We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn

Booking.comUS$107*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,098 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,074: English reviews
Hamburg, New Jersey
Reviewed 21 February 2016

Our daughter will be attending college in Charleston in the fall, so this was our 1st visit to the area. I was overwhelmed with how many places there were to choose from and I read reviews on most of the motels in the area. After reading the reviews and visiting the BW Sweetgrass website, I made our reservation for 2...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tracyann8763
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Hi Tracyann8763! Your daughter will certainly love attending the college here in Charleston! She picked a great city to study in, and it is a great city for your family to explore when you come visit. We cannot wait for you to stay with us again!

Portland, Maine
Reviewed 21 February 2016

We stayed here while spending a few days in Charleston. This hotel is located a short drive from downtown, and traffic getting into the city can be heavy at times. This hotel is located in a not-so-safe looking area, and this is more of a motel than a hotel, with outside entrances. The rooms were musty and needed an update....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PammieJB
Bill R, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear PammieJB, I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We are completely renovated in our rooms as of recent with beautiful accommodations and excellent customer service. We have not had any incidences in the area that would make our guests feel unsafe however we understand some guests do not like their guest rooms opening to the...

Reviewed 19 February 2016 via mobile

We had reservations here but after checking in...decided against it. This is a motel and has no interior entry and several different buildings...no elevators. Our room was in the last building facing the woods. There were many people just sitting outside their rooms smoking and drinking. The hotel was nice enough to refund our money. There was also a few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anjie L
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear Anjie L, I'm sorry to hear you chose to not stay with us. We are a beautifully renovated property who is happy to place our guests on the first floor if stairs are not doable. We are in a great area of Charleston only 4 miles from the downtown historic district without all the crazy parking. We do have...

Anderson, South Carolina
Reviewed 18 February 2016

This is a very nice hotel but be warned it is in a very busy area and getting in and out of the hotel is a nightmare on the weekend. However, the hotel seems to be new renovated and was very nice and the beds were so comfortable. Over all we enjoyed our stay and would return if in the...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank love2vaca19
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Hi love2vaca19! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your Valentine's weekend while visiting the beautiful city of Charleston! We take pride in providing great accommodations during your stay and that we are in a great area convenient to downtown and other attractions. We hope you stay with us again in the near future!

Reviewed 15 February 2016

We traveled to Charleston for our wedding anniversary and to visit friends. We stayed here for the loyalty points and because we could take our puppy. The staff was friendly and the room was clean and well appointed. The free breakfast buffet was good with a nice selection. Overall, a relaxing stay. If I had to make any complaint, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill A
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Hi Bill A! I'm so glad to hear you were pleased with our accommodations for you and your furry four legged friend! We are always glad to hear positive remarks from our guests and to know that we are doing a great job! We hope the next time you visit the Charleston area that you will stay with us again!

Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Reviewed 10 February 2016

Ido not ever stay at Best Westerns, but we were looking for a place that would take a pet and was not out of the way in Charleston. We decided that this would be fine for one night. What a pleasant surprise to have the front desk person greet us and make us feel like we had just walked into...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Diane W
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Hi Diane W! Thank you for such a great review! We are always striving to give our guests that 5 star feel when they stay with us for the not so 5 star price! It is great to hear that our customer service can make all the difference and that it made your trip to Charleston a pleasant one. We...

Panama City, Panama
Reviewed 9 February 2016

We were on a business trip to Charleston Sc. I was Very tired when I arrived at the motel. When i went to the front desk there was no hassle. Everything was ready for me. The Lady at the front desk couldn't have been any nicer and helpful. I have been to a lot of motels around the Country and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ginger8502016
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Hi ginger8502016! We are so glad that we could provide you comfortable accommodations and great customer service after such a long drive! We want all our guests to feel like they are home away from home. We hope the next time you drive through Charleston that you will stay with us again!

Panama City, Panama
Reviewed 9 February 2016

Lovely rooms soft bed and very sweet check in lady. She was very helpful and inviting. When you are tired and have been on the road for a long time it is nice to see a friendly face. Once I got in my room it was very clean. and the bed was so soft. I loved it. Then I found...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ginger8502016
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Hi ginger8502016! We are so glad that we could provide you comfortable accommodations and great customer service after such a long drive! We want all our guests to feel like they are home away from home. We hope the next time you drive through Charleston that you will stay with us again!

New York City, New York
Reviewed 8 February 2016

We had a newly renovated room - nicely done.... Great decor. While interior configuration of room was similar to most, the entry was odd. You park in front of your room (like most motels) but there are no windows on that side. You're simply facing a blank wall with doors spaced out along it. Practically, it makes sense, no one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tumsey
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Hi tumsey! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We are in a great location only 4 miles to the downtown historic district and ideal for tours such as the plantations. We do take great pride in providing excellent customer service for our guests and great accommodations that include a great breakfast! We hope the next time...

Gaffney, South Carolina
Reviewed 3 February 2016

The room was fabulous. It was neat and clean and very homey. We definitely enjoyed our stay! The flooring was new and very attractive. The beds were very comfortable. The front desk and breakfast service attendants were very friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marylightle
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Hi marylightle! I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed our stay with us! We strive to provide the best experience for our guests when they have to be away from home, so it is good to hear that we can make our hotel a home away from home for you. We hope the next time you visit Charleston that you...

320 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (204)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Pool (2)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Room (71)
Viewed
The Hotel (125)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 km away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#36 of 61 in Charleston
218 reviews
2.2 km away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
1.7 km away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
2.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
3.8 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn

Address: 1540 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-7845 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: €103 - €221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sweetgrass Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#23 Business Hotel in Charleston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#36 Family Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn staff and other travellers.
32 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
Aruba
17 days ago
Maplewood, New Jersey
Charlotte, North Carolina
4 months ago

See all questions (32)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our king size bed room was very spacious..”
janicer502, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try to have a room in the second building, second floor. We stayed in 229 and 233”
ZeraS_11, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“two stories, no elevators. rooms do not open to pool.”
K5013DYdonnap, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't go to back of hotel, rooms need upgrade.”
sadler8613, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“No problem to recommend this motel.”
Theyeddie, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$107* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$107
AMOMAUS$127
Expedia.comUS$109
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates