We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Carolina Tarheel Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Carolina Tarheel Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

14 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 14: English reviews
Dayton, Ohio
Reviewed 3 September 2016

My girlfriend and I stayed for 4 days and we really enjoyed ourselves! The beach was right across the street and there were a lot of shops and attractions near by. A/C was cold, the room was clean, and a maid always came by with fresh towels and washcloths. The only negatives were a few bugs in the room and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank antoinehill84
William B, General Manager at Carolina Tarheel Motel, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We spray the property monthly for insects and I apologize if you had any live bugs in your room.

Brunswick, Ohio
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

Put my mother in law up here for 3 nights. When she arrived the first night there were no towels in the room or toilet paper, she had to use her own tissues from her purse. When she tried to use the phone to call the desk , it didn't work. Only furniture in the room was the bed and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GreeneLantern
William B, Manager at Carolina Tarheel Motel, responded to this review

I want to apologize for the issues your mother experienced. I wish she had brought these concerns to my attention during her stay. The phone has since been replaced. We spray for pests monthly. The room your mother had is the same room pictured on Expedia. It has a king size bed, nightstand, and dresser. All of our televisions are...

Reviewed 16 December 2015

I stayed here for a weekend getaway and the price and location was perfect. It was not too expensive for it to only be 1 block from the beach. The room was very clean and also had a pool. It is family owned/operated and the staff was very helpful with must-see attractions in the area and hidden jewels only residents...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Adrian W
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 16 August 2015

My boyfriend and I decided at the last minute to stay here for a quick weekend getaway. The room was clean and the a/c was pumping out cool air. Our room was right in front of the pool so it was nice to walk out and jump right in the pool. The motel was walking distance to the beach and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kendra G
Dunnsville, Virginia
Reviewed 26 July 2015

It is a good hotel , good value,very clean rooms,close to all , i will stay there again when in Myrtle Beach,the staff is very friendly. it is worth saving the extra money from staying on the beach, it is across the street from the beach walking distance to the board walk, and restaurants,for a cheap get away it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chessiemaye
William B, Manager at Carolina Tarheel Motel, responded to this review

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 12 July 2015 via mobile

I am going to start with the positives here: my family (2 adults, 2 teens and 1 child) booked this motel for 2 night's arriving on July 9th. The room was basic but large, with 2 queen size beds and lots of space around them, a good size bathroom and a good size kitchen area and it was very clean....

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank SineadMc123
William B, Manager at Carolina Tarheel Motel, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I would like to apologize for the lack of a phone in the room. It is in the process of being resolved. We are currently working with our internet provider to increase our or wife's range and speed.

Banner Elk, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 July 2015

We had a nice stay at the Carolina Tarheel Motel. It is an older motel, but very clean, quiet and in a great location. Can't beat it for the price. The staff was friendly, the ac was cold and it had a family-friendly atmosphere. We will be staying again!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Robin R
William B, Manager at Carolina Tarheel Motel, responded to this review

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do strive to maintain a family-friendly atmosphere, and we hope that you will return to see us again soon.

Reviewed 2 July 2015 via mobile

Booked accomodation on Expedia, turned up & was told my booking was cancelled even though I had text & email confirmation from Expedia. The family run hotel had no rooms left, obviously got a better rate from a walk in....left stranded it cost us an extra $40US to find something else. Most of all he couldn't care less....DO NOT STAY...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Maria S
William B, Manager at Carolina Tarheel Motel, responded to this review

We would never cancel a reservation because we thought we could get a better rate from someone else. You had a text that confirmed that you made a reservation through Expedia. The hotel had not confirmed your reservation due to an issue with your credit card. I provided you with the cancellation letter through Expedia. It is unfair to say...

Stockholm, New Jersey
Reviewed 30 June 2015 via mobile

To start off. . The tub drainer has paint over it to hide the rust Mirror cracked and peeling Room smells like chlorine Ac not properly installed(you can see outside from inside) TV is clearly broken and has a purple green fade to it Bedspread smelt like dirty laundry Office was not open for us to check in and get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pikagirlrose
William B, Manager at Carolina Tarheel Motel, responded to this review

I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I wish you would have expressed these concerns with management while you were here. We do use bleach to clean the bathrooms, and it is possible that is the chlorine smell you referred to. I would also like to apologize if your room was not ready upon your arrival. We...

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, United States
Reviewed 2 October 2012

After shopping weekly room rates for weeks I decided to stay at The Carolina Tarheel based on the price and location. My room including the refrigerator and microwave is spotless and my shower curtain is brand new. When I checked in my window air conditioning unit did not turn on. when I reported it to the Manager on Duty he...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank rtramfield

7 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.4 km away
Schooner II Beach/Racquet Club
Schooner II Beach/Racquet Club
#88 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
92 reviews
0.9 km away
The Palms
The Palms
#93 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
407 reviews
0.7 km away
Meridian Plaza
Meridian Plaza
#126 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Mid Town Motor Inn
Mid Town Motor Inn
#92 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
34 reviews
0.5 km away
Aqua Beach Inn
Aqua Beach Inn
#45 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
492 reviews
0.1 km away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#138 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Pool
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Carolina Tarheel is a small, quiet, family-owned motel located on the corner of 18th Avenue North and Withers Drive in downtown Myrtle Beach. We are within walking distance to the beach, restaurants, nightlife, a grocery store, and many other attractions. We offer rooms with one, two, or three beds. One parking space per room is available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Carolina Tarheel Motel

Address: 1801 Withers Dr, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3231
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Price Range: €55 - €106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Carolina Tarheel Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Carolina Tarheel Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carolina Tarheel Hotel Myrtle Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Carolina Tarheel Motel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Alexandria
5 months ago
Buffalo, New York

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Carolina Tarheel Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The pool is a salt water pool. Motel is old but kept up very well. Front side is best.”
 of 5 bubbles 177adrianw, 16 Dec 2015 | Read review
1 of 1
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay