We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

683 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
See the most recent reviews
Showing 664: English reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

I was a bit disappointed with the outdated look. I was completely surprised to find our sheets were used. After calling the manager never came. I liberally had to go down yo make a personal appearance at the front desk the staff is helpfuloffered me a bottle of wine and housekeeping came up immediately and was gracious. I just wanted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaunette B
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our location. We strive to deliver exceptional service and your feedback is a valuable tool to ensure we are reaching our goals. We are sorry to hear that you experienced issues during your stay. I have shared your review with my staff in an attempt to prevent this from...

Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

The front desk clerks were nice and professional, the rooms were small & nothing special. Parking is minimal, but there is parking in a gravel next to the hotel. Not sure if we would stay here again or not.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank April B
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review of your stay with us. We use this feedback to continually improve our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that should your travels bring your back, you will feel welcomed and comfortable in our hotel. Thank you for choosing the...

Reviewed 28 August 2016

My husband and I chose this hotel because it is very close to the downtown with a good price comparing to other hotels. We arrived around 2:30 PM to the hotel, we could check in however it was mentioned online that the check-in is at 4:00 PM. The room was clean and nice, however the sheets needed to be ironed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amal H
James P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Thank your for submitting this review of your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the room we provided. We strive to provide guest with exceptional service throughout their stay. We were saddened to hear that our housekeeping services missed your room during your stay and me and my staff are doing everything...

Reviewed 26 August 2016

Great experience. Staff was great very friendly and helpful. Hotel was clean and comfortable and close to the medical university were my Father was having surgery. Would recommend this motel to anyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patti B
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Dear Patti B, We would like to thank you for your recent stay with us and for your review. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated and we hope you will stay with us again next time you are in the area. Best regards, Management

San Francisco area, CA
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Breakfast was completely adequate, it seems that the front desk was constantly crowded, they had two computers both with printers for guests in the lobby, tv too. Location was ok. Our room was a good size for 3 adults to share. Our sheets never stayed on the corner of our queen beds however. They seemed about 3" too small! 5...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sjansenavon
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Dear sjansenavon, We appreciate you choosing us as your hotel while you were visiting Charleston recently. We value your feedback and are grateful for your Husband's loyalty as an IHG Rewards Club Member. We apologize for the issues you encountered and have discussed your comments and review with all staff to make sure we use this info to improve and...

Iowa
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Let me start by saying I've never given a negative review, but wish I'd paid closer attention to the people who were honest and gave a less than glowing opinion. We are in Charleston for our 35th anniversary and our friends are along and to help us celebrate. There are so many issues here that it's unbelievable. Check in: 30+minutes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CindraIA
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Dear CindraIA, We would like to take a moment to thank you for choosing to stay with us for your 35th Anniversary. We apologize that your experience was not to your satisfaction and are sorry if we fell short of your expectations for your anniversary visit to Charleston. We value your feedback and have already taken action, addressing all of...

UPSTATE SC
Reviewed 19 August 2016

It was a little aggravating to get on to the street to exit the property. The beds had sink holes right where your back rests. Finding parking later in the night was quite difficult. Breakfast had a good selection and the food decent. Not walking distance from the historic district. However if you are there for a MUSC or Citadel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BIGGBULLS
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Dear BIGGBULLS, We thank you for your recent stay with is and appreciate you taking the time to submit your comments in a review on trip advisor. We value your feedback and comments, both positive and negative, as they help us to recognize and continually improve our service efforts. We thank you again and hope you will return to stay...

Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

I would not recommend a stay at this hotel. First off, there were a couple of cockroaches in our room. Second, we called for towels multiple times and even asked the front desk for some and never received them. The room did not even initially come with full sized towels, just small ones. Third, one of the outlets was molded...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Dear Laura B, We want to thank you for your stay with us, bit we also would like to apologize that your stay was not 100% satisfactory. We are saddened your experience was disappointing and we have taken action to address the issues mentioned. We value your feedback and comments, as they help us to continually improve and prevent such...

Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

Would recommend to friends and family. Concierge was so kind, made is feel welcome, the breakfast is beyond delicious, the rooms were very nice and well kept. Had a blast with my family for our three nights in Charleston!!! Look forward to coming again someday.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ssk1929
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Dear Ssk1929, We are delighted to read your review and how much you loved your stay with us while in Charleston with family. Thank you so much for sharing your experience onlone and we . hope you will be back again soon. Best regards, HI Express Team

Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

We were very disappointed with this hotel. The first thing we noticed in the first of 2 rooms we were put in was what appeared to be black mold all over the drop ceiling. We told the front desk and they moved us to a different room. All she was going to do was spray the room with bleach while...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank guest123478
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Dear guest123478, We thank you for staying with us and providing us with your feedback. We apologize you did not find the room to your satisfaction and do hope you will give us another chance to have you as guests in the future. We have addressed the issues you mentioned and would like you to see our improvements. Best regards,...

310 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (189)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Double Queen Standard Room (33)
Viewed
Double Queen View Room (38)
Viewed
King Leisure Room (26)
Viewed
Pool (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
1.2 km away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.2 km away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#37 of 60 in Charleston
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River.We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. This new Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

Address: 250 Spring St, Lockwood Drive, Charleston, SC 29403-5102
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: €134 - €281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Brookfield, Connecticut
5 months ago
San Angelo, Texas
7 months ago
over a year ago
Wilmington, Delaware
over a year ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose another hotel until construction is complete.........”
  • view from room 803
  • view from room 803
  • Gravel driveway....
  • front of building
 of 5 bubbles 89francesm, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upper floors away from the construction are better.”
 of 5 bubbles JaimeH601, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't pay extra for a riverview!”
  • Electrical outlet without cover, yikes!
  • Bathroom curtain would not stay open beyond this
  • Our sliver of a riverview from the 5th floor
  • Change left behind by those previously in the room
  • My
  • Our sliver of a riverview from the 5th floor
 of 5 bubbles NCRNmom, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try for floors 7 or 8 to at least get a view and try the river side”
 of 5 bubbles curtreich, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“River side rooms have nicer view.”
 of 5 bubbles Dougal71, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5