We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Watertown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Watertown
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Watertown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 82: English reviews
Winner, South Dakota
Reviewed 14 March 2016

We stayed here during a State Girls Basketball Tournament, we had to sign an extra sheet of "rules" because of it. We were unable to get extra clean towels right away, the shower was less than warm, the room was not quite clean, and I would have overlooked all of this due to the busy time! However, the night desk...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jennifer D
Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile

Rooms are clean. Did not arrive until 1:30 am. They were ready and waiting for me. Took a cool shower. Not a hot shower, as the temp water temp would not go warm enough. It was the temp that I would think I ran out of hot water at home. That was the only issue.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
Prairie Village, Kansas
Reviewed 27 January 2016

We stayed here the evening of January 23, 2016. Our original plan was to stay in Sioux Falls, SD for the evening but changing weather and road conditions forced us to stay in Watertown. This HIE was very similar to the HIE we stayed in the previous evening in Fargo, ND, I would wager they are part of the same...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 6,500,410
Forman
Reviewed 1 January 2016

The room was spacious the pull out couch was horrible but the beds comfortable, the pool was freezing talked with staff and said they have been having issues with it. The water slide is not available till 5pm thats if they have a lifeguard available and closes at 11pm. The breakfast was by far the best part of the stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Watertown, responded to this review

Dear Michael P, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay with us. We are glad that you liked our breakfast selection and that you found our beds to be comfortable. On the other hand, we would like to apologize for falling short of your expectations regarding our pool and pull-out...

s.tilllman valley
Reviewed 14 October 2015

As usual the service is great,breakfast also. Rooms were clean. You can tell its an older hotel . Just a bit of a problem with ac unit and slow running drains. Otherwise great. if you stay in Watertown never get gas as soon as you get off the interstate. Go to the station by Holiday Inn Express, 20 cents cheaper

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kat234-12
staff16, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Watertown, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Fort Worth
Reviewed 30 September 2015 via mobile

Said I was upgraded but was one strange room. Looked like I was staying in a trailer house. Way too expensive for this place. Didn't look like it was an actual HIE branded hotel. The country inn on the other side of the freeway is a much better deal and cheaper

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RDavisFortWorth
staff16, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Watertown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback and apologize you were not satisfied with your room type. We have many different room styles/types. We do hope the next time your travels bring you to the area you will stay with us. We would love to see you have a...

Huron, South Dakota
Reviewed 24 August 2015

The stay was great! Except for the crabby lady that worked in the breakfast area. She was by far the rudest person I have ever come in contact with in my entire life. If you are that unhappy with your job, quit!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carrie M
staff16, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Watertown, responded to this review

I appreciate the review of your recent experience at our hotel. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay, but sorry you received a pool level of service. I have addressed these issues with our breakfast staff. The next time you are in the area we would love to have you come back and experience a hopefully improved level of customer service....

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 13 August 2015

The hotel was comfortable and the staff was nice. The breakfast was always available right at 6am. I stayed here for a few months while on a work assignment and they entire staff was very accommodating. The only draw back is the hotel has indoor a pool/rec area that is very busy on the weekends. This means a ton of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lovelife40
staff16, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Watertown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your stay. We always appreciate hearing from our guests. Our busy waterpark amenity does get a lot of use by families on the weekends. Our staff does try their best to calm the little one's excitement. Our guest's satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to having...

Pinehurst, Texas
Reviewed 12 August 2015

I read on TA that several folks didn't have a very good experience at this location but that wasn't my experience. The host staff was outstanding. I had made a reservation over the phone and 300 miles away and was having trouble getting my member number right. Not wanting to waste time on the call, I completed the transaction. When...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TOM A
staff16, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Watertown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. We are so happy to hear you found Rachel at our front desk to assist you with your reservation. We do look forward to serving your travel needs at our property should you return to the area.

Fruita, Colorado
Reviewed 2 August 2015

Rates way too high for what you get. You sign a two page contract to stay there with so many rules you want to consult a lawyer. Rule bound and rude, the staff treats you like a servant not a customer. Go stay at the comfort inn.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keptman2014
staff16, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Watertown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our property. We apologize you felt our staff was rule bound and rude. During tournament weekends we give out guidelines to guests to ensure all guests experience a quiet and pleasant stay. We are sorry you were offended it was not our intent. We love our guests want our hotel to be one...

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watertown hotels
0.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Watertown
1.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Watertown
7.2 km away
Ramkota Hotel & Watertown Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 11 in Watertown
102 reviews
1.2 km away
Days Inn Watertown
Days Inn Watertown
#2 of 11 in Watertown
243 reviews
3.1 km away
Econo Lodge Watertown
Econo Lodge Watertown
#8 of 11 in Watertown
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Watertown is home of the Terry Redlin Art Center, Mellette House, and the Bramble Park Zoo.Conveniently located near shopping.Gaming just minutes north of I-29.Watertown municipal golf course just west on hwy 212. Features include 140 ft. water slide with splash pool, sports pool, children's enchanted pool, large whirlpool and arcade. Winter Hours:September 1st thru May 31st Sunday 8 am to 11 am, Monday through Thursday closed, Friday 5 pm to 10 pm, Saturday 8 am to 10 pm. Summer Hours: June 1st thru August 30th Sunday 8 am to 11 am and 5 pm to 10 pm, Monday through Friday 5 pm to 10 pm, Saturday 8 am to 10 pm. Free deluxe breakfast, free local & 800 calls, free high-speed wireless and hardwired Internet access. Well equipped exercise room, meeting room, guest laundry, and business center. Located at exit 177 on I-29. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites offers 66 rooms with 24 suites and an elevator. Visit Watertown, SD and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Watertown

Address: 3901 9th Ave SE, Watertown, SD 57201-9104
Region: United States > South Dakota > Watertown
Price Range: €104 - €132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Watertown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Watertown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Watertown Hotel Watertown
Holiday Inn Watertown
Watertown Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Watertown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All around a great place to stay!”
 of 5 bubbles gjt2626, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you're traveling without kids, ask for room 243. If you're with kids, have mercy on the rest of us and don't ask for this room haha!”
 of 5 bubbles E8555FRmichaele, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs and away from the lobby/water park area for quieter rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Violette54, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stay away it is not acceptable”
 of 5 bubbles donnam334, 23 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay on the main floor when lots of children present..your better off on the top floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 899MichaelP, 1 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5