We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Midtown Inn & Cottages

Expedia.comUS$101*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 44: English reviews
Start your review of The Midtown Inn & Cottages
 Click to rate
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms are up to par and are newly renovated, PERFECT VIEW of the city and the ocean and there could not be a better location- in the heart of Myrtle Beach. 1 street over from the beach, walking distance to great restaurants, shopping, mini golf and bars, a pool located on property and plenty of monitored parking for guests. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ktboo96
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Used to be a wonderful place. A little older but loved. Previous owners were fabulous! We even had their cell numbers. We always stayed there out of loyalty to such wonderful people. New owners aren't the same at all. Was told that we had to have a 3 night minimum because of the expense in updating the property and buying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarsonDandP
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here in January for a residency interview. The hotel is located in a nice area with plenty of food and recreation close by. It was affordable and the staff was very friendly. The area was also quite, but I was visiting during off-season, so I can't comment on the noise level during peak season. Regardless, I would definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emmanuelu0
Jaret H, Owner at The Midtown Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

Thanks Emmanuel! Just so everyone knows, we are in the middle of downtown and the boardwalk district. That being said, during peak season it can get quite loud, especially on the weekends. We do have the luxury of a little buffer between us and the boulevard, as we are not right on it. Hoping the interview went well, and you...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The only positives are that it is very close to the beach, the staff was friendly, and there was free parking. We stayed for 3 nights, and the room appeared to be clean in general, but the carpet felt dirty. The A/C also did not cool the room even though we left it on constantly. On the morning of checkout...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeAnn C
Jaret H, Owner at The Midtown Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We are in the process of removing carpet from the building in its entirety. The sand is virtually impossible to get away from, even with the best of vacuums. We are already at 75% of our rooms with new hardwood floors, these are so much easier to keep the sand out of. We keep a...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked through a 3rd party and the place was a dump. TV didn't work and no telephone in room. Stayed up all night because people sat outside our door. Needs to be updated. Slept in my clothes. Ice machine didn't work. The older guy at the front desk was friendly and it was close to the boardwalk.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D J
Jaret H, Manager at The Midtown Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

Are you sure you stayed at The Midtown? We do not do any third party bookings? No problems such as these you mentioned have been brought to anyones attention, I feel sure if the ice machine or televisions didn't work we would know? The ice machine has only been turned off briefly to clean & the televisions are all brand...

Waukesha, Wisconsin
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Booked this hotel after seeing the reviews on here. Hotel nothing fancy and not on the ocean but super clean and had everything you need for very affordable rate! We were on the 3rd floor and could see the ocean from the balcony (not a private one, but chairs to sit outside). Probably about 2 blocks down. Could also see...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 373VickyM
Jaret H, Owner at The Midtown Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

I just read this to the wife and you made her day! She is fanning her eyes like she is gonna cry! Thanks so much Vicky! This review is why we do it! Come again!

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Wanted to give the place a chance after reading some of the reviews on here. Never again. Staff was friendly and it's located in a very convenient part of the beach but that was about it. Rooms were not clean shower pressure was very low and in an area with all panhandlers were always on the property. So learned my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee C
Jaret H, Owner at The Midtown Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

First time I've heard anything about shower pressure! If the room wasn't clean please let the front desk know! We do not allow panhandlers on the property!!! They are in the downtown area, but there isn't much we can do about that. Always bring concerns to management before you let small things ruin your stay, we are here to make...

perrysburg,ny
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

We chose to stay here because of the affordable price. All we wanted was a clean room to sleep. When we arrived the staff was very friendly and even made sure it was ok that our room was on the 4th floor. The room was clean with a few issues they were aware of needed fixing, nothing too big. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kriscroft
Sterling, Virginia
Reviewed 29 March 2017

We stayed at the Midtown Inn for 3 nights in late March. It's a nice budget hotel 2 blocks from the beach. It was an easy walk to the beach with chairs and beach supplies. The Room: The rooms facing the ocean have recently been remodeled with new laminate floors. They have small kitchenettes and are basic and clean. Double...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CookieMonster22030
Lancaster
Reviewed 21 February 2017

I booked this hotel without by looking at reviews. Upon arrival I realized that I have passed by this place many times without giving it second thoughts because it was older. What a surprise upon entering my room. First impression was the room smelled wonderful, clean and refreshing. The floors were a nice update wood look. The restroom were super...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
Jaret H, Guest Relations Manager at The Midtown Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

Thanks a million! Can't wait to see you again! Jaret

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.4 km away
Mystic Sea Resort
Mystic Sea Resort
#125 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
153 reviews
0.6 km away
Holiday Sands North
Holiday Sands North
#78 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
566 reviews
4.4 km away
Red Roof Inn Myrtle Beach Hotel - Market Commons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#34 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
2,180 reviews
4.4 km away
Sea Horn Motel
Sea Horn Motel
#131 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
146 reviews
0.7 km away
Admiral Motor Inn
Admiral Motor Inn
#40 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Midtown Inn & Cottages

Address: 309 8th Ave N, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3711
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Price Range: €58 - €128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Midtown Inn & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Midtown Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mid Town Hotel
Hotel Style:
#64 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Midtown Inn & Cottages staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Essex, Canada
11 months ago
11 months ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Midtown Inn & Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No elevator so pick a lower floor is stairs are an issue, top floors and south side will have less outside noise”
ktboo96, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“Any oceanside room from floors 2-4 havea good view of the ocean. Not handicapped accessible...so upper floors require climbing stairs.”
CookieMonster22030, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Request a front suite”
SandraC798, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing Ocean Blvd. Upper levels have best view of ocean.”
Reckless66, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Read all the reviews and ask questions”
pinkaminap2016, 1 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$101* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$101
Orbitz.comUS$101
Hotels.comUS$101
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates