We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

949 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
See the most recent reviews
Showing 939: English reviews
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 10 May 2016

I really enjoyed my trip, however I thought it was quite pricey for the quality of the room. The value wasn't really there. But the breakfast in the morning is a must!!!! I would recommend this place to someone else as long as the rates were significantly less that what I paid which was over $200 a night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DonAustinNC
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear DonAustinNC, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and I am happy to hear you had a great experience. In regards to the comment about the cost of our rooms, we find ourselves comparable to similar properties in our market. While there may be other locations in our brand with different offerings, our team spends a...

Ann Arbor, United States
Reviewed 10 May 2016

This was the rudest staff I've had at any Hilton Property in the world. I've stayed at hundreds. The location is great. Greenville is very nice. The hotel is over priced and the manager was rude. This is not 'Hamptonality' at it's best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason P
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear Jason P, We have attempted to reach out to you personally to further discuss your recent experience. Though we continuously strive for perfection, there is always room for improvement, and I am confident we can learn from our service shortfalls. Should you decide to return, I would be more than happy to personally take care of your requests. Sincerely,...

Pompano Beach, Florida
Reviewed 10 May 2016 via mobile

I like the Hilton brand very much. They seem to be everywhere. The hotel was clean and up to the normal standards. I really appreciate the free coffee in the morning. I would recommend this place. Trying to write a short and concise review but it keeps telling me to write more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank liamsullivan67
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear liamsullivan67, Sometimes all we need for reassurance is a few kind words. Thank you for sharing your thoughts, and I hope others appreciate your short and sweet review. We look forward to welcoming you back! With delight, Patrick Munroe Guest Services Manager Hampton Inn & Suites @RiverPlace

Antioch, United States
Reviewed 8 May 2016

Unbelievable Hampton Inn. Gorgeous facility where the rooms have balconies, upscale bathrooms and other amenities. Incredible location and views. Close to many downtown restaurants shops and retail stores.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth B
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear Kenneth B, I am elated to read such a fantastic review! Our balcony rooms do a great job allowing you to fully enjoy the fresh air while enjoying the fantastic views. I agree that it's the little things, like the 24hr coffee and tea station, that add to such a relaxing vacation. When you find yourself traveling back to...

Orange Park, Florida
Reviewed 6 May 2016

Hotel very clean rooms nice location but for over two hundred dollars a night I should not have to drive two minutes down the road to a ymca to swim an did not know this til I checked in nothing on the website when I booked the room very disappointed at that from the Hampton so be informed

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Desitp
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear Desitp, Thank you for your comments. I apologize you were under the impression we had a pool, but we do not advertise anywhere on our website that we do have one at our location. Since we do not offer this amenity, the YMCA allows our guests to utilize their facilities complimentary. I am sorry you feel you were ill-informed,...

Cincinnati, United States
Reviewed 2 May 2016

This hotel is in the perfect location situated right on the river with direct access to the park and walking paths. Staff was extremely helpful, even very late at night with check in and directions. Local shopping and dining is within walking distance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teresa W
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear Teresa W, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a review of Hampton Inn & Suites @Riverplace. I am thrilled to learn that our central location and accommodations fit your needs and I thank you for writing such kind words. If there is anything I can do in the future to make your next stay more...

Hilton Head, South Carolina
Reviewed 1 May 2016

Great stay!!!! Everything from check in to check out was wonderful. Comfortable beds and rooms were very clean. Every staff member was very accommodating and friendly. We will stay here again when in town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank I5098DGteresam
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear I5098DGteresam, I appreciate you taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. It pleases me to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Our Housekeeping staff does a phenomenal job ensuring that each room is meticulously cleaned, while our Engineers make sure the mattresses are flipped for maximum comfort. Thank you again for your comments and please let...

Versailles, Kentucky
Reviewed 1 May 2016

Very clean,great staff! Provided print out directions for am appt very easy. Buffet great and clean. Great comfy beds! Perfect spot in town to stay and look forward to staying again to checking out resturants close by!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia G
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear Julia G, Thank you for the great words! I am happy to read that you were able to enjoy yourself, even if it was only for a night. It seems we made a great first impression so we can be your hotel of choice when returning to Greenville, SC. I hope the doctor's appointment went well and we can...

Fleming Island, FL
Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed 3 days at the Hampton River place. It was in a great location on Reedy River just up the street from Falls Park. It was an easy walk to Main Street and all the shops and restaurants. Hotel staff was very helpful and the breakfast was included with a great variety to choose from. I would recommend this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruth C
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear Ruth C, I agree with you 100%! For those looking to enjoy all of what Downtown Greenville has to offer, we have the best location. I like recommending to our guests that they get a full stomach with our fantastic breakfast spread, then walk it off while touring the town. It's great to read that you were able to...

Irmo, South Carolina
Reviewed 30 April 2016

The Greenville Hampton Inn provided a very nice downtown experience and a good meeting location. Service was very good from check in thru departure. Everything was up to our usually great Hampton Inn experience but the room cost seemed pretty high, even for the location. None the less, we would return when in Greenville.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Travel54281
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear Travel54281, I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your Greenville experience, especially at our property. I understand our rates can be more than expected for most Hampton Inns, however our dedicated Sales staff does a fantastic job to ensure our rates are competitive with other local hotels. Please let me know the next time you plan on...

214 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (122)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
3:25
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (92)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.3 km away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
0.4 km away
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
1.0 km away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#10 of 64 in Greenville
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Greenville
Hilton Garden Inn Greenville
#3 of 64 in Greenville
619 reviews
9.2 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Greenville
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Address: 171 Riverplace, Greenville, SC 29601-2579
Region: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Price Range: €146 - €277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#3 Business Hotel in Greenville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Black Mountain, North Carolina
over a year ago
Bethesda, Maryland
7 months ago
over a year ago
USA
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the rounded corner of the building have great views.”
 of 5 bubbles robmL5778IA, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a river view.”
 of 5 bubbles DebC488, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a river view-I didn't have.”
 of 5 bubbles Gatraveler-7, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Balcony is worth having”
 of 5 bubbles franpaulworcs, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask how old the mattresses are”
 of 5 bubbles trixie976, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay