We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,016 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 993: English reviews
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Everything was great. Room, pool Breakfast. Had family join us for a few days and the front desk was able to provide a room next door to make if convenient to visit with. Location is convenient to downtown shopping and interstates for travel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BillCarolK
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear BillCarolK, Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and thank you for taking the time out to post a review about your experience. We strive to make each guest experience the best that it can be, and it looks as though we accomplished that goal. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you next time you're...

Owings, Maryland
Reviewed 25 September 2016

You will not be disappointed staying at this location. Rooms were updated and very clean. Front desk staff very helpful and kind. Breakfast was good and the staff goes out of her way to help everyone!! Great stay!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank haley1948
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear haley1948, Thank you for choosing to stay with us, I'm happy to see we were able to make your experience a great one. We look forward to your next visit!

Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

We arrived about 4 pm. The front desk lady was pleasant but I was unhappy that we were in the very back an on top floor in center of building. We had to park at the end. Our view was a building looking at construction workers an painters drinking beer all night. The room was great. No problem there. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear Melissa M, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your opinion. We really do appreciate the feedback. I am sorry that you did not thoroughly enjoy your recent visit with us. Please know that we take these reviews very seriously and are constantly striving to improve. Again, thanks for the feedback. We hope you'll give us...

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

The hotel was in a great location and not far from attractions. Seemed as if it had been recently painted and renovated. Breakfast was not to good. Front desk was very helpful in giving us directions to restaurants nearby on the late evening when we arrived.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dduerr2013
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear dduerr2013, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments. We really appreciate the opportunity to interact with our guests this way. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. We share these reviews with our staff; I am certain they were equally delighted to read that their hard work was noticed...

Salem, Oregon
Reviewed 22 September 2016

The hotel is older but very clean and and it's evident that it has been updated. Our room was very clean as well and the beds were very comfortable. While it's not in the tourist area where prices would be double and triple if not more, it's a short drive (10 mins at most) which makes the rates very attractive....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amfoxy
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear amfoxy, Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We really appreciate that our guests take time out of their busy days to share this feedback with us. I was delighted to read that you excellent experience with us. As we share these reviews with our team, I am certain they will be very happy to read that their...

Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here 4Rth of July week. We had 2 rooms beside each other. Rooms were clean. Pool was awesome, great size so you do,t feel like your on top of other people. They even had some pool toys. Breakfast was great. Had to wait a little on some things to be restocked, they could use another worker instead of just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christina W
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear Christina W, Thank you so much for taking the time post such a wonderful review. We really appreciate the feedback. I was delighted to read your review and to know that you had such a wonderful experience. We strive to insure that our guests enjoy not only their stay in Charleston, but their visit with us as well. Again,...

Greenville, United States
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Have stayed here multiple times and will continue to return. The staff is always friendly and helpful. Lots of good eating places in area. Just wish they still had smoking rooms available like they used to before the renovations.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry L
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear Terry L, Thank you for taking the time out to post this review, and thank you for choosing to make us your go to hotel while in Charleston. We're so very happy to see that you enjoy your experience with us each time, and that the staff is always friendly and helpful. I'm sorry to say that with the...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Given the type of market this hotel caters for, it was excellent in all aspects: Clean, comfortable rooms - must have been recently redecorated so quite new, friendly service and good breakfast. Also offered good value for money. Will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Petrus H
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear Best Piet H, We really appreciate the feedback! We do our absolute best to provide Southern Hospitality to all of our guests; it is rewarding to hear that our efforts are being recognized. Again, thanks for the wonderful comments and for choosing to stay with us.

scottsdale
Reviewed 16 September 2016

This hotel had all one could need. A pool, laundry room, a variety breakfast with something a little different everyday as well as a computer room. The staff was well trained and had made everyone happy. The area had a grocery store and a lot of great restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R. W
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear R. W, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We always appreciate guest feedback as it allows us to target our efforts at improvement. Our goal at the Best Western Charleston Inn is to not only offer clean, comfortable accommodation with excellent guest service but to make every effort to ensure our guests a wonderful visit...

Gainesville, Florida
Reviewed 10 September 2016

From checking in to checking out was awesome. Very special and sweet staff. Felt safe and secure. Pool view was just that. No balcony, just big window. Looks like for safety reasons (concrete balcony didn't look so secure) they removed the sliding glass doors and replaced them with Safety glass. Beds were way to soft, felt like I was sleeping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steffi-Zeeva
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear Steffi-Zeeva, I'm glad you were satisfied with your stay, but we would always love to hear what could have made your stay an EXCELLENT one. We are always striving for greatness in every department as we try to improve with every guest feedback we receive. We hope the next time you visit Charleston that you will stay with us...

311 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (204)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Pool (2)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Room (71)
Viewed
The Hotel (125)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.0 km away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#40 of 60 in Charleston
185 reviews
2.2 km away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
1.7 km away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
2.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
3.8 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn

Address: 1540 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-7845 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: €72 - €147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sweetgrass Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#23 Business Hotel in Charleston
#36 Family Hotel in Charleston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I have only been on the back side”
 of 5 bubbles Z2038DEtinas, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the backside will avoid any possible traffic noise (which is not really an issue)”
 of 5 bubbles 124jesseh, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get to breakfast early. It does get busy if you wait until the last minute.”
 of 5 bubbles Samual0418, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Very quiet. First floor”
 of 5 bubbles kelleyr535, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“enjoyed the second floor with pool view”
 of 5 bubbles BillCarolK, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay