since I am a big railroad enthusiast, I've been wanting to stay here for a long time. The opportunity came up, and so my wife and I checked in on Thursday, Oct. 10. The check is was very easy and the staff was very...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank stagmie
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

I am sorry that you weren’t pleased with your accommodations. We are a totally smoke free hotel. Did you notify management about your issues? If management knows of an issue, they will act on it. We sometimes make mistakes, but we also make great recoveries. Ownership has reinvested millions of dollars into the Choo Choo. On average, we invest between...

Gainesville, Georgia
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hotel is a little dated but my wife and I enjoyed our stay. Also, Priceline had a cheaper rate than the hotel’s website. The grounds are very nice. The main lobby was an old train station and the hotel has a nice gardens area. There are also train cars that have been converted into rooms. There are 2 outdoor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexander J
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind comments about our hotel. We are pleased that you had a great visit to the Choo Choo. It means a lot to our staff to see this kind of a review. . All the Best, Jim Bambrey GM

1,158 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1034)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (298)
Viewed
Room/Suite (152)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (44)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Other (443)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (99)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (17)
Viewed
Executive King Room (14)
Viewed
Pool (5)
Viewed
Pullman Train Car Room (18)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
1.1 km away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.5 km away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#6 of 96 in Chattanooga
1,174 reviews
1.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
2.2 km away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
0.8 km away
Staybridge Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Cuisines: American
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of the South's most renowned landmarks, the Chattanooga Choo Choo opened in 1909 and welcomed thousands of travelers during the Golden Age of railroads. Today, the 23 acre complex is a magnificently restored hotel resort for visitors of all ages. The Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel offers a variety of overnight accommodations, including the famous Victorian Era train rooms and luxurious suites. *Theme restaurants *Specialty shops *Authentic New Orleans trolley ride *Model railroad display *Convention Center *3 swimming pools *Tennis courts *Beautiful formal gardens. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chattanooga Choo Choo

Address: 1400 Market Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Price Range: €100 - €214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chattanooga Choo Choo 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chattanooga Choo Choo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo
Chattanooga Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chattanooga Choo Choo staff and other travellers.
31 questions
Ask a question

I've been coming here 1-2x a year for about 7 years now-always in winter. This year I finally attended a convention there in summertime and I was STOKED to finally use that pool that had been vexing me.

All day long it was full of feral children and at night, when the con activities slowed the pool gates were locked. (9pm!) that was the only time I saw any security off their golf cart-to lock us out of the pool! Earlier in the day, we noticed a car POURING GAS from it tank in the parking lot. We flagged the centaurs (security/golf cart hybrids) and one said point blank that he didn't care because it "wasn't his car". I called the front desk 2x about it. No one really seemed to care.

I am SORELY disappointed, Choo Choo.

Also the renovations are terrible, did you have to tear out the station house and sandwich shop at the same time? The gardens breakfast we used to look forward to was awful, and the short male waiter was TERRIBLE. Overheard him telling a table of three ladies that unless they gave him another dollar he would have to pay a dollar to take care of them (not sure what he meant, but they coughed up an extra dollar, which he pocketed and left them without saying ty) ladies told us they'd never be back. When we paid him, he didn't even offer to bring our change, just took our cash and left.

He should be fired.

  We had silver car pizza 1x and it was burnt. We called out to papa johns and then city cafe after that.

We have always stayed here at the choo choo, and looked forward to it, but after this past weekend at the con, we're considering branching out and trying another hotel nearby...

over a year ago
Decatur, Alabama
8 months ago

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from Chattanooga Choo Choo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Read reviews so your expectations are set appropriately.”
 of 5 bubbles jolsson, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Dont get a room on one of the train cars”
 of 5 bubbles Tim-Pam61, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ground floor rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles 895keith, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The rail carts are a must”
 of 5 bubbles christophercJ4617XW, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Do NOT stay in train car 789”
 of 5 bubbles 780deborahh, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5