We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites

BestWestern.comUS$185*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$219*
US$185*
Great Deal
US$206*
US$207*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

689 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 673: English reviews
Start your review of Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

I don't know if I have the worst room in the entire hotel or if they are all this terrible. Doors slamming, the room vibrating from people walking and running down the wood framed floors, people talking loud outside everywhere. Good luck sleeping. I'll never come back here. So loud. You should greet your guests with ear plugs

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darrell M
Stillwater, Minnesota
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We took a road trip with our two dogs and decided that the Black Hills Area would be fun. Searched for a central location hotel that was dog friendly. We definitely chose the right location and hotel. Our room was ground floor and very close to the dog-walk area. The set up was ideal for our needs. Also had bags...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mubbs
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Laura F, Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We were happy to hear that you and your dogs had a great time while staying with us. We appreciate your comments, and would love to have you folks as guests again in the future.

Ellendale, North Dakota
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Awesome staff, clean room, great hot tub. Breakfast was amazing. The hotel was close to downtown, just walking distance. We were able to walk everywhere we needed to. It was also next to a supermarket that has everything you need.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jordyn767
Munich, Germany
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very clean hotel, nice and clean rooms, especially the fair priced suites. Friendly staff, very good location in the nice town of Hill City within the Black Hill Forrest Parks, Mount Rushmore and Custer State Park. Perfect value. One of the best BWs I ever got so far...!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank goetzk2017
Lakeville, MN
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here for a long weekend and wasn't impressed. Our room was next to the ice maker and stairs. The receptionist made it VERY CLEAR that there would be a $250 fine if any pets were in the building. The sign on the door said no pets in the building but 3 different times I watched people walk out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mnhockeydad
Kansas City, United States
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was a nice place to stay, it was close to all the sites of Mt Rushmore and Crazy Horse. We didn't use any of the pool/hot tub or fitness amenities but they looked very nice. There were quite a few kids who ran through the hallways but thankfully it was quiet before ten. The restaurant offers a variety of...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank claudiaaC2576NH
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Great place to stay in the middle of the Black Hills. Close to Rushmore, Crazy Horse, and Custer state park. Comfortable, quiet and affordable. We realty enjoyed the pool and outdoor deck area. Great breakfast, too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David O
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel was very welcoming and comfortable and it was very clean. The pool room was spacious! I think they had every amenity you would want. Breakfast was good and had lots of choices. The eggs were a little watery for me. It was a great stay for me and my family to visit some local attractions. Would definitely stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cooper1607
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and little to complain about. Room was large, clean, and had fridge and microwave which was nice. Bathroom was good size with closet space. Shower pressure was good which is always iffy. Beds had lots of pillows and very comfortable. Free breakfast with lots of choices. Normally I snub my nose at continental breakfast but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katynycjc
Laura F, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our property. We appreciate your feedback and will take everything into consideration. thank you again and have a wonderful day.

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 22 April 2017

Loved the hotel, staff, pool and breakfast. Everything was good I highly recommend this hotel. We were in Hill City off season and the staff at the hotel were very helpful for restaurant recommendations for rainy day activities

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank X2110RRmelissak
Laura F, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. We were pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We appreciate you taking time to write a review, and we hope you will visit us again.

167 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (95)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (24)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
4.4 km away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
235 reviews
12.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
12.4 km away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites

Address: 601 Main St, P.O. Box 555, Hill City, SD 57745-2002
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Price Range: €101 - €246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Best Western, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Golden Spike Inn And Suites
Best Western Golden Spike Hotel Hill City
Best Western Hill City
Hill City Best Western
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hill City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hill City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try for a top floor room if noise bothers you.”
  • Vanity separate
  • Double queen suite.
  • View upon entry - reception to left
AGoingGal, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose an upstairs room to avoid the exterior door traffic/noise.”
CDE2004, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“top floor for quiet, no view to speak of”
Judy1966240, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The rooms in the pool building appear to be newer and less motel-like”
DuffyB174, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for newer units next to the two story building.”
mparker, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
BestWestern.com
US$185* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$206
Expedia.comUS$207
HotelQuicklyUS$219
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates