We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

MainStay Suites

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
MainStay Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for MainStay Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 187: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2016 via mobile

While visiting the Charleston area, my wife and I chose to stay at the Main Stay Suites in Mt Pleasant. While it does not give you the same feel that staying in the historic district would, we found it to be convenient to everything we needed and in a safe location. The staff was friendly and the room was very...

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Dear wonderful stay. Thanks so much for writing a review of your experience. We're so glad that you enjoyed your time in the beautiful Low Country!

Salisbury, Vermont
Reviewed 20 May 2016

I will start off by saying the staff are wonderful. It wasn't my best experience. I wasn't thrilled with the room, but for a budget it was ok. The first morning my toilet was backed up. Called front desk, they put in order for maintenance. Then went to use the safe and that didn't work. Put in another call. Then...

1Thank Elizabeth B
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth B, We apologize that you encountered maintenance issues with your room. Our goal is to offer a guest experience that "Wows." I regret that we let you down.

Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

This hotel is a big no bueno. Surrounded by other hotels and motels thia place barely tries to be accommodating and most of all clean. Rust in the tub from a leaky faucet, trash never taken out and GOD forbid if you ask for turnover service. Their lack of staffing makes this ideal location a big no no.

Thank Jessica C
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Dear Jessica, We regret that Mainstay Suites did not meet your expectations. We are respectful that extended stay hotels with limited housekeeping is not always the best fit for guests who desire full housekeeping services and a full hot breakfast. We wish you a great summer!

San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed 8 May 2016

My family chose a two room suite for what was supposed to be the better part of a week stay but, sadly, had to leave early due to uncontrollable circumstances. The hotel was very clean, comfortable and the staff was incredibly friendly! We did have a billing problem but the staff took care of it without me having to hound...

Thank GregSCSA
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Dear Greg, Thank you for choosing Mainstay Suites! We appreciated the opportunity to earn your business. So sorry that your vacation was cut short, but hope that you can come back soon.

Saint Louis
Reviewed 27 April 2016

My wife and I were very pleased with this hotel. We were only in town for 3 days and we just needed a place to stay that didn't cost an arm and a leg. Our trip was going to involve pretty much just downtown but, everything downtown cost us more than we were willing to pay. Mainstay cost us at...

Thank Kevin M
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Dear Kevin, Thank you for taking a chance and staying on our side of the bridge! I'm sure that other TripAdvisor readers will find your information about the value and ease of staying on the Mt. Pleasant side of the bridge helpful. The hotel is in the process of a complete bathroom renovation project, and we apologize that your shower...

Reviewed 23 April 2016 via mobile

This hotel is OK if you are on a budget. I probably wouldn't stay here again though just for the fact that the rooms do not seem very clean. We were only staying for one night so I didn't really feel the need to let the front desk know about the room condition, but I would have if we were...

Thank Amanda4530
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Dear Amanda, Thank you for staying at Mainstay Suites and for mentioning our friendly front desk staff. It is our goal to offer service that Wows! We apologize that the condition of your room did not meet your expectation.

Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

Needs renovation...getting a renovation. Unfortunately I got a room in sore need. Dated and worn but clean. Full kitchen setup was nice for an extended stay. Good location near the bridge and pier. Very fun pond out the back doors. Baby turtles galore. Didnt see the alligator. Loads of restaurants nearby and less than ten minutes to downtown. Give them...

1Thank Malory P
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Dear Malory, Thank you for mentioning our good location and the pond that is located in back of the hotel. As you noted, total bathroom renovations are underway, with half of the hotel completed. Appreciated you mentioning our close proximity to restaurants and Historic downtown Charleston.

Lancaster, South Carolina
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

Just spent the weekend here and I have to say it has been our favorite out of the many budget friendly hotels we have stayed in around Charleston the last few years. I'm sure there are "nicer" hotels but none I want to pay the extra price for. We were greeted by a very friendly front desk. The room was...

Thank lovecharlestonsc
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for being a repeat guest of Mainstay Suites. We look forward to seeing you again in September!!

Hilliard, Ohio
Reviewed 14 April 2016

My husband and I travelled to Charleston to do the Civil War thing. Well, and all the other Touristy things too lol. This area was close enough to downtown, yet relatively cheap, and had good reviews. I really liked the room. For a couple, it was enough room. The kitchenette makes it even CHEAPER because you don't have to eat...

Thank Patricia W
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Dear Patricia, Thank you for being our guest and for sharing your experience. Our designer just recently finished updating the back patio and has really created a little oasis back there. So nice of you to mention that area. We hope that your travels bring you back our way.

Hartsville, South Carolina
Reviewed 11 April 2016

Our stay here was exceptional !!! The staff was friendly and so helpful in every way. We stayed in Room 117 and were very pleased with all of the amenities. We were close to everything that we wanted to do like USS Yorktown and Schooner Pride. The location is GREAT in every way. Our room was very clean, bath was...

Thank Roberta N H
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Happy belated birthday to your husband!! Thank you for celebrating it in the beautiful Low Country. Roberta, we appreciated you taking the time to write a review of your experience. Sure hope to y'all again soon!

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (43)
Hotel & Grounds (5)
View from Room (1)
Bathroom (8)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Room/Suite (8)
Dining (1)
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (23)
Room/Suite (1)
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Pleasant hotels
0.1 km away
Sleep Inn Mount Pleasant
Sleep Inn Mount Pleasant
#15 of 23 in Mount Pleasant
227 reviews
0.1 km away
Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston
Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charle...
#18 of 23 in Mount Pleasant
269 reviews
0.2 km away
Extended Stay America - Charleston - Mt. Pleasant
Extended Stay America - Charlest...
#21 of 23 in Mount Pleasant
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt.
Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt...
#20 of 23 in Mount Pleasant
343 reviews
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Patriots Point
BEST WESTERN Patriots Point
#17 of 23 in Mount Pleasant
611 reviews
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge

Additional Information about MainStay Suites

Address: 400 Magrath Darby Blvd, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464-2971
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Price Range: €99 - €184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your MainStay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Hotel Mount Pleasant
Mainstay Suites Mount Pleasant
Main Stay Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from MainStay Suites staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from MainStay Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You might get a view of the swamp if you stay on the back side.”
 of 5 bubbles MLPerry, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We stayed on 3rd floor so no one was above us and the Halls were quiet at night.”
 of 5 bubbles wvtravelman, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Get a room away from the laundry. The view of the back of the property is best.”
 of 5 bubbles queenbeeizme, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We were on the bottom floor at the back and it was very quiet even with a busy street behind us.”
 of 5 bubbles teknoge3k, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
“My room overlooked the pond. At night the frogs and whatnot in the pond were signing away. They were loud! But a nice kind of music I guess”
 of 5 bubbles elizabethb527, 20 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5