We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sunshine Inn

#3 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wall
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Sunshine Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

434 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sunshine Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 426: English reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

After 11 hours in the car, and several more to go, this was just what our group needed. Very clean, surprisingly comfortable beds, bright bathrooms, just all around good value. If we come through Wall again, we'll be sure to stay here. Staff were polite and helpful, with extra amenities available in the office.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Payton B
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review

"All around good value" are the kinds of concise and comprehensive words that we love to hear because they say it all in a nutshell. When customers stay here at the Sunshine Inn we strive to make them feel like they got the best lodging deal of their entire trip. Our Sealy Pillowtop beds make for a great, comfortable night's...

Stilwell, United States
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Beginning with phone call to make reservation to checking out, John, the owner, made our stay easy and welcoming. The room was clean and had all the conviences you need. The bed was very comfortable and that is really important when traveling. The motel is just one block from mainstreet and lots of shops including Wall Drug. John had suggestions...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnny J
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying and sharing your kind remarks about the Sunshine Inn and me here on TripAdvisor. Along with my great staff, I'm committed to making things "easy and welcoming." We appreciate your comments about cleanliness and convenience, our comfortable beds and our great, handy location, just a block from Wall's historic Main Street and Wall Drug Store. We're...

Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Reviewed 19 July 2016

We wanted to spend two nights in Wall so we could have plenty time to see the Badlands & enjoy a rodeo in Interior (SD). After reading the reviews of this motel I gave them a call. The lady that answered the phone was very courteous and answered all of my questions. She even informed me that there would be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pitdaddy
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying and sharing your experience here. As you might expect, we wholeheartedly agree that the Sunshine Inn is the "best place to stay in Wall." Both my office staffers Deanna and Jean are wizards at answering our phone and being helpful with information and advice. It's not just a matter of training--it's in their nature to be...

Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Sunshine Inn was a delightful find. My friend and I were on a little bachelorette trip before I get married in October, and we decided to stay here for our Badlands adventure. We're both so glad we did! When traveling, it's the little things that stand out. The Sunshine Inn, was full of "the little things." The towels, for instance,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mel605
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the "delightful" comments. We appreciate your words about value ("great rates, great stay") and are most appreciative that you took notice of some of the details that we tend to. Soft towels, great water pressure, remembering who you are--these are the touches that we know will make for a memorable stay. You can bet that we...

Algonquin, Illinois
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Yes, the hotel is clean. It is comfortable. It's older, but welcoming. The value is unbeatable. But John, the owner, is reason enough to stay at the Sunshine Inn. He was A W E S O M E. Friendly, accomodatiing, flexible, attentive, available, and he takes a strong personal interest in making sure you are not satisfied, but happy. This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlgonquinChris
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review

I couldn't be more personally pleased and flattered by your kind remarks. "Friendly, accommodating, flexible, attentive, available" are words that mean a lot. I can only add that our entire staff shares these attitudes and attributes, which, of course, are backed up by great rooms, great value ("unbeatable," as you say) and a great location. We all take a great...

Reviewed 17 July 2016

Received a recommendation to this place from Rocket Motel in Custer so I figured I would give it a try. Let me tell you, this place lived up to the recommendation. First thing I noticed was the very convenient location of 1 block from Wall Drug. On arrival I was met by a very kind, soft spoken gentleman. He noted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marc V
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the accolades! We're delighted that we lived up to the expectations that were raised by a recommendation from the Rocket Motel (another highly rated TripAdvisor-listed property in Custer, South Dakota, unaffiliated with us). It's great to know that our reputation is spreading across the region. We're especially gratified that you mentioned our spaciousness, location, and that we're...

Fairfax, California
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

Wall isn't a place you would choose to go but if you find yourself here we found the Sunshine Inn to be quite comfortable and very well managed. Chat with the owner a bit. He has quite an interesting background who has seen a bit in his time. And he was so welcoming and warm.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kimjansonsmith
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind remarks. "Welcoming and warm" are two of the most pleasant adjectives we've heard in a while. You can bet they are attitudes that extend to our entire staff here at the Sunshine Inn. That you found us "comfortable" and "well managed" certainly reinforces our commitment to maintain the high level of service that you and so...

Hartsburg, Missouri
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

When spending money on a hotel room you're basically buying a clean comfortable night sleep. That's what you get here. Yes it's old but so was my grandma's house and it reminds me a lot of that. Lots of comfort without the unnecessary extras you probably don't use anyway. Only complaint was the wifi, none of my devices would connect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheLongLongTrailer
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for staying and sharing your conclusion that travelers can expect a "clean comfortable night's sleep at the Sunshine Inn." As many of the reviewers here note, we're a well-maintained older property that specializes in value. Considering that we consistently get high marks here on TripAdvisor and can save travelers $50-$100 a night (compared to our franchised competitors, per the...

Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

This was such a refreshing change from the big chain hotels. Small, locally owned, value priced, clean, and extremely convenient to Wall Drug Store. You can walk right over, so no need to fight for a parking spot. The proprietor is pleasant and helpful. We communicated several times with him before we came and he was always quick to respond...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy L
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and giving us such a gratifying and challenging review--gratifying because, after all, who wouldn't swell up with a bit of pride at being called "outstanding?" As to challenging? We know that your comments reflect a standard that TripAdvisor readers will come to expect. We intend to maintain it here at the Sunshine Inn and...

Springfield, Illinois
Reviewed 10 July 2016

First I will start by saying, don't let the look scare you off. We were in this area for 3 full days, to do Rushmore, Custer, Badlands, Devils Tower etc. I priced hotels in Rapud City, I usually prefer Hamptons, but at $238 a nite that was SOOOO not in my budget. I looked further out, saw good review for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank m k
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for staying and sharing your thoughts here. We're especially glad that you made note of your comparison shopping before selecting the Sunshine Inn. We encourage travelers to do just that because we're confident that, like you, they'll find us to be their best value option. We're not fancy--couldn't be if we tried--but we've got all the basics covered. I...

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
0.3 km away
Best Western Plains Motel
0.3 km away
Super 8 Wall
Super 8 Wall
#4 of 11 in Wall
253 reviews
0.3 km away
America's Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.0 km away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
0.3 km away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
157 reviews
0.4 km away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
26 rooms approved by American Automobile Association, one block from Wall Drug Store, free Wi Fi, complimentary juice, rolls, and coffee in the morning. Clean and well-maintained, very competitive rates--locally and independently owned, with owner on premises. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunshine Inn

Address: 608 Main Street, Wall, SD 57790
Region: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Price Range: €63 - €69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Wall
Sunshine Motel Wall
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wall
#1 Family Hotel in Wall
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wall
#4 Business Hotel in Wall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sunshine Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are 2 floors and only one stairway. We stayed in room 36, which involved some walking.”
Mndaddy88, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We were next to the office & had an excellent WiFi signal.”
Pitdaddy, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Next door to Wall Drug.”
Mel605, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Go for a room on the east end; less traffic.”
kene752, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
“there all good!”
Andrew-M-Fenn, 13 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5