We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tropical Seas Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Tropical Seas Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

207 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tropical Seas Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 204: English reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

The room smaller than it appears in the pictures. It is also much dirtier. There was hair in the sink, the tub and floor. A quick glance and it is not seen. The beds are not comfortable. I should have been suspicious when we got there and there was a couple of big signs about NO REFUNDS FOR EARLY CHECK...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nancy S
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

I have shared your feedback and comments to the entire management team. I sincerely apologize about the headboard falling off the wall and that the beds were uncomfortable for you. I'm sorry that impacted your vacation stay with us.

Fairfield, Connecticut
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Its an older Hotel. Very Clean, the people are very nice, so polite. they have two pools and a hot tub. I would recommend this hotel to anyone! right on the beach, you have an ocean view from every hotel room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IrenV59
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on trip advisor.

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Our family has been staying at Tropical Seas for years! I personally have stayed her 3 different times. We always stay about 10 Days. We know this is not a luxury hotel. But the price was great and right on the beach. In the past the rooms were always clean just out dated. This year our family had a total...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

It is very disappointing that your room was not as it should have been. Please know that we have already addressed this with housekeeping and maintenance and are taking steps to prevent this from happening again. We appreciate you letting us know.

Smyrna, Georgia
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

Booked on hotels. Com can't he a refund even thou I am canceling because of a death in my family. And found out my brother has cancer my dad died in March of this I really need this get away but the lovely lady at the desk. Has no compassion and told me everyone is dishonest. That's was so nice...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank clhooked
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

So sorry for your losses. We do offer 1 date change to guests when they are calling to cancel. However you reserved through a 3rd party so all changes need to be made through them. Sorry it was such a hassle during your sad time.

Owen Sound
Reviewed 8 August 2016

I read the review of customer complaining about this hotel and the inside room that they had rented. Well obviously you did not listen to the front desk staff! They always stress to customers enquiring about these cheap rooms, that THERE IS NO VIEW !!! Only small windows that overlook the corridor. I have sat in the lounge during winter...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kinglimey
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you!

Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

My wife and i booked for 3 nights and had to leave before we could even stay the 1st. On paper this room seemed very nice. It had a kitchenette and new flat screen tv. We understood the room was probably going to be a little outdated, but that wasn't a deal breaker. We can live with less amenities, but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MatTodd
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

We are looking into these issues in an effort to prevent them from happening in the future. Thanks for the comments and for letting us know.

Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

After a miscommunication among coworkers we were left with no reservation 9 days before our summer trip and one call to Denise made it all great again!! We were greeted in the parking lot as we arrived because she waited on us to pull in before leaving to go home!! We were comfortable, happy and had the best , most...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mellonie A
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for the wonderful review. See you soon.

Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

This is the worst hotel I've ever seen or stayed at! The front desk is a mad house no one is organized they lost my license when they went to make a copy, they only gave us one parking pass when we had two cars so we had to pay for parking all week, they give you real keys and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Morgan T
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. After reviewing the security cameras your license was put back on the counter for you. As for parking, we allow 1 parking space per room.

Madison, Indiana
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

This place is out dated. Access to the beach is perfect, 2 nice sized pools is a plus. The kids really enjoyed the beach. I would spend my money here again if the owner would spend some money on renovation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tayderbrother15
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

Tropical Seas has been around for a long time. There are always things that need to be updated when taking care of a property. We read all comments and try to accommodate guest requests. Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us..

Reviewed 24 July 2016

Someone told me this was a nice hotel to stay at. I drove two days to get here and I am so disappointed. I just want to turn around and go home but I can't because my daughter is in a competition. This is a vacation and I am counting down the hours till I can go home. We are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Misty C
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry you didn't enjoy your inside room. We have never offered breakfast here that's why our prices are lower.

93 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (75)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 km away
Sea Horn Motel
Sea Horn Motel
#144 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
136 reviews
0.2 km away
Sun N Sand Resort
Sun N Sand Resort
#97 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
888 reviews
1.1 km away
The Reef at South Beach
The Reef at South Beach
#150 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#138 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
663 reviews
0.6 km away
Holiday Sands South
Holiday Sands South
#67 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
536 reviews
5.0 km away
Myrtle Beach Resort
Myrtle Beach Resort
#61 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tropical Seas Hotel is located on the southern end of Myrtle Beach featuring beautiful guest rooms, efficiencies, and suites with private balconies and fully equipped kitchens. This beautiful oceanfront facility also features two sparkling oceanfront pools, a large sun deck, Jacuzzi, and a seasonal Pizza Restaurant. Tropical Seas is located just 5 minutes from the Myrtle Beach International Airport and provides easy access to area attractions, numerous golf courses, shopping and restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tropical Seas Hotel

Address: 2807 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4853
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Price Range: €38 - €165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropical Seas Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Tropical Seas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tropical Seas
Hotel Style:
#68 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tropical Seas Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
over a year ago
6 months ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Tropical Seas Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Better view from upper floors.”
 of 5 bubbles rrandall2, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“oceanfront definitely, great views”
 of 5 bubbles JustMe52_10, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“every room has a oceanview”
 of 5 bubbles IrenV59, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We like the higher floors.”
 of 5 bubbles kinglimey, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't believe the streetfront rooms have windows.”
 of 5 bubbles ebbtide2, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay