We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

633 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 621: English reviews
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Experienced theft by housekeeping on our 3 night stay at this hotel. Manager initially did not offer to refund money of perfume stolen, but after "discussion" refunded money on credit card that was used for parking valet. She then Offered to have a free night stay at hotel...WHY would I come back to this hotel? This is likely to happen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amester9342
JHuff425, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review

Amester9342, I apologize you were not satisfied with the compensation offered for your perfume. We take theft very seriously at the Holiday Inn and I apologize if I was not clear that my reimbursement for more than the value of the perfume was my acknowledgement of your loss. I understand why you refused my additional offer to return to the...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 8 September 2016

This is a great modern hotel. I found that the Holiday Inn was very well located, nice, clean and modern and at a very nice price point for the area. Valet parking was reasonable priced and our vehicle was kept in a locked garage. The staff provided great insight for the areas dining. The restaurant in the lobby was good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jared D
Carter D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review

We are very pleased to hear that our location worked perfectly for your visit to Charleston. I'm glad that our staff was able to provide you with insight for the numerous dining areas close to us. If the price point was too good, maybe I should talk to someone about bumping that up a tad! ;-) Thank you for your...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 1 September 2016

I just wanted to give a shout out to the best waitress/server ever!!! Her name is Tamara and she worked in the hotel's dining/bar area. Every morning we came down and she was so friendly, courteous and hard-working, always going out of her to make sure all the guests were being taken care of, sometimes the only waitress on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FitzHer
Carter D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to specifically recognize one of our staff members. Tamara is a guest service rock star! We absolutely love the energy and warmth that she brings in the morning. I will make sure that she sees this. Thank-you for taking the time to review us here at the Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown. Have a great...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Knowledgeable and friendly staff provided excellent food / entertainment options within walking distance to "Upper King" and elsewhere. The rooms were modern, clean and the best value on the Peninsula. The hotel was easily accessible and unlike other hotels in downtown charleston, parking was convenient and affordable. My wife and I had a great time celebrating a special occasion.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cmtravels2016
Carter D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review

We are very glad that our staff was able to help you with some excellent recommendations while you stayed with us. I will pass on your sentiments about our rooms to our housekeeping manager, Faith, who does a great job for us here. We hope that if you and your wife find yourselves back in the area, you'll offer us...

Boynton Beach, Florida
Reviewed 30 August 2016

I had already stayed at two Holiday Inns on this trip and once again I found that the Holiday Inn was very well located, nice, clean and modern and more importantly very competitively priced. I was a walk in and as such I got a great rate, free serve to order breakfast, free valet parking and wi-fi. Our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ceez787
Carter D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review

We are very pleased to hear that you had such a great stay with us. I will pass on your sentiments to our Valet and Food and Beverage departments. Thank-you for your patronage, and we look forward to your return visit. Thank-you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown. Have a great day! Carter K....

Wichita Falls, Texas
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Nice hotel and very friendly. Good location if you want to rent bikes and walk down King street. We arrived and the hotel was able to help my surprise my husband with champagne and chocolate strawberries. Also we went to eat breakfast and didn't realize it would be so expensive. The waitresses where very helpful and understanding with the fact...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank autumnsf
Carter D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review

Thank-you for spending your honeymoon with us at the Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown! We're very happy that we could help you surprise your husband upon your arrival! I'm certainly glad that the waitresses were helpful and understanding to your requests. We hope that if your travels bring you back to the area, you will offer us yet another opportunity...

Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

The hotel maintains the feel of Charleston yet with a more contemporary color scheme. We had a Keurig for making coffee and a refrigerator for our drinks and snacks. A microwave would be nice but we didn't really need one and did not even consider asking for one. We knew about the construction based on trip advisor reviews. They usually...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank InterstellarTCU
Carter D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review

Thank-you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown. I'd especially like to thank-you for your kind words about our staff and the level of hospitality that you felt while staying with us. It is not lost upon us that without guests like you, we would not be able to do what what we do here. You...

Stoneham, Massachusetts
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We booked here through a reserved block and it was perfect for our two nights in Charleston. Just a block from King St., plenty of bars/restaurants that were in walking distance. Since we had our two younger girls, the room was spacious enough for all four of us, plus kids eat free in the restaurant with adults. I highly recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jakilleen
Carter D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review

Thank-you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown. I would like to especially thank-you for the kind words about our staff. I will make sure to pass on your sentiments to our housekeeping and F&B departments. Our delicious breakfast is certainly an integral part of operation, and those guys do a great job. We hope that...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed here on business for two nights and my mother accompanied me on the trip to lay by the pool while I worked and then we could relax and explore Charleston during free time. The pool was surrounded by construction, with a concrete saw being used on the side of the building and even getting dust on us!! We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsSfromCLT
Management response:

Dear MrsSfromCLT, Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn historic in Charleston SC. We are so sorry to hear about your disappointment with your stay and realize that our pool area is affected by the construction next to the hotel at this time as they finish the outside structure. Once they are working inside that building, there...

Shepparton, Australia
Reviewed 19 August 2016

The hotel is comfortable and has some nice amenities but it misses by not having a microwave and having hot water available to make tea at all times. It is a decent walk to the real historic downtown but King st one block behind the hotel has some good restaurants and shops.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
Management response:

Dear Robert H, Thank you for being our guest at the Holiday Inn historic in Charleston SC and we are very apologetic that your stay turned out to be "Good but not great". We appreciate your feedback and it is critical to us that we use it constructively. Every morning we have brewed coffee in our lobby as well as...

434 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (31)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (301)
Viewed
Amenities (55)
Viewed
Pool (44)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen (63)
Viewed
Standard King (56)
Viewed
The Hotel (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Known for its rich history, well-preserved architecture, a celebrated restaurant community and mannerly people; Charleston has been named Top U.S. City by Conde Nast Traveler Readers Choice Awards for the third year. This coastal destination remains one of the top destination cities in the world. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is proud to be a part of Historic Charleston blending contemporary luxury with traditional southern hospitality. Situated on Meeting and Woolfe Street; we are just one block from the Charleston Visitor's Center, minutes from attractions, boutique shops and restaurants located throughout downtown Charleston. Our location is within close proximity to other Charleston's historic sites, attractions, museums, sport venues, beaches and more; providing easy access to I-26 and US Highway 17. The Meeting Room Restaurant & Tapas Bar offers farm-to-table dining with a twist on tradition with American inspired entrees prepared with local ingredients offering something to suit every palette. Unwind in an atmosphere of relaxed elegance that allows friends and family to meet and enjoy great food, signature cocktails, wine and beer. After a long day workout in our fitness center, take a dip in our heated outdoor pool or bask in the warm Charleston sun. Stay cool and relax around our outdoor covered patio with overhead fans and living room style seating. Visit our business center and stay connected to electronic devices with free WIFI. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown

Address: 425 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-5526
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: €122 - €337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Charleston
#11 Business Hotel in Charleston
#16 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#29 Family Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Fort Smith,AR
New Orleans
1 month ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors are probably more quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Plog60, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“At the present time, every room is either going to overlook construction or the street. So there's no such thing as a good view.”
 of 5 bubbles Jocjarmom, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for something away from the construction.”
 of 5 bubbles nicolebans, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“our view was looking out on to construction.”
 of 5 bubbles , 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a high floor to avoid elephant feet above you.”
 of 5 bubbles kareno899, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay