We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,149 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 4,134: English reviews
Start your review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
 Click to rate
Knoxville
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Older property that is well maintained. Friendly staff. Clean room and easy accessibility to the beach. Compass Rose restaurant serves great breakfast. Location is south of the "hustle", but close enough.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larry S
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

From the beginning I purchased one room for two nights on trip advisor. When we got to the hotel it was already packed full of people the lines inside the lobby were almost out the door for people checking in. I walked up said I had a room for my family and I they said oh you have two reservations...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Talia B
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I took my 8 year old daughter to Compass Cove for spring break, we stayed 4 days. She had a great time and I enjoyed it too, lots of pools for all to enjoy, they had bands, Easter egg hunt and more. Front desk staff was friendly and food was great. On the other hand, housekeeping sucked, the worst housekeeping...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jennifer L
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Took a quick weekend trip to celebrate our anniversary. Room was clean, service was good. For families this is a good choice to vacation at, but if you're interested in a quiet get away maybe consider other options, a lot of kids and they are noisy. We didn't use the indoor pool that has 2 water slides because of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mark m
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

First I have just one word for this place - GHETTTOOOOO! Seriously. First Chatted with a very rude little girl on Chat about reservations. Her name was TanyaM. She had the personality of a goat. Very rude and after I was forced to ask several questions repeatedly, she finally came back with something that is not publicly advertised. Which is...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Mt042017
ShanikwaFordham, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Hello Mt042017, Thank you for your recent review of the Compass Cove. I would like to apologize for your experience when attempting to make reservations. Although it is no excuse, it sounds like you may have gotten our call center instead of the property directly. I am sorry that neither the agent you were chatting with nor the agent you...

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

This resort is not new or elegant but you get plenty of amenities for your buck. Our room was dated but clean and had all we needed with a view, but who goes to spend time in your room. Beds were comfortable. There were plenty of unsupervised children and the pools were busy, therefore they brought a lot of sand...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob K
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Economical, Good Room Location, Nice Housekeeper, Good Movies. Clogged bathroom sink upon arrival, shower curtain had to be replaced upon arrival, hot tub had a little trash in it, around it and wasn't hot.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JLYLES10
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We have been staying at compass cove for the past 17 yrs and the past few years we keep hoping it will improve. We stay in a 3 bedroom condo and it needs updating as well as a deep cleaning. The carpet is so dirty the bottoms of our feet are filthy by the end of the day. Today I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Melissa T
ShanikwaFordham, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Hello Melissa T, Thank you for your recent review of the Compass Cove. I am sorry to hear that your room was less than desirable. That is definitely not the standard that we strive to achieve. I do apologize that you were misinformed in regard to daily cleaning services and that the agent taking your call was rude. You should...

Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Rooms were Average. Staff in the restaurants were great. Restaurant food was fine. Security on the property was poor and several situations occurred with and between guest because of this making the stay not feel safe. If it were not for the security situations and the loading and unloading I think I would rate as Average.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tdoan2017
ShanikwaFordham, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Hello tdoan2017, Thank you for your recent review of the Compass Cove Resort. I am pleased that you enjoyed our restaurants during you stay with us. I do apologize for any situations that arose between guests that made you feel unsafe. Our Loss Prevention staff is constantly walking our property as well as monitoring all video cameras in order to...

Reviewed 1 week ago

I was in Myrtle for an early business meeting on a Wednesday morning. I planned on making the trip back home to the Atlanta area after the meeting, but plans changed when the began late and ended late. I wanted to see the water. I made a reservation online, and then headed to Compass Cove. They could not find my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gswells50

1,361 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1333)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (233)
Viewed
Room/Suite (210)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (197)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
View from Room (141)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (12)
Viewed
1:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (483)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 km away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,895 reviews
11.8 km away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3,043 reviews
5.8 km away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#26 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 km away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#38 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
2,361 reviews
6.4 km away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#27 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
2,982 reviews
6.2 km away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#19 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4744
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Price Range: €95 - €301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort staff and other travellers.
100 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (100)

Questions? Get answers from Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Call someone else! Seriously.”
Mt042017, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Please make sure sink isn't clogged, check curtain for mold/mildew and try to keep hot tubs sanitary, hot and free from horseplay of tweens(kids).”
JLYLES10, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room 761. The fridge blocks the room door from opening and housekeeping even said they have been dealing with it for years.”
TJvisitor, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Housekeeping was not efficient.”
Susan052468, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Be sure to specify "oceanfront"...it's different than "oceanview"”
U4274WOanthonyp, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5