We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ansonborough Inn

Overview
21 Hasell St, Charleston, SC 29401-2601 See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
Bar/Lounge
Fitness centre
3 Star accommodation
About
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Business Centre with Internet Access
Concierge
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Microwave
Non-Smoking Hotel
Refrigerator in room
Wheelchair Access
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Spa
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Style
Family
,
Romantic
,
Business
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Style
Family
,
Romantic
,
Business
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
45
Price range
US$143 - US$388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Ansonborough Hotel Charleston
Location
United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 65 nearby hotels
Andrew Pinckney Inn
1,790 reviews
.24 km away
Market Street Inn
14 reviews
.29 km away
Market Pavilion Hotel
1,647 reviews
.32 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
2,632 reviews
.34 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,017 nearby restaurants
167 Raw
1,463 reviews
.10 km away
Cru Cafe
2,722 reviews
.18 km away
Hank's Seafood Restaurant
3,851 reviews
.27 km away
Anson Restaurant
769 reviews
.25 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 667 nearby attractions
Charleston Bike Taxi
23 reviews
.16 km away
Earthling Day Spa
106 reviews
.18 km away
Palmetto Tours
92 reviews
.19 km away
Palmetto Carriage Works
5,734 reviews
.19 km away
Reviews & more
1,085Reviews
1,009Photos
28Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 738
  • 242
  • 56
  • 30
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
I spent two nights here for the conference and loved the location, comfort of the room, the fact that there was grocery store just across the street and walking distance to historic district and good restaurants. Staff was friendly, price was right. Would stay again.
Read more
On the edge of the historic district, the Ansonborough is a great base for a visit to Charleston. The staff is excellent and friendly - from the front desk to the breakfast/social hour staff and including the housekeepers. The breakfast is very good and the social hour is excep
Read more
Spent 3 nights here exploring Charleston and it turned out to be a great place for both comfort and exploring. The rooms are large and well appointed and the beds quite comfortable. Everything was clean and while we heard some other guests complain about noise, we were on the 3rd
Read more
Response from Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much for choosing Ansonborough Inn as lodging for your extended weekend visit to Charleston! I am so happy to see that you enjoyed the time you spent with us and that you found your spacious room to be quiet and clean. It is also wonderful to see that you even had time to enjoy some wine on the terrace. Thanks again for choosing Ansonborough Inn and thank you for taking the time to share this review on TripAdvisor We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
We spent 4 nights at this property and had a very good stay. Staff was polite and very helpful. We stayed in one of the loft rooms on the back side of the building as we requested a quieter room. As you may have read, soundproofing is not great but was not a problem for us (al
Read more
Response from Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for posting this review to TripAdvisor! We are thrilled to see that you had a good experience at Ansonborough Inn--it is great to know that you found time to enjoy the rooftop terrace while you were with us. Thanks for providing information about weekend rates--throughout Charleston, you will generally find that weekend nights (Friday and Saturday) start around $100 higher than other days. Thank you for choosing Ansonborough Inn and thanks again for sharing this review--we hope to see you again soon!
Read more
My husband and I spend a Friday night at this inn. It is beautifully renovated yet still historic looking. Complimentary wine and cheese in the afternoon and a very nice breakfast. We parked there and walked everywhere. Great location. Short walk to the market, many restaurants,
Read more
Response from Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn
Responded 9 Nov 2018
Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review to TripAdvisor. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your time at Ansonborough Inn and that you found us to be the perfect blend of modern and historic. It is also really wonderful to know that you found our location to be ideal for walking around Charleston. Thanks again for sharing this review to TripAdvisor! We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Business Centre & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorAnsonborough Inn
The Studio King Room at the Ansonborough Inn
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorAnsonborough Inn
The Premium Loft at the Ansonborough Inn
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorAnsonborough Inn
The Premium Loft at the Ansonborough Inn
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorAnsonborough Inn
The Double Luxury Room at the Ansonborough Inn
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorAnsonborough Inn
The Admiral Suite at the Ansonborough Inn
Previous
Is there a bar on the rooftop that serves cocktails?
The rooftop is open for you to use, you can bring your own beverages and I believe you can get some beverages on request, but there is no attended bar on the rooftop.
1 vote
Show all answers
Are there in-room coffeemakers? We need our coffee first thing in the morning!
Yep, all of our rooms have Keurig machines, plus there's GREAT coffee in the hospitality suite from 6:45am on! Thanks!
2 votes
Show all answers
What floor are the loft rooms on? The first-?
Sorry i dont know
0 votes
Show all answers
You mentioned that the studio was on the 3rd floor. Is there an elevator in the hotel?
Yes there is.
0 votes
Show all answers
Is the area safe around this hotel?
Very safe. The entire historic Charleston area is very safe. I am a police officer in Nashville so I am paranoid and notice stuff. this little town obviously keeps riff raff ran out because not once did I feel something was afoot. After Dark you will find occupies patrol cars sitting just sitting near places that are open and busy.
0 votes
Show all answers
Previous
"I think the street level studio room would be a bit noisy with traffic from the street. We upgraded one level and had no issues."
"Don't choose the first floor!"
"I think I was in 204....unbelievable 20 foot ceilings...."
"Had room 226, but all rooms are likely to be a good choice."
"The first floor would be kind of noisy with the street traffic... so the second floor would be a better level."
Previous
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing