We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,049 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,026: English reviews
Deptford, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 January 2017

The staff are really nice and helpful. The breakfast had a good number of options and was fully stocked through the entire breakfast hours. The room was nice but we found hairs on the pillows on both beds and on the bath towels. At first, we thought they were human hairs but later realized they were probably dog hairs. Additionally,...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank N C
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear Peter N C, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We really value the opinions of our guests as it provides us with a road map for improvements. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay for the most part and we hope you'll stay with us the next time you visit Charleston.

Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewed 2 January 2017

This inn was inexpensive and conveniently located given the price. However, the room had a musty feel to it - like it had been damp from humidity perhaps. And, we found a roach in the bathroom. Also worth understanding that this property has exterior doors. This wasn't a problem for my party, but if my wife had been along with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shelley K
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear Shelley K, Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for taking the time to post your comments. We always appreciate our guests feedback, be it positive or negative, as it allows us to concentrate our efforts at improvement directly at those areas our guests tell us are important. Again, many thanks. We hope to see you in...

Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

The room was clean and the hotel was in a nice location. The hotel doesn't offer a shuttle down town but we called an uber and it cost $8. It surly bets paying the outrageous rates for the hotels down town.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HollyMorris28
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Hi HollyMorris28! It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We do enjoy being close to downtown but also have great dining options within a block of the hotel as well for anyone who might not want to venture to downtown. We hope to see you next time you visit Charleston!

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 January 2017

Arrived before check-in (an hour), and told no rooms were ready (!!!) in a somewhat neutral manner. Apart from that front-desk person, all the staff were friendly. And being a frequent Best Western guest, that was recognized with the upgrade (kudos to you BW Charleston Inn; not all of your cross-country colleagues are handling this well or at all!). It's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Art W
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear Art W, Thank you for choosing to stay with us again, and thank you for being a loyal member of our Best Western Rewards program! It was our pleasure having you, and we were happy to provide the complimentary upgrade. I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thanks again, and we hope to see you next time you're in Charleston!

Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewed 28 December 2016

The room was rather clean, the breakfast was ok, the staff was nice, the building was fine. But the great thing is it was 8 minutes from the town, and the waterfront pier. It was a great location and a good experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BethesdaManatee11
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Hi BethesdaManatee11! It is great to hear that we can provide a great stay for you while you are traveling to Charleston! There is so much to do here in this beautiful city, and we offer so many amenities to help guide you to the right activities. We hope you will be visiting us again soon!

McDonough, Georgia, United States
Reviewed 28 December 2016

The staff at this hotel went above and beyond from the minute I booked our stay until we checked out. The room was clean after a long day of adventures. Great Stay! I highly recommend this hotel and will return with other family members

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trixie419
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear Trixie419, We're so glad you chose to stay with us, and we're delighted to be considered your "home away from home!" Thank you for the recommendation and we hope you come back to visit us soon!

Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

Horrible staff at the front desk, which should seriously be given some training for customer service. After standing for 10 min in a line, we were assigned a room and the keys were not working. When I returned to the front desk to let the lady know and get replacement keys, there was again a line (read more wait time)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Milind S
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We always appreciate guest feedback, be it positive or negative, as it affords us the opportunity to improve. I am sorry you were not satisfied with your visit. We strive to offer each guest a clean, comfortable room with excellent guest service. Obviously, in your case, we failed...

Ft Payne Alabama, United States
Reviewed 25 December 2016

Went to Charleston for a combined business and house hunting trip prior to transferring to the area. Every member of the staff was extremely helpful and eager to assist us. Talisha at the front desk and Carol during breakfast were top notch. Any hotel would be a better establishment with these two on their team! Thanks Charleston Inn for welcoming...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear Michael H, Thank you for recognizing two of our stars, Talisha and Carol! I know they'll be very excited when I share the kind review with them. We're happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to serving you in the future!

Statesboro, Georgia
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Very nice people. Clean. Great location for what we were there for. Enjoyed our stay.had plenty of towels. We will be using this hotel again wherever we happen to travel. Hopefully we have the same experience in other locations.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank V5792HKchristinac
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear V5792HKchristinac, Thank you for coming to visit with us and thank you for the review! It was a pleasure having you and we hope to see you again soon!

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 15 December 2016

After reading all the positive reviews we decided to stay here for two nights and were not disappointed. The room was very clean, the beds super comfortable, the staff friendly and very helpful. The free breakfast with waffles, pancakes, cheese omelettes, cereal, fruit etc was fresh, always replenished and a much appreciated start to the day. The bus stop right...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ritab888
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear ritab888, We're so glad you chose to stay with us, and thank you for the positive review! We really appreciate the feedback. I'm happy to hear that you found the location to be convenient, the breakfast to be yummy, and the property to be clean and comfortable. And thank you for recognizing our staff, they work really hard to...

320 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (204)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Pool (2)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Room (71)
Viewed
The Hotel (125)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.0 km away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#39 of 60 in Charleston
196 reviews
2.2 km away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
1.7 km away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
2.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
3.8 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn

Address: 1540 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-7845 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: €84 - €200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Best Western, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sweetgrass Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#23 Business Hotel in Charleston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#36 Family Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It looked like it would be lovely to have a pool view room, but they all seemed like they would be nice.”
 of 5 bubbles 985tiffanye, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Pet Friendly available on request”
 of 5 bubbles Shanghai-McCoy, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We like rooms on the first floor”
 of 5 bubbles 379roberts379, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had room 120. Parked in front of room, in main building. Ice machine close. View of pool ( very nicely landscaped) very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles BarbaraB34, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I have only been on the back side”
 of 5 bubbles Z2038DEtinas, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5