We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN Hickok House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Hickok House
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

259 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Hickok House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 251: English reviews
crown point, United States
Reviewed 9 July 2016

Just about every summer I and 5 of my friends from home ride our harleys to Deadwood and meet a friend from Washington there. He also brings 2 of his friends with him. We stay at your hotel and have a great time. We stay around 4 days and just love Deadwood. Good riding, good food, nice casino and very...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dale T
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Dale, Normally I would not reply to you so personally, however I feel I need to make an exception this time. Thank you for such kind words. We truly enjoy having your group of friends here with us. You guys are a lot of fun to be around. We are glad that you are so happy with your stays with...

Fay
Reviewed 8 July 2016

Our stay at the Best Western Hickok House was very comfortable. The rooms were clean. Our room was big but our kids room was not. Ask for a bigger room. The staff was very friendly and courteous. Would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicki I
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

I am glad we were able to make your stay comfortable. Our rooms with one queen are smaller rooms. I do strongly recommend reserving a room with a king bed or two queens if you want to have a lot of space. We are glad you will say with us again if in Deadwood. If there is anything we can...

Medina, Ohio
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Our family of 5 spent 1 night here in early July 2016. We requested, and received, adjoining rooms - Room 225 and Room 226. The rooms were located on the 2nd floor in the northern extents of the complex. The distance from our car to a set of stairs to the exterior accessed rooms was minimal. Over the last 4...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wahoo__bMedina
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. We love hearing the positive feedback. While it is hard to hear that we fell short in some areas we appreciate your honesty as it provides us with information on how we can improve for our guests. I am glad you had a peaceful stay...

Medina, Ohio
Reviewed 6 July 2016

We were disappointed that we did not get a non-smoking room - although we requested one. We had planned to stay two nights... checked out after one due to the cigarette odor in the room. Was not greeted as a Platinum BW rewards member. When I told the clerk we were checking out early - and complained about the odor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deborah R
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

I am sorry you were not greeted properly as a Platinum member. Please note this is not a normal occurrence. We value our Best Western Rewards Members. Please know that your business is important to us. When making reservations online or thru a separate reservation agency always call the hotel to make sure that all your requests have been relayed...

Boulder, Colorado
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Older, worn out property but kept in very good condition. Clean enough. Perhaps this is average for deadwood. It appeared a good value given some of the others which where cheaper but the pictures looked scary

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MJHBLDR
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. Our staff is very dedicated to providing our guests with a clean and comfortable lodging. WE hope that you will consider staying with us again while you are in Deadwood. It would allow us another opportunity to show you how much our guests matter to us. We appreciate you taking...

White Rock, Canada
Reviewed 24 June 2016

Over the course of a 19 day motorcycle ride we stayed in 6 different BW's as well as other motel chains. This BW was a disappointment. Ground floor room was dark and dingy. Empty spaces where a fridge and microwave used to be, but no more. Attached restaurant but no 'included' breakfast for guests.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heather1370
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not have a great stay with us. We have never had fridges or microwaves in our room. I do understand that these are becoming more desired from our guests. I know some of our rooms are in corners. If you would like a lighter room with a view please just let us know. We...

State College, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 16 June 2016

Staff was pleasant, room was spacious. Parking was a little tight because the hotel was filled the night we spent there. Casino is small be adequate. Although this hotel is at the end of town, it only takes about three minutes to drive into the main strip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mgblady
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest. We are happy to know you found our accommodations to your satisfaction. Our small casino allows us to provide a more personal atmosphere. We hope that you will be our guest again the next time you are in Deadwood.

Cathedral City, California
Reviewed 7 June 2016

This was a nice retreat after a day spent touring The Badlands and Mt. Rushmore (the scenic drive up from Rushmore was spectacular!). The staff were pleasant and accommodating and informed us about the trolley car as a means to touring the downtown area. Overall, this BW was quite pleasant -the rooms were very clean and spacious; we were given...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are so happy that you had a great time while you stayed with us. Our goal is to make sure you have a clean, comfortable room. Deadwood is truly one of the last wild west towns in the country. We are proud of our history and try to keep it alive. I...

Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Reviewed 6 June 2016

In retrospect, in planning our vacation, I wouldn't have tried to stay in Deadwood, as all the hotels there are overpriced. But I did, and in attempt to save some money, stayed at this place, which was about a 20-minute walk from downtown. I regret it. The rooms were dated and musty. The toilet was noisy and seemed to run...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smal0057
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

We would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. We would have gladly moved you to another room had we been made aware of your displeasure with you room. We have a maintenance person available 24 hours for any situations that could arise, such as a running toilet or heaters/AC not working. We do not have microwaves or fridges...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 2 June 2016

The staff make the place,from check in,to checking out and everything in between.We loved the food,and the Maintenance Man was Jay and he had a Dog named hank,and I would have a pipe on the patio every night,and hank would come running around the corner to see me,with jay hot on his tail.The rest of the staff left nice little...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jerry C
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We are so glad that you felt at home because we do want our guests to feel welcome and be comfortable. Hank has become our new welcoming pet. He loves to meet people. We truly are blessed to have the staff we do. We hope you will come see us again...

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
2.0 km away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.6 km away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.3 km away
Cadillac Jacks Gaming Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
3.1 km away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#4 of 24 in Deadwood
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hickok House

Address: 137 Charles Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Price Range: €50 - €302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hickok House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hickok House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hickok House Hotel Deadwood
Best Western Deadwood
Deadwood Best Western
Hotel Style:
#14 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Hickok House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Hickok House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for room 106 or 107”
 of 5 bubbles simpydone, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the café and casino”
 of 5 bubbles TechyD, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms were available for motorcycle enthusiasts.”
 of 5 bubbles R7459BCkathleenm, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“This is a motor Inn (drive up outside door)”
 of 5 bubbles UtopiaCentral, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Our room was directly above the front lobby where you go into check in and out. We faced the parking lot.”
 of 5 bubbles Alloha2011, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay