We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Clemson University\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

82 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 81: English reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2015 via mobile

The room was very clean. We enjoyed a nice view of the lake from the room. The breakfast offered was a little above average. The view from the dining area is great - the lake and golf course. There were nice walking and seating areas outside but unfortunately it was too hot when we stayed to take advantage of them....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat S
ClemsonCCI, Public Relations Manager at Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn. Please come back and stay with us when the weather cools down. We have beautiful trails along the lake that connect to our property. It is a beautiful walk during sunset.

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 13 September 2015 via mobile

We had tickets to a Clemson game and decided to stay on campus. The location is great. We were able to walk to the tailgate and stadium. The hotel offers a shuttle but it didn't leave until 11:00 for a 12:30 game. We asked if it could leave earlier for tailgaters or just to see the Tiger Walk (team walking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gerty2012
ClemsonCCI, Public Relations Manager at Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. In December, we will be adding a "Proudly serving Starbucks" Cafe in our connector, so there will be new breakfast options. We recently upgraded our wireless internet and we are currently working out the kinks in new system. Thank you for your input. Your review will help guide us as...

Starkville, Mississippi
Reviewed 2 September 2015

The newly-renovated inn is truly outstanding. The interior arrangement and decorating are great, the exterior landscaping in immaculate, the service was perfect, the free breakfast was delicious and plentiful. I highly recommend this Inn. C.T. Carley Starkville, Mississippi

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ctcarley
ClemsonCCI, Public Relations Manager at Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you for the kind remarks. We have been working hard to make improvements the Conference Center and Inn. Thank you for leaving a "Tip" for other guests. The Walker Golf Course is now ranked #1 collegiate course in SC and #10 nationally by Golfweek Magazine! Come back and stay with us soon.

Reviewed 31 August 2015

The staff was very accommodating and we had a really nice stay at this hotel. It is convenient to the university and the room was clean and comfortable. This is our second say and we will definitely look forward to coming back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jg086
ClemsonCCI, Public Relations Manager at Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the James F. Martin Inn at Clemson University. We appreciate you taking the time to compliment our staff. We look forward to hosting you again!

Cumming, Georgia, USA
Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel. We stayed in a room overlooking the lake and golf course, that was very nicely appointed. The room had two queen beds that slept awesome. Pillows are flat, but two together make it ok. The use of Clemson colors in the decor makes it a neat experience.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rjb1122
ClemsonCCI, Public Relations Manager at Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad that you received a good night's rest in our "pawsitively" perfect bedding! We are very excited about our newly renovated rooms and love hearing positive feedback from our guests.

Reviewed 28 August 2015 via mobile

Visited here for a work lunch with a very pleasant waterfront view. Are & worked on deck facing Lake Hartwell. Tasty food, friendly service & guest Wifi. When you can combine great food, service, water view & get work done; this is a win win. I will certainly be back!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PeterThiele
ClemsonCCI, Public Relations Manager at Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review of the Conference Center and Inn at Clemson University. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your lakeside lunch at Seasons by the lake. Please come and see us soon!

Loveland, Ohio
Reviewed 25 August 2015

I stayed one night after Clemson move in weekend. It was a Sunday evening. The inn is lovely, Very comfortable and clean room. Nicely renovated. My room had a wonderful view. I thought the front desk staff was kind and helpful. The breakfast the next day was an added bonus I hope to return again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tneyshar
ClemsonCCI, Public Relations Manager at Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review! We love our newly renovated rooms and it means so much to know that you do too! We hope that you come back and stay with us soon. Remember to request a room with a view of the beautiful gardens and Lake Hartwell. Thanks, again!

Chesterfield, Michigan
Reviewed 24 August 2015

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding which was taking place at the hotel, and had a suite. I could not believe how large the room was. Three separate sinks in our room alone. Very large bathroom with large shower. The beds were very nice and comfortable. The free breakfast was just okay, the staff at the restaurant was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nikiroo29
ClemsonCCI, Public Relations Manager at Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the James's F. Martin Inn at Clemson University. We are excited that you enjoyed your newly renovated suite and the gardens on the property. Thank you for letting us know about your experience at the restaurant. We have passed on your concerns to the restaurant's management team. We always want our guests...

Rockville, Maryland
Reviewed 13 August 2015

Best kept secret in Clemson, the James Martin Inn offers stylish (recently beautifully updated) suites and rooms with luxurious bedding, high quality toiletries, and great public areas and views of the golf course and the lake. The restaurant has improved, with a better selection and quality of items on the menu. Breakfast is good and includes hot items, but you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
ClemsonCCI, Public Relations Manager at Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the detailed review Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn. To us, it is the little things that make a BIG difference. We think our staff is amazing too. We are passionate about sharing Clemson University and the surrounding area with our guests. We are extremely fortunate to have such a loyal staff-- ready to welcome our guests...

Marshall, North Carolina
Reviewed 27 July 2015 via mobile

After a terrible experience at a previous hotel, my family came here at the last minute in hopes for somewhere to stay. Upon arrival we immediately noticed how neat and clean it was and the classical music playing was very relaxing. The ladies at the front desk were incredibly welcoming and very helpful. They were very understanding of our problems...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jessiemsmith
ClemsonCCI, Public Relations Manager at Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We love to hear that we could make you Clemson stay a little better after a rough night. Please come back soon-- Don't forget to request a lakeside room. We always do our best to accommodate!

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clemson hotels
3.2 km away
Hampton Inn Clemson-University Area
3.2 km away
Hotel Tillman
Hotel Tillman
#4 of 10 in Clemson
129 reviews
3.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Courtyard Clemson
Courtyard Clemson
#3 of 10 in Clemson
170 reviews
2653.7 km away
University Inn & Conference Center
3.3 km away
Comfort Inn Clemson University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf course
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy the quiet luxury of The James F. Martin Inn- Clemson University's Hotel. Surrounded by the Walker Golf Course, the James F. Martin Inn is connected to the Madren Conference Center. The 89 room four-story hotel overlooks Hartwell Lake and features 27 luxurious suites and 62 spacious guest rooms, a hospitality suite, bridal suite and fitness room. Guests may also enjoy wireless and high speed Internet access, an outdoor swimming pool, tennis courts, on-site restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn

Address: 240 Madren Center Dr, Clemson, SC 29634-0001
Region: United States > South Carolina > Clemson
Price Range: €134 - €171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James f. Martin Hotel Clemson
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Clemson
#4 Business Hotel in Clemson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Fitness center is on 3rd floor.”
 of 5 bubbles soniaj242, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“the room was off the change love it”
 of 5 bubbles deaconesspoole1, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room with view of Lake, but the others are still very nice.”
 of 5 bubbles SkipperandSusie, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Inquire about family amenities in the Inn”
 of 5 bubbles 62barbaraw, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Fourth floor is nice. Fall and spring may want first as most of those have a patio with table/chairs summer may be a bit too warm.”
 of 5 bubbles 210calvinb, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5