We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Town Hall Inn

Show Prices
#1 of 8 Hotels in Lead
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Town Hall Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 198: English reviews
Colorado
Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly staff to check us in and the owners were friendly, available and offered good tips on what to see in the area and where to eat. The rooms were nice, comfortable beds and pillows, great shower! Would definitely stay here again if visiting the area. We visited in late October so extremely quiet because the summer tourist season had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ksiaz
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed two nights with our 14 year old daughter. We loved the ambiance but, she thought it was a little dated. Our visit to Devils Tower and near by attractions was perfect! the room we stayed in was a suite overlooking the main street. The beds were comfy and the staff was very nice. If you can't haul your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 34pc
Green, Ohio
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We greatly enjoyed this converted city hall. All the rooms were period correct with modern amenities. We wanted to stay a second time on our return trip from vacation, but to our regret they were fully booked. Great history and a great price. I recommend seeking it out if you are in the Black Hills area

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _nsertell
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Had no idea what to expect,but our stay could not have been better.The place was great,nice location to see the Black Hills,very interesting and down to earth town with easy access to great running trails,and very nice and helpful staff.Rooms were large,well furnished,comfy bed.And a real bargain.Lead is an old gold mining town with a lot of character and without...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam W
London
Reviewed 30 October 2016

I stayed at the Town Hall Inn and I have a reservation to stay there again in June. This place is incredibly well preserved and the rooms are big. It was a municipal building in bygone days, so the rooms are former offices of the mayor and various other important people. When I stayed there I had a second floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeffy_18
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

This was one of two accommodations on our trip about which we'd had some reservations before our trip having been disappointed in other 'quirky' places in the past. We needn't have worried. We were warmly greeted by the friendly owner, shown to our lovely room and made comfortable. The building is charming and has been lovingly refurbished/restored to make a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travellerstwo2016
Town_Hall_Inn, Owner at Town Hall Inn, responded to this review

What a warm, kind review! thank you truly for taking the time to review our place! The beds have a memory foam topper - I'm sorry to hear that not everyone slept well. Thank you for graciously alerting us to the housekeeping issue - you were most kind for letting us resolve the issue quickly, (We were, indeed, mortified to...

Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewed 29 October 2016

For our honeymoon, we wanted to check out the tourist attractions of the black Hills, from devil's tower to Mt. Rushmore and beyond! We picked Lead because it was surrounded by these attractions! The Town Hall Inn was absolutely amazing!!!! Full of history and very peaceful! We loved the view from our window of the open pit mine! The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Honeymooninleadsd
Town_Hall_Inn, Owner at Town Hall Inn, responded to this review

CONGRATULATIONS!!! More and more lovebirds choose to stay at our quaint Inn while celebrating their love! Could it be the waterfalls nearby or the Black Hills with all of their romantic trails meandering to secret rock outcroppings and lookouts? Whatever the reason you decided to stay with us, we sure are glad you did!

Prairie Village, Kansas
Reviewed 25 October 2016

I don't give five stars often in reviews, but the Town Hall Inn is certainly deserving of this rating. We stayed here for two nights in a row. Our room was located in the old mayor's office, and contained a king-size bed and was on the main floor. The room was large and the ceiling was at least 12 feet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 6,500,410
Town_Hall_Inn, Owner at Town Hall Inn, responded to this review

We truly appreciate you taking the time to write such a well written and thorough review of our (soon to be 105 year old) gem. We're so happy that you took a stroll through Lead - I agree - our restaurants, shops, buildings and people are pretty darn great! Only drawback... look both ways before crossing the street (for deer...

Centerville, South Dakota
Reviewed 16 October 2016

My wife and I wanted a few days away for our anniversary, and our original trip fell through--so we decided on the Lead-Deadwood area. The Town Hall Inn looked charming and had great reviews, so we decided to give it a try. This is one of the best places we have ever stayed in anywhere. Friendly, attentive staff, terrific concept...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gevermillion
Town_Hall_Inn, Owner at Town Hall Inn, responded to this review

Stop it some more!!! Your review is not only eloquent and descriptive, but also spot on - if we do say so ourselves!!! We can't wait to see you again!

Reviewed 5 October 2016

This place was great --very clean and a lot of history. Great find. We stayed for two nights and enjoyed it very much. We would definitely recommend to everyone. It was centrally located to everything we were going to do.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank THERESE L
Town_Hall_Inn, Owner at Town Hall Inn, responded to this review

We are so excited to hear how much you enjoyed The Town Hall Inn and Lead! Yes - DO COME BACK AGAIN SOON! Thank you truly, for the great review!

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lead
1.1 km away
Blackstone Lodge and Suites
5.2 km away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
6.3 km away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 24 in Deadwood
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#2 of 24 in Deadwood
590 reviews
3.8 km away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.3 km away
Dakota Spur Hotel
Dakota Spur Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lead
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Step through the doors of the Town Hall Inn located in Lead, SD and find yourself swept back in time to the early 1900's; an exhilarating time where hospitality flourished and adventure was plentiful. For our customers, we offer a clean, friendly place to stay; for our associates we promise an upbeat and fair place to work; for our community we promise to be a place that educates patrons in the rich history of the beautiful Black Hills to inspire repeat visits. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Town Hall Inn

Address: 215 W Main St, Lead, SD 57754-1603
Region: United States > South Dakota > Lead
Price Range: €61 - €272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Town Hall Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Town Hall Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Town Hall Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Town Hall Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Views are a little better on 2nd floor-but this isn't Niagara Falls”
 of 5 bubbles adamw593, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Back of the hotel works to stifle the farting noise of Harley Davidsons with straight pipes instead of mufflers.”
 of 5 bubbles Jeffy_18, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Judges chambers room...amazing views”
 of 5 bubbles Honeymooninleadsd, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I dont think there are bad rooms at this place.”
 of 5 bubbles owen6620, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“no elevator!”
 of 5 bubbles pheinmiller, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay