We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Church Street Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Church Street Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

316 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Church Street Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 311: English reviews
Eden, North Carolina
Reviewed 12 September 2016

We were checked in by Tyrone who did an excellent job of welcoming us to Charleston, setting us up in a fantastic room with a courtyard view and making numerous recommendations for dining and sightseeing. Truly a professional with a people person personality! Our room was quite comfortable with an upstairs living room and kitchen. The mattress on the queen...

Thank I5223TGdavidg
Steve L, General Manager at Church Street Inn, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time in letting us know about your stay with us. I am thrilled that the staff made extra efforts to accommodate all your needs and made your stay exceptional. Our employees do enjoy providing great customer service and it certainly was evident with your stay. Again, thank you and I hope to...

Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2016

Church Street Inn is a great place to stay. Staff are lovely and very helpful and the location is excellent. The apartment style rooms are beautiful and have everything you could possibly need - a good, well equipped kitchen, a decent sized sitting and dining area and the largest, most comfortable bed upstairs. A full bathroom is next to the...

Thank Kags68
Steve L, General Manager at Church Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for this glowing review of your stay at the Church Street Inn. I appreciate your kind remarks about our staff and will be sure to pass along your compliments. Each member of our team takes great pride in the inn and I am happy that this was so evident during your visit. We hope to host you again...

Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Not impressed. Would not return-regardless of what other reviewers had to say. Food servings very skimpy, room too hot, not enough towels or wash cloths provided. Don't understand how this B&B received such high ratings. One person provided a very poor review and was critized and insulted by the management.

Thank Nancy C
Steve L, General Manager at Church Street Inn, responded to this review

Dear Nancy C, We are certainly sorry for failing to meet your lodging expectations. Our entire staff tries to make everyone's stay exceptional with a caring attitude. Not sure about your comment concerning "food servings very skimpy" due to the fact we do not have a restaurant. We would have certainly responded to your needs for more towel and wash...

Woodstock, Georgia
Reviewed 27 August 2016

You are truly in the heart of the city. Service and employees very friendly. Comfortable apartment type rooms. The king size bed was like sleeping on a cloud. It cradled me to sleep. Full kitchens but too meny restaurants to choose from to eat in. Valae parking a convient bonus.

Thank Donna C
Steve L, General Manager at Church Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your great survey. Our entire staff takes great pride in providing the best in guest service and meeting our guests expectations. Please come see us on you return visit.

Platteville, Wisconsin
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Hotel was very nice, quiet. Easy access to life on Market Street and surrounding area. Room was clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. Only downside was our room was a long walk from the elevator.

Thank wandaware5
Steve L, General Manager at Church Street Inn, responded to this review

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I do hope you will return in the future.

Luthersville, United States
Reviewed 21 August 2016

It was fitting that the Olympics were on as I had to run and jump to get up on the bed.It was very high but otherwise very comfortable.Every possible kitchen amenity included except I had to buy my own refrigerator magnets from a store down the street.Nice view of the courtyard on one side and a brick wall on the...

1Thank Robert N
Steve L, General Manager at Church Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the time you allowed in submitting your review. We are happy that your stay with us met your expectations and more. Hope to see you on a return trip.

Luthersville, Georgia
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

Well managed, clean and quiet, this two story condo is a great stay for couples who like quiet right in the midst of a center city hustling, tourist-centric neighborhood. We loved being within walking distance of great restaurants and must-see historic destinations. Room was clean, and kitchen fairly well equipped. Bathroom was ok with less-than-tidy paint job, mismatched plumbing fixtures...

Thank Hari259
Steve L, General Manager at Church Street Inn, responded to this review

It's wounderful that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our entire staff appreciates your comments. Charleston is a unique city and we are proud to to be part of it by providing the best service to our guests. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you on a return trip.

Woodstock, New York
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location in historic Charleston, which was one of the reasons we chose it. The other reason was that it had a pull out queen sized couch for our daughters to sleep on-EXCEPT-the bed was only slightly larger than a twin. There was no way it was a queen. Kids were not happy. The other...

Thank Jamie V
South Portland, Maine
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Reasonably priced and perfectly located downtown, this hotel was an absolute treat. It's not fair to even call it a hotel. Most of the rooms are more traditional town-house layouts. Ours was two floors, with a kitchen, living room half bath on the first floor and a loft with king bed and full bath above, and the price was comparable...

Thank 1SteveD1
Steve L, General Manager at Church Street Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate the time you allowed in letting us know about your stay with us. We are thrilled you had a great time at our Inn and that all our associates took the time to make your stay enjoyable. We hope to see you again when you return to Charleston.

Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

This hotel was perfect, I mean perfect! Me, my husband and our 2 daughters stayed here and it was great! Huge! Full kitchen, hard wood Floors, balcony over looking market, 2 bathrooms and so much more! Stay here, it is the best on Charleston and it is right by everything! It's a two story condo! These pictures don't even do...

2Thank Amelia R
KirstenatWork, Guest Services Supervisor at Church Street Inn, responded to this review

Dear Amelia R. Thank you for the positive review. The Church Street Inn hospitality staff tries its best to achieve a perfect stay for its guests and we are so glad that you agree. We look forward to welcoming y'all back again. Sincerely, Kirsten C. Guest Services Supervisor P.S. We plan to update our website pictures in the near future!

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (90)
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Room/Suite (33)
View from Room (9)
Bathroom (1)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Dining (1)
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (6)
Bathroom (1)
Room/Suite (3)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
2,566 reviews
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
2,564 reviews
Indigo Inn
#16 of 60 in Charleston
852 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 60 in Charleston
2,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Concierge
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located at the corner of Church and Market Streets where Charleston's famed market area hums with activity, Church Street Inn and its plush one- and two-bedroom townhomes are elegantly designed in a style reminiscent of a time gone by. Charleston holds a magical place in history and the city's diverse character stems from three centuries of American-European-Caribbean traditions.Church Street Inn is within easy walking distance of magnificent homes, art museums, exquisite restaurants and chic boutiques. Ghost tours and historic walking tours are a "must do" while in Charleston. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Church Street Inn

Address: 177 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3123
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: €161 - €327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Church Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Church Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Street Inn, By Festiva Hotel Charleston
Church Street Inn Charleston Sc
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Church Street Inn staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Boston, Massachusetts
over a year ago
6 months ago
9 months ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Church Street Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't take room 226, right across from laundry and can be quite loud”
 of 5 bubbles DianeB784, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There are only a couple of 2 BR units in this petite, almost "boutique" hotel/time-share. Best views are those facing the inner courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles 693DANIELC, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms have either a courtyard view or a view of the City Market. Choose the one you like. They are both good views.”
 of 5 bubbles I5223TGdavidg, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay here!!!”
 of 5 bubbles Kags68, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Courtyard rooms are a bit bigger I think, but I'm told street rooms have a small balcony which might be nice.”
 of 5 bubbles DrZu, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay