We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pine Rest Cabins

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hill City
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Pine Rest Cabins
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Pine Rest Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Showing 113: English reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile

We had a great time. This resort is a great location to get to everything you want to see in the black hills. Cabin is neat and clean. My kids liked hiking in the forest behind the resort. The owner gave us a great tip of trout fishing in the stream behind the Quality Inn. The owners dog was also...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sara B
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this review

You are so welcome for the great vacation and please pardon our delay in thanking you for the detailed and thoughtful review- Pine Rest Cabins is definitely a "Family vacation" place for all seasons. Families have been coming here for generations to spend time in the Black Hills - I'm so glad you got out in the woods and enjoyed...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 21 June 2016

These cabins do not have wi-fi. The free wi-fi is in only in the office, NOT each cabin. The website states that since there is no pool, "older kids can play volleyball". There is no volleyball court, net, or even ball. The owner didn't even know that was stated on the website. My teenagers were extremely bored during the evenings....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jamiemartinpavi
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this review

My husband and I have owned and operated Pine Rest Cabins for 24 years now, raised two sons and have delighted in the ability to have our grandson spend a lot of time with us here at the cabins - we have no need or intent to mislead our guests or bring on angst in any way. I am sorry...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 15 February 2016

Had an unexpected stop overnight and was nice to find this quickly, at the last minute. The owner was warm and friendly, and very helpful. The cabin was OK, on the rustic side (it was one of the older ones). The bed was a bit uncomfortable, and we could hear our neighbor through the wall. I'd probably suggest one of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Navalon
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this review

Your kindness is greatly appreciated - thank you for dropping in and for taking the time to write this review . We'd be happy to have you come back again any time and do try one of the newer cabins - they have Beauty Rest beds and are open year around. We've made a note to consider replacing the bed...

North Platte, Nebraska
Reviewed 3 January 2016

We enjoyed the Aspen Cabin over Christmas. It was so quiet and tranquil!! We didn't have any neighbors for our first few days. We had two bedrooms and one large bathroom that served the four of us very well. We loved it and plan to return again sometime!! The owners and staff are wonderful! I would recommend this to anyone!!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ESP721
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this review

A simply unbelievable gift. Thank you so much for sharing your Christmas experience at Pine Rest Cabins as well the kind review and the amazing photo - there is always another perspective when we seek beauty - thank you for yours. We'd be delighted to host you any time of the year and will pass your kindness on to our...

Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Reviewed 8 September 2015

We stayed in the oldest cabin, was very charming but could use a little updating. Very clean though and the owners were very nice and kind. Was a little closer to the road than I had hoped for and the road is busy, so I didn't feel like I was totally 'in nature'.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Debbie0146287
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this review

So glad you found the cabin clean and charming, though not as "next to nature" as you'd prefer. We couldn't agree with you more, but are thankful for the millions of acres of Black Hills National Fores land around in which we can all freely explore nature without the impingement of commercial development. Thanks for your honest encouragement- it's now...

Holland, Michigan
Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

An older cabin that was adequate for our needs and clean. The owners are gracious but the property needs attention. It is located next to a busy and noisy highway. The very small bathroom has no heat source on a chilly morning. The furniture and window screens are in need of repair. A lower price would have made it more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ToellerNovak
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this review

Glad to hear that you found our place charming and clean - those words of encouragement are very helpful and we will pass them on to our dedicated staff and family. Remember to mention you've stayed with us before and next time you come you will receive the best discount rate for the season, regardless of your length of stay....

Ohio
Reviewed 3 August 2015

We spent 2 days here while enjoying the Black Hills region. We were VERY HAPPY with our cabin. It was clean & comfortable. This cabin had 2 rooms. A queen (tv & dvd) in one room & twin bunk beds in the other which worked perfectly for our 2 teenagers. The kitchenette had a sink, small refrigerator, microwave & an...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Shara P
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this review

So glad your stay in the Dakota Cabin was great. It is rewarding to be able to provide a place where families can let go of the stresses of a busy life and connect in a special way. Thank you for the detailed and thoughtful review. May the happy memories of your vacation in the Black Hills linger with your...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 27 July 2015

I have to start out by saying that the people who run the cabins are lovely. Very kind and courteous. However, I also need to be honest and say we were disappointed in our cabin. It is indeed right along the major thoroughfare leading to Mount Rushmore, not nestled in the woods. Also, the lighting in our cabin was so...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ALKDC4
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this review

Oh shoot.

Reviewed 19 July 2015 via mobile

We found this place by accident and what a jewel. Thankfully they had a cabin open as we had not planned ahead and made reservations. We had a one room with a king bed, kitchenette and bathroom. There was also a grill and table and chairs outside. The hot tub was wonderful after a day of sight seeing. The owners...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dnthmn515
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this review

Your review made our day. Thank you for your kind words and sharing those pictures - so glad you dropped in and liked our Cottage Suite #10 , the flowers , and views from the front porch . We'd be delighted to have you as our guests should you get another chance to travel this way.... 'til we meet again...

Lacrosse Wi
Reviewed 13 July 2015

We were under the impression we would have a small cabin out in the woods where we could enjoy the evening on our front porch. Well it is in the black hills but your front porch is about 10 paces to one of the busiest highways in the black hills you can not even hear each other speak inside the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kevin S
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this review

My gut instinct was to defend ourselves and our many return guests who love the cabin you were in, some of whom over the years have even said "don't change a thing". Unbeknownst to you , we did change quite a few things ; however , your impression still matters and we are taking it under consideration. Of course our...

108 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hill City hotels
6.7 km away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
2.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
2.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
174 reviews
16.5 km away
Coyote Blues Village B&B
Coyote Blues Village B&B
#6 of 12 in Hill City
178 reviews
1.2 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Perfect location for day trips anywhere in the Black Hills. Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park all less than 20 minutes from your furnished cabin. Mickelson trail less than one mile. The ambiance of history with plenty of modern comforts makes Pine Rest Cabins your perfect cabin getaway. Hot Tub, Sauna, Cable TV, Wi-Fi . Just one mile south of the friendly mountain town of Hill City. Welcoming guests to the Black Hillsof South Dakota since 1911. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pine Rest Cabins

Address: Hwy 16-385, 1 Mile South on Hwy 16-385, PO Box 377, Hill City, SD
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Price Range: €64 - €242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Pine Rest Cabins Hotel Hill City
Pine Rest Hotel
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hill City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pine Rest Cabins staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Pine Rest Cabins staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“3 Pines Cabin was beautiful and cozy”
melissagG6220FO, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try to get in the back away from the highway.”
174beverlyt, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Newer cabins would be better. It's right on the highway, but there wasn't much traffic at night.”
Navalon, 14 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Location to Mt. Rush is great, but needs a lot of maintenance”
ALKDC4, 27 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Go to a different place”
kevinsN6796HJ, 13 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5